the_DFC wrote:did you know...that a spanish ship...carrying spanish treasure...looted from other colonies..sank off the coast of trinidad?
the_DFC wrote:so last year i was working t&tec...and we had a job to do deep in the bush by arena dam.
so we stop by this guy house to ask for directions. So i came out...and saw this blonde haired, blue eyed white man approaching me. d man looking like sting! I fix up my self..and straighten out my english. "good day sir, i'm from t&tec, i just need some directions please" he said "aye whappenin padna...come inside nah"
ah local white..so i find out where i had to go..and i inquired about the area.
well i didnt know arena road was riiiccchh in amerindian history. being a history buff...i spoke at length with him.
So the man said.....his father was a british who owned a cocoa plantation in arena. and when he was a little boy (around 1940-50) there were few houses in the area. the occupants were either white, spanish, or amerindian, or mix up. but they were direct descendants.
so as a little boy, he and his friends used to venture deep into the forest and play..and hunt...until one day they stumbled upon..a amerindian settlement. It was a perfectly preserved settlement with huts, and temples,and artifacts,and tools and alot of stuff. but most amazingly...the place was littered with spanish gold! large thick gold coins, gold crucifixes inlaid with gems, gold chains and rings decorated the place and hung from the huts.
Later he found out that that was a large carib village...and when the spanish explorers came, they attacked the caribs. the caribs greatly outnumbered the spanish, so the caribs killed out most of the spanish..and took all thier possessions. They took all the gold and didnt know the value of it..except that it was shiny..so they decorated their huts and temples with it. Not long after....they all died out..after contracting some strange spanish virus.
So back to boyhood days...one of his friends..told his parents about the gold..and soon a team of parents trekked through the bush..and raided the settlement. they took everything....down to the last fragment of gold in the ground. they dug up around the settlement to see if anything was buried..and soon they destroyed the area.
well this story wowed me...but i still was skeptical..
until he took me to a room...and showed me his glass case.. what i saw had me thinking OH MY FCUKIN GAWD!....
yes...i saw spanish bouillon ....i saw a gem necklace..i saw a large crucifix with the whole thing encrusted with rubies and some green and blue stones. ..i saw thick gold chains..and amerindian pottery and tools. and spears and bows and arrows and bones. look up the arena massacare (1699) in wikipedia. the amerindians. murdered a set of catholic priests.
soo..this has seriously wowed me to the extreme..and...this got me studying the history of trinidad under spanish rule.
did you know...that a spanish ship...carrying spanish treasure...looted from other colonies..sank off the coast of trinidad?
this is what i heard from a spanish guy in arima...his great great great grandfather was returning to spain on that boat..when it sank. spanish officers came and informed his family.
this is part of my personal research right now..and when i'm finished i will publish the report.
Smokey wrote:wallerfield was a world war two base?????? yuh lie??![]()
Express: Section 2 wrote:WALLERFIELD 2000 - PLANS FOR THE FUTURE
Express Section 2
January 30, 1998
Page 19
Wallerfield, the old US airbase between Arima and Sangre Grande, and to the north of Cumuto, was originally planned as a transit point for troops and armour on the way to the war in Europe and North Africa. There was just one squadron of B17s at Wallerfield until February 1942.
By 1943 the Americans had established 226 military bases, large and small, in Trinidad, together with airfields, a total of 17 operating runways.
When the Americans left Wallerfield in 1948, almost nothing was done to the area.
After the NAR's ascension to power in 1986, plans were made by John Humphrey, then in the NAR Cabinet, for the revitalisation of the Wallerfield area.
He believed that the country needed to develop a township in the east. Port of Spain being the main centre for most business, attracted an influx of commuters daily.
Minister Humphrey argued that if another township was developed in the east that was as attractive as Port of Spain, many businessmen and professionals living in the east and beyond, could work and enjoy a social life there.
Humphrey also pointed out that major cities have activities 24 hours a day but in Port of Spain after a certain hour most business places close and the city virtually shuts down, with large numbers of people leaving the Port of Spain area, trying to beat traffic.
Proposals and plans for the new township were put on the drawing board. International aircraft companies were contacted and many businessmen had shown interest in the proposals. However, soon after his departure from the NAR the plan was put on a back burner.
The plan was again revived after the UNC won the November 1995 elections. In January of the following year, Humphrey, now Minister of Housing and Settlements in the UNC-NAR government, made a ground tour of the Wallerfield area along with the Ministers of Works, Public Utilities and National Security.
A few weeks later the Ministers encouraged a clean up campaign in the area. Minister Humphrey was among the group of volunteers. The first aim of the committee was to put an end to criminal activities that were said to be taking place there.
"Smart Park" was the name given to the government's Wallerfield development project.
Sadiq Baksh, Minister of Works and Transport, stated at a meeting of the Eastern Division of the Trinidad and Tobago Chamber of Commerce in March of 1996 that the Government was looking at establishing an export- oriented Free Trade Zone for light manufacturing together with an agro-processing zone both of which will be serviced by a designated runway and support facilities in the short term and "a fully integrated township" in the long term.
When Minister Humphrey was contacted recently for a comment on what new initiatives had been set up by government for Wallerfield, he said that a few months ago the area was placed under Tidco's portfolio. Tidco he says will now be in charge of putting in the necessary infrastructure to make the township viable.
Cjruckus wrote:Important Years found on Google:
1498 - Christopher Columbus claims Trinidad for Spain
1592 - Spanish settle in Trinidad and retain possession for two centuries
1797 - Trinidad is captured by British
1814 - Tobago is ceded to the British
1834 - Slavery is abolished in Trinidad
1845 - Indian indentured immigration begins; program lasts until 1917
1888 - Tobago is joined to Trinidad as a single Crown Colony
1956 - Trinidad and Tobago achieves self-government
1962 - Trinidad and Tobago is granted independence
1976 - Trinidad and Tobago is named a republic
1980 – Tobago House of Assembly is established