Re: New Classic Rock station

Postby Dave » November 30th, 2018, 10:19 am

Jarod back to ole tricks!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 30th, 2018, 10:34 am

Listened to Luis yesterday afternoon and Jarrod this morning - good stuff
Could really do without the EDM, Pop and R&B, don't get me wrong, I like Star 94.7's playlist. But if I want that I'll switch to 94.7
Platinum Hits 103.5 80's, 90's and 00's music selection is great, but if they want to play current music they could play more Of Monsters and Men, AJR, Vance Joy, Imagine Dragons, Panic and the Disco, Weezer etc. cause all those are currently on the charts

Postby skylinechild » November 30th, 2018, 10:57 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Listened to Luis yesterday afternoon and Jarrod this morning - good stuff
Could really do without the EDM, Pop and R&B, don't get me wrong, I like Star 94.7's playlist. But if I want that I'll switch to 94.7
Platinum Hits 103.5 80's, 90's and 00's music selection is great, but if they want to play current music they could play more Of Monsters and Men, AJR, Vance Joy, Imagine Dragons, Panic and the Disco, Weezer etc. cause all those are currently on the charts

i was actually hoping they play more rock and stuff like evanescence and system of a down and disturbed and others.

dont get me wrong the radio station name is platinum hits ...but they didnt specify what genre of hits they'd be playing... :!:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 30th, 2018, 11:25 am

skylinechild wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Listened to Luis yesterday afternoon and Jarrod this morning - good stuff

i was actually hoping they play more rock and stuff like evanescence and system of a down and disturbed and others.

dont get me wrong the radio station name is platinum hits ...but they didnt specify what genre of hits they'd be playing... :!:

obviously we like the older stuff, I meant stuff that on the charts now. AJR, Vance Joy, Imagine Dragons, Panic and the Disco, Weezer are all on the Billboard Hot 100 right now.

but as Luis said yesterday, It's Platinum Hits Radio, so anything that's a hit they'll be playing.

Postby Rovin » November 30th, 2018, 12:07 pm

i guess they hadda attract some of d teen boppers & under 25-30 crowd with some current music they\youngsters accustom to hearing to pull them in , cause they wont know or be exposed to classics

some of dem youngsters from d time they hear any song with a electric guitar is like u throwing acid in their ears , poor kids dunno what is good stuff & they too close minded to take a listen cause to them "dat sounding lame" or "dise ole ppl kinda music" ....

Postby Slartibartfast » December 3rd, 2018, 8:38 am

Listened to this station for about 4 to 5 hours over the weekend. Didn't feel the need to switch to my own playlist while I was driving. I'm loving the the current selection. Feels like 95.1's way back wednesdays. I'm enjoying it as much as I can before they inevitably get overrun by ads.

Postby MG Man » December 3rd, 2018, 8:52 am

Bait and switch
Hook one category of listener and now that we’ve helped them establish a strong niche, they going mass market
Back to iPod for me

Postby Dizzy28 » December 3rd, 2018, 9:02 am

Saturday morning they played R&B and pop. Clearly they are significantly different from the pre launch days.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 3rd, 2018, 12:07 pm

seems they play one classic then one modern in rotation

Postby SR » December 3rd, 2018, 12:12 pm

Jarrod getting a lil annoying though

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 3rd, 2018, 12:47 pm

So they have Jarrod, Luis and Mike Ross - what about Jean Ambrose?

Sundar

Postby Sundar » December 3rd, 2018, 2:14 pm

skylinechild wrote:

would we ever get a pure rock station? Metal perhaps :?:

Postby skylinechild » December 3rd, 2018, 4:08 pm

Sundar wrote:
skylinechild wrote:

well bruh.... thats the question.... as long as we hav the ability to have mobile audio /headphones /ear phones etc.. that will have to do until we can actually listen in to a live local broadcast.

the closest we cud have ever gotten was MRU on 95.1.

now hes gone over to 103.5...lets hope they continue the programme...

Postby pugboy » December 3rd, 2018, 4:13 pm

Those two stations 103 and 104 need to
Tweak their equalization
They sound very muffled compared to other stations and are at a lower signal level too

Postby Slartibartfast » December 3rd, 2018, 4:23 pm

pugboy wrote:Those two stations 103 and 104 need to
Tweak their equalization
They sound very muffled compared to other stations and are at a lower signal level too
Yes! 103 sounds like listening to 96kbps mp3s. Flat sound with lots of static.

Postby skylinechild » December 3rd, 2018, 4:25 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:So they have Jarrod, Luis and Mike Ross - what about Jean Ambrose?

not sure about jean....

iirc after jarrod left they got jean....

but they also have jodi. (she sounds vaguely familiar) ..they shud also get danah (95.1 mid morning mix dj)....

they put mike ross from 12-3pm...

i ddint get a chance to listen to JB on the mornings as yet thou....

Postby pugboy » December 3rd, 2018, 4:37 pm

On a dialup connection

Slartibartfast wrote:
pugboy wrote:Those two stations 103 and 104 need to
Tweak their equalization
Yes! 103 sounds like listening to 96kbps mp3s. Flat sound with lots of static.

Postby streetbeastINC. » December 3rd, 2018, 6:56 pm

Back to my flash for my rock alternative metal mix........

Postby Dizzy28 » December 3rd, 2018, 8:24 pm

Wasn't overly bad on the drive home this evening with Luis Hart.

Sundar

Postby Sundar » December 3rd, 2018, 9:43 pm

skylinechild wrote:
Sundar wrote:
skylinechild wrote:

well bruh.... thats the question.... as long as we hav the ability to have mobile audio /headphones /ear phones etc.. that will have to do until we can actually listen in to a live local broadcast.

the closest we cud have ever gotten was MRU on 95.1.

now hes gone over to 103.5...lets hope they continue the programme...

MRU was the best! Didn't mind losing the sleep just to take in that session. Oh well after one time will be a next.

Postby MG Man » December 4th, 2018, 10:00 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:seems they play one classic then one modern in rotation

Nah the ratio is definitely towards current crap now
Literally every time I switched from iPod to them, I heard a song I didn’t know / want to hear

Postby Les Bain » December 4th, 2018, 10:37 am

Tune in to KEXP, talk done.

Postby Rovin » December 4th, 2018, 11:47 am

luis is still his witty self , yesterday after he played "hold the line" from "TOTO" he say allyuh cyar say i didnt rest some good toto on allyuh ... :lol: :lol: :lol:

from what i heard yesterday they playing 1 old & 1 new song 50/50 , still better than d crap other stations playing

today tuesday is ALL 80s

yes i too done say it 2 times here b4 : sound quality & reception not so hot up , ppl on their fb page saying d same too ....

Postby Dave » December 4th, 2018, 12:04 pm

At least Jarod have some new jokes lol. Luis will never get old yes

Postby skylinechild » December 4th, 2018, 4:10 pm

Dave wrote:At least Jarod have some new jokes lol. Luis will never get old yes

jarrod voice is.....different - i cant really remember him from when i was young but i dunno....his jokes thou....

the fanta joke he gave this moring around 10am or thereabouts..... i hadda pull that one on someone....

luis is just being luis.....

Postby Dizzy28 » December 4th, 2018, 4:15 pm

skylinechild wrote:

jarrod voice is.....different - i cant really remember him from when i was young but i dunno....his jokes thou....

the fanta joke he gave this moring around 10am or thereabouts..... i hadda pull that one on someone....

He gives the same joke throughout the day? He said the Fanta joke (about swimming in an orange sea) juts after 8 this morning

Postby skylinechild » December 4th, 2018, 4:25 pm

skylinechild wrote:

He gives the same joke throughout the day? He said the Fanta joke (about swimming in an orange sea) juts after 8 this morning

oh noo youre right...my bad......i was on my 15 min break at 8 this mornin... he gave that fanta joke after 8..... :oops:

still funny thou... :lol: :lol:

Postby Rovin » December 4th, 2018, 6:15 pm

around 4pm Luis slip up & say 95.1 , then he caught himself & 2 times during d song love shack he was playing said d station ID 103.5fm

old habit but cyar blame him for that slip up cause is over 20yrs he worked for d other station

on friday mike ross started to say 9 then ketch himself in time & say i knew it was bound to happen .....

Postby skylinechild » December 4th, 2018, 9:35 pm

Rovin's Audio wrote:around 4pm Luis slip up & say 95.1 , then he caught himself & 2 times during d song love shack he was playing said d station ID 103.5fm

old habit but cyar blame him for that slip up cause is over 20yrs he worked for d other station

on friday mike ross started to say 9 then ketch himself in time & say i knew it was bound to happen .....

it going to happen....these guys have been at their former jobs for 1/2 their lives it going t be hard to deprogram that stuff memory....

but its funny thou... :lol: :lol:

Postby Dave » December 6th, 2018, 7:20 am

Heard General Backbreaker this morning. Old habits for real