Re: ipad 2 with ios 6.1 need help.

Postby jeevdude199 » February 20th, 2013, 12:07 pm

scotty_buttons

Re: The | Apple Inc.  | Thread

Postby scotty_buttons » February 20th, 2013, 6:11 pm

quick question guys..been a while since i've done this but,

wanna update and jailbreak a friend's iPhone 4 from ios 5 to ios 6.1; it's locked to bmobile presumably..do i need to preserve baseband to keep it's 'locked to bmobile' status? or can i just update it through OTA or iTunes and then jailbreak with evasi0n after and it'll still be working properly under bmobile without any need to unlock?

Parvin

Postby Parvin » February 20th, 2013, 6:57 pm

Just update like normal and JB afterwards. It already locked to bmobile so that's the only network it could be used on.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » February 20th, 2013, 7:02 pm

yeah that's what I thought. just needed confirmation before. Thanks!

SRASC

Postby SRASC » February 20th, 2013, 7:07 pm

While Apple was able to pass Samsung for the first time to become the No. 1 mobile phone vendor in the U.S. recently, Strategy Analytics latest numbers showed Samsung still dominated among global smartphone shipments in Q4. The research firm is out with a new report today that breaks down global smartphone sales by model, and, not so surprisingly, Apple’s iPhone 5 was able to take the top spot from Samsung’s Galaxy S3 to become the world’s best selling smartphone model during the quarter with 27.4 million units shipped:

According to the latest research from our Handset Country Share Tracker (CST) service, Apple’s iPhone 5 overtook Samsung’s Galaxy S3 to become the world’s best-selling smartphone model for the first time ever in the fourth quarter of 2012. Apple’s iPhone 5 smartphone model shipped an estimated 27.4 million units worldwide during the fourth quarter of 2012. The iPhone 5 captured an impressive 13 percent share of all smartphones shipped globally and it has become the world’s best-selling smartphone model for the first time ever. A rich touchscreen design, extensive distribution across dozens of countries, and generous operator subsidies have been among the main causes of the iPhone 5’s success.

Perhaps more surprising is the fact that iPhone 4S, which was discounted at the launch of iPhone 5, is also ahead of the Galaxy S3, as highlighted in the graphic above. The iPhone 4S grabbed the No. 2 position in Strategy Analytics’ study with 17.4 million units sold and 8 percent of the global smartphone market:

In addition to the iPhone 5, Apple shipped an estimated 17.4 million iPhone 4S units for 8 percent smartphone share globally in Q4 2012. Apple’s iPhone 5 and iPhone 4S are currently the world’s two most popular smartphone models.We estimate Samsung’s Galaxy S3 was the world’s third best-selling smartphone model and it shipped 15.4 million units globally, capturing 7 percent share in the fourth quarter of 2012… global demand for the Galaxy S3 appears to have peaked and Samsung will surely be keen to introduce its rumored Galaxy S4 upgrade in the coming weeks to fight back against Apple’s popular iPhone range.

birdykins11

Postby birdykins11 » February 21st, 2013, 4:10 pm

no luck.. updated restored back up nothing worked.. but im seeing 10gb of 'other' files..so idk it that's why the memory not enough bec i only use it for notes no music or anything so idk what could be taking up all that space. icloud 5gb is never enough for my notes or pics hence i backed up to pc thinking it woulda be safer

Postby M_2NR » February 21st, 2013, 5:22 pm

birdykins11 wrote:no luck.. updated restored back up nothing worked.. but im seeing 10gb of 'other' files..so idk it that's why the memory not enough bec i only use it for notes no music or anything so idk what could be taking up all that space. icloud 5gb is never enough for my notes or pics hence i backed up to pc thinking it woulda be safer

You started as a new device right? Then restored from the backup? I'm gonna look for the program I use to read backups and u can probably use that to extract the files from the backup then get them into the app.

By chance, the app was not cracked or pirated right?

Check out the program iBackupBot

now i know this might be technical, but, go strong!
here is some info:
http://www.ifans.com/forums/threads/lis ... em.379983/

---

Ulyuh starting to see why I stop recommending apple? Yes they have lots of nice things in place but look what happens when it breaks.

birdykins11

Postby birdykins11 » February 21st, 2013, 7:20 pm

M_2NR wrote:
birdykins11 wrote:no luck.. updated restored back up nothing worked.. but im seeing 10gb of 'other' files..so idk it that's why the memory not enough bec i only use it for notes no music or anything so idk what could be taking up all that space. icloud 5gb is never enough for my notes or pics hence i backed up to pc thinking it woulda be safer

You started as a new device right? Then restored from the backup? I'm gonna look for the program I use to read backups and u can probably use that to extract the files from the backup then get them into the app.

here is some info:

---

Ulyuh starting to see why I stop recommending apple? Yes they have lots of nice things in place but look what happens when it breaks.

birdykins11

Postby birdykins11 » February 21st, 2013, 7:21 pm

M_2NR wrote:

here is some info:

---

eitech

Postby eitech » February 21st, 2013, 8:01 pm

Seriously? Wtf!
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1361492648.494513.jpg

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » February 22nd, 2013, 12:55 am

eitech wrote:Seriously? Wtf!

looks like apple is controlling how u use 3g/4g data. doesnt allow u to download large files via 3g regardless of unlimited data plan. 50mb apparently is an upgrade :shock:

www.webpronews.com/apple-ups-3g-downloa ... mb-2012-03

Postby pete » February 22nd, 2013, 5:43 am

utorrent it.. oh wait, nevermind :lol:

eitech

Postby eitech » February 22nd, 2013, 7:04 am

turbotusty wrote:
eitech wrote:Seriously? Wtf!

looks like apple is controlling how u use 3g/4g data. doesnt allow u to download large files via 3g regardless of unlimited data plan. 50mb apparently is an upgrade :shock:

http://www.webpronews.com/apple-ups-3g- ... mb-2012-03

For a moment there i thought it was a general restriction.

Postby Rooki3 » February 22nd, 2013, 10:57 am

nice game, jus d/l on android

30.21 mbs tho

Postby pioneer » February 22nd, 2013, 11:05 am

N00bs

casper

Postby casper » February 22nd, 2013, 11:41 am

dr_wildman wrote:Or no its at 5.1 now but i was wondering y its not updating OTA lol but thanks ill leave it at 5.1

dont update to 6.1....i updated an iphone 4s to 6.1 OTA and it bricked the wifi....apple bricked their OWN product with their OWN update lolz...epic

Postby Rooki3 » February 22nd, 2013, 11:47 am

eitech d game is crap doh fight up

Postby pioneer » February 22nd, 2013, 11:53 am

iOS 6.1.2 user...works fine

Sounds like casper has a stolen fone

Postby M_2NR » February 22nd, 2013, 11:56 am

pioneer wrote:iOS 6.1.2 user...works fine

Send it back to Apple.

Postby bluesteel29 » February 22nd, 2013, 12:00 pm

dat new update is rel fyahz on d 5

Postby Aaron 2NR » February 22nd, 2013, 12:28 pm

casper wrote:
dr_wildman wrote:Or no its at 5.1 now but i was wondering y its not updating OTA lol but thanks ill leave it at 5.1

dont update to 6.1....i updated an iphone 4s to 6.1 OTA and it bricked the wifi....apple bricked their OWN product with their OWN update lolz...epic

source?

no issue with any of my devices

casper

Postby casper » February 22nd, 2013, 1:13 pm

^^^^ i just said I updated...

Postby M_2NR » February 22nd, 2013, 1:38 pm

Discussed earlier as I said previously. It's a known issue with quite a few 4S'. Friend on mine has the same issue. Only fix is to send it back.

Postby pioneer » February 22nd, 2013, 2:00 pm

casper wrote:^^^^ i just said I updated...

Yeah but nobody cares what you think

You're a dishonest guy full of tricks, so i wont doubt you have a stolen phone.

Postby Rooki3 » February 22nd, 2013, 2:01 pm

guuuud

casper

Postby casper » February 22nd, 2013, 2:16 pm

lol...ok pioneer

Postby Aaron 2NR » February 22nd, 2013, 2:31 pm

casper wrote:^^^^ i just said I updated...

Yeah but nobody cares what you think

You're a dishonest guy full of tricks, so i wont doubt you have a stolen phone.

eitech

Postby eitech » February 22nd, 2013, 4:23 pm

Rooki3 wrote:eitech d game is crap doh fight up

Tru dat. I downloaded it and deleted 30s after. Lol

birdykins11

Postby birdykins11 » February 23rd, 2013, 12:29 am

M_2NR wrote:

here is some info:

---

Finally it worked, idk hw but i downloaded a cracked version for the 2nd time and everything came back :).. finally some peace of mind.. thanks for all your help and others who helped as well,twas really appreciated

Postby M_2NR » February 23rd, 2013, 11:33 am

Wait. The version you are using is cracked? Like all this time? Or did you actually purchase the app?