The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Re: The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby M_2NR » April 14th, 2014, 8:00 pm

stev wrote:I'm on stock rom / kernel at the moment with exposed framework (Gravity box).
removing root next week...wanna be completely stock for 4.4.3
working very well at the moment....cant beat app opening times on beanstalk rom / kernel though.

niceness! Will see how 4.4.3 turns out soon. I got a note 10.1 to play with this week so I'd see how that is as well. Too bad development sucks for it.

rodfarva wrote:Makes me want to try beanstalk on the G2, but theres only an unofficial build...and Im so settled in on PA

if it ain't official don't bother. I learn my lesson with that. I miss PA a little bit in terms of the close to stock/only useful features type approach but I really wanted a few extra features that PA was lacking eg. lockscreen shortcuts. I wonder what tonight's beta has in store... Hopefully Hover. :D

GoS

Postby GoS » April 14th, 2014, 8:56 pm

i still on 4.2.2 i sad ent

Postby stev » April 14th, 2014, 9:01 pm

GoS wrote:i still on 4.2.2 i sad ent

no u are not....less than 4 months ago I was on 2.3 :|

Postby stev » April 15th, 2014, 1:42 am

been fooling around with some of the modules for the xposed framework.....stock rom and stock kernel.

...kinda liking it...having all the features of mixed ROMs on stock.

I thought backing up and removing all that (including root) to get OTA updates may get annoying...but then again how often does Google release an update.

ah hope i eh break anything soon :lol:

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » April 15th, 2014, 10:06 am

rodfarva wrote:Makes me want to try beanstalk on the G2, but theres only an unofficial build...and Im so settled in on PA

if it ain't official don't bother. I learn my lesson with that. I miss PA a little bit in terms of the close to stock/only useful features type approach but I really wanted a few extra features that PA was lacking eg. lockscreen shortcuts. I wonder what tonight's beta has in store... Hopefully Hover. :D[/quote]

Yup, think I'll stick with PA... its working very well and frankly, Im fedup testing new roms... Just want to enjoy the phone now

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » April 15th, 2014, 8:51 pm

stev wrote:
Jonathan_337 wrote:Selling my nexus 4 if anyone is interested.. Time for an upgrade

how much u selling for?

Sold for $1700. An hour after...was impressed lol.

Anyone saw the M8 selling anywhere locally ?

godson692

Postby godson692 » April 15th, 2014, 10:15 pm

I saw it have some Note1 men earlier in the thread. Tried the S5 rom but wasnt impressed. A tad bit laggy when you're coming from custom roms. Running CarbonRom latest nightly right now. Useful addons. Battery life could be a little better. check it out

Postby Trini Hookah » April 15th, 2014, 10:22 pm

godson692 wrote:I saw it have some Note1 men earlier in the thread. Tried the S5 rom but wasnt impressed. A tad bit laggy when you're coming from custom roms. Running CarbonRom latest nightly right now. Useful addons. Battery life could be a little better. check it out

Dirty Unicorn release an update over the weekend but I'm trying C-Rom, an update expected during the week for these force closes. Video recorder also not working.

S5 I enjoyed alot tbh

godson692

Postby godson692 » April 15th, 2014, 10:40 pm

i only get force closes on CRom when using Play Music. AryaMod has the S5 look as well but with more customisation. messed up the new look notification bar tho

Postby S_2NR » April 16th, 2014, 1:12 am

There is an xposed module called tinted status bar. It similar to how iOS apps match the status bar color and I find it looks better. Check it out

Postby DFC » April 16th, 2014, 9:15 am

i'm looking for an app that does time lapse photos or whatever you call it.

looking to take out pics of the bio luminescence.

Postby stev » April 16th, 2014, 12:06 pm

DFC wrote:i'm looking for an app that does time lapse photos or whatever you call it.

looking to take out pics of the bio luminescence.

what version of android are u running? the native camera app doesn't support it?

go to your video camera options (not camera) and see if u can find the time lapse option.

if not u can try this:

https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... ui.LapseIt

Postby M_2NR » April 16th, 2014, 3:29 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:
godson692 wrote:I saw it have some Note1 men earlier in the thread. Tried the S5 rom but wasnt impressed. A tad bit laggy when you're coming from custom roms. Running CarbonRom latest nightly right now. Useful addons. Battery life could be a little better. check it out

Dirty Unicorn release an update over the weekend but I'm trying C-Rom, an update expected during the week for these force closes. Video recorder also not working.

S5 I enjoyed alot tbh

I used CarbonRom on the HOX once and hated it. Possibly because of the lack of support etc.

____

boy stev... i dunno what d jail causing my battery life to be so poor na. Like i hadda clean install and activate apps one by one :evil:

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » April 16th, 2014, 3:42 pm

^ What kindof battery life you getting?
< 1 day?

Postby M_2NR » April 16th, 2014, 4:07 pm

Getting around 4hours SOT on average. I can probably push it to a day but i used to get more. I used to get closer to 5 hours. Then again I am using more 4G/HSPA than previously also

Postby tr1ad » April 16th, 2014, 9:36 pm

Farva ..... And other 5 users

How to turn your Nexus 5 into an HTC One (M8)
http://bgr.com/2014/04/16/nexus-5-htc-one-m8-rom/

Postby stev » April 16th, 2014, 11:39 pm

i saw google released their new camera app....yet i didnt see an update.....looked for it on Google Play and it said it was installed....

I clicked on install again and my camera app got updated....much better IMO.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... DWidgetWeb

edit: camera app just got a whole lot faster....especially in HDR mode (N5)

Postby stev » April 17th, 2014, 12:23 am

by the way....i noticed that some apps doh update automatically....i doh even get a notification.

for example the Google keyboard.....i have to manually update it all the time......anyone ever experience this?

Postby M_2NR » April 17th, 2014, 8:12 am

I took off automatic updates. I can't handle d random updating all the time.

devon4786

Postby devon4786 » April 17th, 2014, 8:35 am

M_2NR wrote:I took off automatic updates. I can't handle d random updating all the time.

I prefer to leave auto-updates on...it dz be rel hell when u put all to update manually and you have 50+ apps updating simultaneously...well Idk how much you wud have but I prefer auto lol

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » April 17th, 2014, 9:24 am

tr1ad wrote:Farva ..... And other 5 users

Interesting port...
tr1ad, u still on ios?

Postby tr1ad » April 17th, 2014, 2:43 pm

rodfarva wrote:
tr1ad wrote:Farva ..... And other 5 users

Interesting port...
tr1ad, u still on ios?

looking for an M8 actually...... not completely sold on the N5 yet

Postby M_2NR » April 17th, 2014, 6:36 pm

devon4786 wrote:I prefer to leave auto-updates on...it dz be rel hell when u put all to update manually and you have 50+ apps updating simultaneously...well Idk how much you wud have but I prefer auto lol

before setting it down at night i just check and install. It's on the charger and I'm not using the device so i don't have to deal with it exiting apps, lagging and general issues while it's updating stuff.

Postby S_2NR » April 17th, 2014, 8:13 pm

I find you should be able to set what time updates occur like with windows. Maybe in a future update

Postby M_2NR » April 17th, 2014, 9:31 pm

ent!
don't talk too loud next thing apple read it and make it the next mind blowing feature :lol:

Postby Trini Hookah » April 17th, 2014, 10:28 pm

godson692 wrote:i only get force closes on CRom when using Play Music. AryaMod has the S5 look as well but with more customisation. messed up the new look notification bar tho

C-RoM got an update, that bootanimation is teh s3x.

Supposed to stop the FC closes and minor bugs, but i'm still getting the random wakes.

Postby DVSTT » April 17th, 2014, 10:52 pm

Thoughts on the LG G2? Haven't seen much down here.

Postby Trini Hookah » April 17th, 2014, 11:34 pm

DVSTT wrote:Thoughts on the LG G2? Haven't seen much down here.

Look through Bollywood's and farva's posts in here.

C-RoM Update pretty smooth so far.

Steven Ramadar

Postby Steven Ramadar » April 17th, 2014, 11:50 pm

DVSTT wrote:Thoughts on the LG G2? Haven't seen much down here.

Perfect phone. .. Great battery life and feels really nice. Look for Mr. Bollywood's posts

brickman

Postby brickman » April 18th, 2014, 1:58 am

Saw that they have been cloning the S5 since march,chinese dont play yo!Be careful tuners!