Best Chinese Restaurants in Trindiad

viedcht

Re: Best Chinese Restaurants in Trindiad

Postby viedcht » March 4th, 2018, 9:12 pm

Redress10 wrote:Where to get the boneless chicken breast wholesale? What is the price?.

I tried the foreign one from stack house(opposite express on pointe-a-pierre road) some years ago. The meat itself was okay but you still get the frozen taste. Problem was, under the skin it has a weird smell... Tasted the skin once and it had a chemical like bitterness to it. It was 400 for a 37lb case. Can't remember the brand.

Dragonqueen

Postby Dragonqueen » March 4th, 2018, 9:18 pm

sMASH wrote:the place by the traffic lights after the COP headquarters in cunupia,,, i think its pierre road junction...

Chin chin junction...

Postby sMASH » March 4th, 2018, 10:00 pm

i wonder if is charliville i talking bout.. all i can rememer is pierre road, and south of COP head office.
started going there cause opposite them is a chicken depot, and used to have a tent with a bess cow heel, chicken and corn soup.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » March 5th, 2018, 2:18 am

viedcht wrote:
Redress10 wrote:Where to get the boneless chicken breast wholesale? What is the price?.

I tried the foreign one from stack house(opposite express on pointe-a-pierre road) some years ago. The meat itself was okay but you still get the frozen taste. Problem was, under the skin it has a weird smell... Tasted the skin once and it had a chemical like bitterness to it. It was 400 for a 37lb case. Can't remember the brand.

That smell could be a problem, I thought it was also skinless? I wonder if local pluck shops have boneless breast and thighs or do I need a specialty meat shop for that? I need it in wholesale quantities as well.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » March 5th, 2018, 5:41 am

Redress10 wrote:That smell could be a problem, I thought it was also skinless? I wonder if local pluck shops have boneless breast and thighs or do I need a specialty meat shop for that? I need it in wholesale quantities as well.

Oh sorry no it was regular bone-in. Forgot you asked about boneless.

Postby pugboy » March 5th, 2018, 5:41 am

check wholesale food suppliers for boneless by the case
a gyro guy told me they buy from malabar farms
many people importing these frozen chicken

some of the supermarkets importing them too and thawing and selling as chilled

Redress10 wrote:
viedcht wrote:

That smell could be a problem, I thought it was also skinless? I wonder if local pluck shops have boneless breast and thighs or do I need a specialty meat shop for that? I need it in wholesale quantities as well.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » March 5th, 2018, 8:20 am

viedcht wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:once i pull up or pass and see all them tyson chicken cases in the rubbish i duz pass stright. I not eating that tyson sheit nah. Plus i duz ask for breast and wing not leg an thigh. local chicken duz taste better dan d foreign rubbish dat duz smell bad even when frozen and duz be pink inside. i radder get lil bit ah chicken but get fresh chicken. ah see some roti shops buying tyson also. wing hau does deal with arawak so i go buy dey and tell dem no msg.
Alot of neighborhood Chinese restaurants, BBQ stalls and even some roti shops buying them frozen chicken by the cases now dred. Some even buying the frozen chicken-breasts ($350-400 per 33-40lbs) too. More profit. Be wary of where you eating out if avoiding them frozen stuff.

D BBQ place on the southern side of uwi dat duz have the roti shop in the same place duz have this bbq tyson chicken.
Yuh does know it cause the leg duz be big and wen u cut it up it does be pinkish. I did not know it does have tyson breast and wing too. Meat is somting i radder prepare and cook my self. If i do buy chinee food it go be jasmine rice and tofu or plain noodles or small fries jus to hold me till i reach home. D fry rice does have pork fat in it and too much salt.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » March 5th, 2018, 9:16 am

daring dragoon wrote: I did not know it does have tyson breast and wing too.

Just the breast part. If you get wing attached then most likely its local/pluckshop. The import don't have wing with it.

ScHoolboySoloQ

Postby ScHoolboySoloQ » August 28th, 2018, 6:11 pm

Hey guys, I wanna know where is a good place to buy chinese anywhere but south.. i wanna buy right now so respond quickly please lol

Postby Rory Phoulorie » August 28th, 2018, 6:18 pm

Michael's Chinese Restaurant, Eastern Main Road, Tunapuna

Simple Life Chinese Restaurant, Mausica Road, Mausica

rebound

Postby rebound » August 28th, 2018, 6:19 pm

Golden Palace Marabella.......Canton Palace Cross Crossing

Postby teems1 » August 28th, 2018, 9:23 pm

Wing Hua Charlieville has dropped in quality.

The top 3 are Town, Canton Palace, Me Asia.

Valpark is a tier below but always consistent.

Postby black start » August 28th, 2018, 9:55 pm

Town food is overrated, canton palace is failure....

Went Wans some day and wasnt bad at all, would go again

Postby pugboy » August 28th, 2018, 10:14 pm

Town is fake Chinese
Valpark is terrible, used to be good in 80s

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » August 28th, 2018, 10:53 pm

Went city wok in sando after someone's good review here on tuner self.. very clean tasting food.. would recommend

Annies in One Woodbrook real cutting too.

A go to is still kam wah for consistency of decent food

-Valpark gone tru
-Wing hua using Tyson import chicken and multiple times i get cold food drenched in some shoddy sauce
-town restaurant overrated
- China palace in elerzlie ok , their duck sauce is yummy
- wok and roll chaguramas is a hit and miss don't even bother
- me asia is for dumplings and wantons not so much the rice etc
- Balthazar in Couva 0/10
- the ramyun in golden bell is wayyy overated, order from Hashi on fb. Excellent stuff

If anyone know where i could get some killer pows lemme know, is only flour down thing now. Believe it or not a couple years back Lindas pork pows were incredible

Postby shogun » August 28th, 2018, 10:56 pm

nick639v2 wrote:If anyone know where i could get some killer pows lemme know, is only flour down thing now. Believe it or not a couple years back Lindas pork pows were incredible

Dude read my mind yes.

Postby black start » August 28th, 2018, 10:56 pm

^hashi

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » August 28th, 2018, 11:00 pm

nick639v2 wrote:Went city wok in sando after someone's good review here on tuner self.. very clean tasting food.. would recommend

-Valpark gone tru
-Wing hua using Tyson import chicken and multiple times i get cold food drenched in some shoddy sauce
- the ramyun in golden bell is wayyy overated, order from Hashi on fb. Excellent stuff

If anyone know where i could get some killer pows lemme know, is only flour down thing now. Believe it or not a couple years back Lindas pork pows were incredible

City wok get a good rating so? Maybe I missing something, it was always just average chinese food to me, just like Dim Sum in southland mall

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » August 28th, 2018, 11:04 pm

shogun wrote:
nick639v2 wrote:If anyone know where i could get some killer pows lemme know, is only flour down thing now. Believe it or not a couple years back Lindas pork pows were incredible

Dude read my mind yes.

I not a old crow but i vaguely remember buying pows with dad from that hole in the wall before republic bank on Cipriani Bolvd.. * Shea Shea Teen* is how its pronounced.. Thing was crazy good. I'm not sure if they're still in business tho

Btw doh even bother bout d pow man in Eastern main rd/ Tacariqua... Basic at best

nick639v2

Best Chinese Restaurants in Trindiad

Postby nick639v2 » August 28th, 2018, 11:10 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:
City wok get a good rating so? Maybe I missing something, it was always just average chinese food to me, just like Dim Sum in southland mall

Boy tbh i does rate chinese food based on cleanliness and how it ress on my chest.. once i belch it or taste them peanut oil and sesame oil drenched thing is a instant turn off.

I'm a pork mouth.. Char Sue Kai Fan rite tru lol

Postby SMc » August 29th, 2018, 5:24 am

nick639v2 wrote:
I not a old crow but i vaguely remember buying pows with dad from that hole in the wall before republic bank on Cipriani Bolvd.. * Shea Shea Teen* is how its pronounced.. Thing was crazy good. I'm not sure if they're still in business tho

Btw doh even bother bout d pow man in Eastern main rd/ Tacariqua... Basic at best

Shay Shay Tien still there on the corner but I'm not sure if they open (never looks so), but right next door(on Cipriani side) is Sunday Kitchen which is the same people and you can get the same good pows there. Their food is also really good at a decent price -not to mention consistent. The wait can be a little long if you dont pre-order but at least its fresh.

Postby Dizzy28 » August 29th, 2018, 8:55 am

pugboy wrote:Town is fake Chinese
Valpark is terrible, used to be good in 80s

There is no authentic Chinese Food in Trinidad. Town is American Chinese like all the rest of them.

Postby Dave » August 29th, 2018, 9:00 am

What about House of Chan?

Postby Dizzy28 » August 29th, 2018, 9:00 am

nick639v2 wrote:Went city wok in sando after someone's good review here on tuner self.. very clean tasting food.. would recommend

-Valpark gone tru
Golden Bell's ramyun is instant ramen that they fancify with added ingredients (at least the few times I've been there). They even use the flavour packaging. And tbh instant ramen was generally never made for quality but more for durability and cost.

With regards to the imported chicken like product almost all Chinese restaurants I have been too uses that for their non chinese style chicken dishes like lemon chicken, butter chicken etc.

So glad I have significantly reduced my Chinese food intake over the past three years!!

Postby goalpost » August 29th, 2018, 9:10 am

It have a chinese restaurant opposite Freeport police station that's pretty good.

Postby skylinechild » August 29th, 2018, 9:27 am

goalpost wrote:It have a chinese restaurant opposite Freeport police station that's pretty good.

yep went there day on monday. bought large noodles and chunky veg and 1 doz shrimp wantons. ( no meat no rice)
cost was $118.

they good but the price.

Postby pugboy » August 29th, 2018, 9:28 am

Me Asia not bad but a ripoff
Kam wah is decent

Kam wah makes the pows that are sold in gas station by flour mills
Good quality

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » August 29th, 2018, 9:52 am

City Wok in sando is a solid -10/10

would not recommend to give away to a poor man who begging... absolutely disgusting

Kam Wah has decent pows that actually have meat in them.. a bit salty

Postby meccalli » August 29th, 2018, 10:00 am

original_lollybob wrote: a bit salty

Everything in Kam wah salty, except the dim sum and the fish.

Postby pugboy » August 29th, 2018, 3:05 pm

just had a chicken and pork pow from the gas station for lunch, not very salty

that gas station has some decent food they cook there also
the chicken tenders and wedge fries are very good, wedges are baked, not fried and greasy.