***2023 local elections thread****

Who will win the upcoming local elections????

PNM
32%
UNC
34%
NTA
2%
PEP
7%
TIED VOTE
7%
DON'T VOTE
17%

Total votes: 41

Re: ***2023 local elections thread****

Postby paid_influencer » July 21st, 2023, 7:40 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Idk about other places, but I swear is a general election taking place on my ends...campaign like that

last night I was listening Rowley on the paid political broadcast and he was making that point. He said the opposition running a GE campaign and talking about GE issues and not talking about LGE issues.

btw i don't know how people does sit down and listen to Rowley in them meetings. Is like a man bawling and getting real vex and you just sit down listening to him for like two hours straight.

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » July 21st, 2023, 7:43 am

paid_influencer wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Idk about other places, but I swear is a general election taking place on my ends...campaign like that

last night I was listening Rowley on the paid political broadcast and he was making that point. He said the opposition running a GE campaign and talking about GE issues and not talking about LGE issues.

btw i don't know how people does sit down and listen to Rowley in them meetings. Is like a man bawling and getting real vex and you just sit down listening to him for like two hours straight.
Rowley has to speak the slave masters language, otherwise his supporters won't take him on.

U think if he spoke with a West morings vernacular they would take him on

Postby The_Honourable » July 21st, 2023, 10:26 am

Some are not from the area. Also, many of those "supporters" working CEPEP for example and will lose their wuk if they don't attend.

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 21st, 2023, 1:05 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Shrugs shoulders

This for real?
BAHAAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAJJAHAHAHAJAHAAHAHAHA
What kinda boat anchor sheit happening in there. They seriously scraping the barrel rather than reinvent the party with fresh blood.

Congrats to the PNM for a resounding victory in LGE and upcoming GE

Postby Rovin » July 21st, 2023, 2:49 pm

how much times over d years i go post einsteins quote in relation to d unc ... “Insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results.”

Postby pugboy » July 21st, 2023, 5:20 pm

that tape with man saying kamala does take 5 day weekends is kix yes

Postby The_Honourable » July 21st, 2023, 8:10 pm

A good read...

HEADING NOWHERE FAST

Local Government Elections are around the corner—and the issues heading into it are crucial to determining the fate of our nation in the next General Election. Whether we can address our age-old problems depends on whether we continue to accept mediocrity and complacency as the norm.

One such example of our complacency is our attitude toward crime. Erla Christopher has obviously not been able to pray crime away nor has she been able to meet her target of a reduction in crime by June. But what can we realistically expect from a Commissioner of Police who pronounces “homicide” as homie-cide?

It does not matter what side of the political divide you are on. Holding politicians and authority figures accountable is something we must all practise. If we were doing that all this time, we wouldn’t have reached the point where Police Commissioners would be calling for “divine intervention” in the fight against crime.

Politicians can brazenly give us deadlines in the name of ‘mamaguy’ because they know we won’t do a damn thing about it when the target isn’t met. It’s why Erla can tell us to expect a reduction in crime by June and still remain Commissioner of Police in July.

Then there is the Minister of National Security who continues to play smart with foolishness at every turn. You know it’s an election season when road-paving suddenly begins. It’s no coincidence that in the midst of restoration work, gang warfare over CEPEP contracts is making headlines. But the Minister is committed to feigning innocence, pretending to have no knowledge about criminal gangs being fed through CEPEP contracts.

The general public has known this has been going on since the days of Patrick Manning when he held a “peace meeting” with gang leaders at Crowne Plaza. Governments allocating state funds to provide “employment” for criminals is not unique to Trinidad. It’s been used as a crime-fighting initiative in many Latin American countries. The results are the same everywhere.

The United National Congress’ hands aren’t squeaky-clean either. They were just as committed to empowering gangs via make-work projects through the “Color Me Orange” programme. Where was the call for legal firearms from the UNC between 2010 and 2015?

Meanwhile, the Prime Minister kicked off the campaigning season by letting us know that he has no intention of letting citizens guard themselves. It’s all too easy to play on people’s ignorance and convince them that the UNC’s call for guns is really just a licence for Indians to kill Africans.

Pop a reality pill for a second: the majority of Africans killed by gun violence are killed by Africans.

Criminals aren’t stupid. What message is the Prime Minister sending to criminals when he gets on the air and scolds law-abiding citizens for wanting to protect themselves?

It’s free rein for the lawless in this land. Criminals don’t have to worry about walking into an establishment and fearing for their lives. There’s no one with a gun to stop them.

We’ve backed ourselves into a corner and we may not be able to get out. Any new party on the scene is going to have a tough time cutting criminals off from these contracts. It’s why the Progressive Empowerment Party plans on tackling crime with bells and whistles rather than confronting the issue head-on. Fast attack boats and helicopter gunships may provide live-action images of an episode of Miami Vice, but do jack-all to actually stop gang warfare if gangs are fighting over state contracts.

It’s hard to even believe we’re in the midst of local government campaigning when not even our usual water and infrastructure woes are a talking point. The capital city went without water for weeks, yet the Prime Minister continues to prattle on about how much he saved us during the pandemic.

On the other side, the UNC is on its usual roll of “buss mark” politics. Allegations of corruption and nepotism mean nothing if you also plan on keeping the same institutions that allow for corruption and nepotism.

The PEP wants to promote itself as a viable alternative yet its 21 policies are still “at a glance” after five years. Even if these ideas were fleshed out, it would require a budget the size of the combined GDP of Japan, the United States and just about every country on earth.

Voters must decide what’s important to them heading into the election. Otherwise, it would be the usual affair of “wine and jam” and race politics that gets us nowhere.

https://www.facebook.com/permalink.php? ... 4656197629

Postby pugboy » July 21st, 2023, 8:36 pm

he have some good articles

Postby Rovin » July 22nd, 2023, 11:09 am

never heard of him but he made some good points ...

Postby Rovin » July 22nd, 2023, 11:19 am

so this morning while walking to work about 4 guys & myself passing by had to help push a woman's aqua out of a pavement hole - front left wheel went in, i wouldnt blame her cause of d angle like she didnt see or expect it had a missing manhole cover missing

that gaping 2x3ft cover was stolen by scrap thieves since covid time & up to now chaguanas borough cant take 1 bag of cement costing $50 with some gravel & at least make a cover for it , it full of garbage too & i sure they damn well aware of it

then these MCs will want u to stain ur finger for dem for LGE - is middle finger fuh dem :fist: , i bet they will say rowdy\govt eh giving dem nuff $ to fix anything ... :roll:

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 22nd, 2023, 11:23 am

So the NTA is a sitting duck because of their alignment with the UNC coupled with the fact that Jack is back in the fold. Birds of a feather flock together. Gary should immediately pull out of that arrangement if he has any integrity or wants to maintain a perception of integrity.

PEP might be able to pull some of the undecided, but this is a PNM victory for sure.

Postby maj. tom » July 22nd, 2023, 11:36 am

Rovin wrote:so this morning while walking to work about 4 guys & myself passing by had to help push a woman's aqua out of a pavement hole - front left wheel went in, i wouldnt blame her cause of d angle like she didnt see or expect it had a missing manhole cover missing

that gaping 2x3ft cover was stolen by scrap thieves since covid time & up to now chaguanas borough cant take 1 bag of cement costing $50 with some gravel & at least make a cover for it , it full of garbage too & i sure they damn well aware of it

then these MCs will want u to stain ur finger for dem for LGE - is middle finger fuh dem :fist: , i bet they will say rowdy\govt eh giving dem nuff $ to fix anything ... :roll:

I think it was last year there was a row how the CBC and the Mayor saying they don't have enough money to pay the workers and were making noise on social media, but the LG Minister Al-Rawi said he saw the books and there was $7M available. Suddenly the whole issue disappeared and I never read anything about it again.
Is the same thing here I feel. Just the regular blame game.

If you see the state of the whole back road connecting Price Plaza Rodney road all the way down to the exit out of Crown Trace into the Southern Main Rd. I had to pass there yesterday. It rel bad, some places WASA is the typical culprit, an area right before the S bend is a contractor mashing up the place with all the big truck. The massive deep holes by the aircon/tire place. And the CBC don't even do anything it just getting worse. When rain fall I fraid to drive that road.

Postby Rovin » July 22nd, 2023, 1:22 pm

that 7m quarrel was a few mths ago, died out quickly as u said ... level politic-ing

Postby sMASH » July 22nd, 2023, 5:06 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:So the NTA is a sitting duck because of their alignment with the UNC coupled with the fact that Jack is back in the fold. Birds of a feather flock together. Gary should immediately pull out of that arrangement if he has any integrity or wants to maintain a perception of integrity.

PEP might be able to pull some of the undecided, but this is a PNM victory for sure.
Gg and integrity???
Wow!

Postby paid_influencer » July 22nd, 2023, 5:18 pm

it too late for gary to extract himself/nta from kams now. is like shang tsung holding them up and sucking out dey soul

Postby pugboy » July 22nd, 2023, 5:29 pm

yeah that pot of poo well stirred up now

a real mess, what going on is all of them seeing the population fedup with the crime etc
and they getting flashbacks of being in power again as they realise the population aint happy which is really odd as normally lge is neither here nor there for most ppl

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 22nd, 2023, 6:17 pm

sMASH wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:So the NTA is a sitting duck because of their alignment with the UNC coupled with the fact that Jack is back in the fold. Birds of a feather flock together. Gary should immediately pull out of that arrangement if he has any integrity or wants to maintain a perception of integrity.

Gg and integrity???
Wow!

to be fair, I did mention perceived integrity - which is the more important metric in the eyes of the voting pop

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 26th, 2023, 6:05 am

One would really think it's a GE and not local on my ends...it kinda real sickening atm

Postby pugboy » July 26th, 2023, 6:49 am

the population ain’t happy with the crime and tings hard hence the much higher interest

Postby maj. tom » July 26th, 2023, 7:17 pm

I didn't know that Diego Martin and Siparia are now Boroughs. As of 9 June 2023.

The both party leaders could settle down as elected mayors and retire peacefully and let the country move on from both of their dotish antics and assness.

Postby paid_influencer » July 26th, 2023, 7:44 pm

the most over-governed region on the face of the earth, imo

Postby The_Honourable » July 28th, 2023, 9:43 am

OWTU joins forces with UNC to vote PNM out

CONVINCED that Government “is playing games with the (Petrotrin) refinery and has no intention of giving control to the Oilfield Workers Trade Union (OWTU) to operate,” trade unionists affected by the closure have decided to join forces with the UNC/NTA/ILP accommodation to ensure victory for the Opposition and defeat for the ruling party in the upcoming local government election on August 14.

It is not the first time the union has intervened in elections, but Christopher Jackman, president of the Pointe-a-Pierre branch of the OWTU, said it is the first time such a decision was taken by a branch.

Jackman said the OWTU's executive had sanctioned the move.

He said the goal was to break the local government deadlock and ensure the defeat for the PNM in this local government election and the next general election.

He said the union was concentrating on two key corporations – San Fernando and Sangre Grande – which it believed were within the grasp of the UNC.

Members of the OWTU have been campaigning for some of the UNC candidates who fall within the Pointe-a-Pierre/Marabella region in which Petrotrin was located.

Those candidates include, Kern Ramdhin, Michael Ali Bocus an artiste and promoter known as Makamillion, and attorney Sasha Ali, who face off against former UNC councillor Marcus Girdharie who has defected to the PNM in the Marabella South/Vistabella district.

Jackman said the union was also supporting Vanessa Kussie, the widow of Rishi Nagassar, one of four divers who died in the Paria Fuel Trading Co Ltd tragedy in February 2022. Kussie is contesting a new seat called Couva West/Roystonia in the Couva/Tabaquite/Talparo Regional Corporation.

OWTU representatives have already started walking with Ali and Ramdhin. On Thursday, the OWTU again accompanied Ali on her campaign in the St Joseph area.

“On Friday we are walking with Vanessa in Couva. On Saturday we are going back into San Fernando, Springvale, district and we also have two others over the weekend.

"We have a very rigid schedule. Next week, there is a big joint meeting at Palms Club, San Fernando, where we will be ramping up the show of force.

“The intention is to get the message out there that from that every election from now on, we are throwing our support behind the Opposition to remove this government from power.”

He said while the focus was on San Fernando because of limited manpower, there was a team that was ready to show solidarity wherever it was required.

While the Movement for Social Justice (MSJ) is a political entity which has evolved from the union, Jackman made it clear that while the OWTU supported that party, the reality was that it was only fielding three candidates in the Point Fortin Borough Corporation.

He said the union was looking for a party that could influence change.

“We need people who can influence the start-up of the Pointe-a-Pierre refinery, because if it stays down any longer, there would be no coming back.

“We have seen over the years that the Government is not serious about restarting the refinery. They are playing games. They clearly do not represent the interest of the working class.”

He lamented declining employment standard, especially in the energy sector where the majority of workers were on contract.

“Workers are afraid to speak out for their safety and we believe this is what would have led to the death of the Paria divers and Allan Lane Ramkissoon, the Massy Energy worker who died as a result of an accident on the NiQuan plant.”

https://newsday.co.tt/2023/07/28/owtu-j ... e-pnm-out/

Postby ruffneck_12 » July 28th, 2023, 9:49 am

we really hadda choose between Rowley and Jack Warner/Kamla boy?

:cry: :cry: :cry:

Postby Chimera » July 28th, 2023, 10:55 am

kamla shud step down....dunno when the firetruck she gonna realize that

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 28th, 2023, 5:44 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:kamla shud step down....dunno when the firetruck she gonna realize that

She getting a confidence boost how old dinosaurs returning to the fold.

Postby paid_influencer » July 28th, 2023, 6:08 pm

i trying to understand how putting kamla so prominently in the campaign going to help win the LGE.

last time kamla try to "help" was when she gone Tobago and that whole island vote PNM out of spite.

Postby pugboy » July 28th, 2023, 6:32 pm

she have a long track record of losing too

Postby Dizzy28 » July 31st, 2023, 9:56 pm

PNM candidate was walking the road today in my area. Turns out it's my wife's first cousin oui!!

Postby maj. tom » July 31st, 2023, 10:01 pm

guuud yuh link up dey for the box drain contract! PNM does look after family.

Postby Dizzy28 » July 31st, 2023, 10:43 pm

This is one of the TPRC seats PNM not winning for sure.

She probably bit off more than she can chew this rounds.
maj. tom wrote:guuud yuh link up dey for the box drain contract! PNM does look after family.