TheOwnerPO

T&T ranked 11th most unhappy country in the world

Postby TheOwnerPO » September 4th, 2016, 4:59 am

Where did our joy go? Index ranks T&T 11th most unhappy country in the world

Date:
Tuesday, August 30, 2016 - 18:45

It appears that not only has Trinidad and Tobago lost its status as being among the happiest people in the world but according to the latest data, Trinidad and Tobago is now ranked 130th out of 140 countries on the happiness index.

It means T&T is the 11th most unhappy country in the entire world and according to the data released today by the Happy Planet Index, you'd be happier off in Afghanistan, Rwanda, Zimbabwe, Venezuela and even civil war-torn Syria.

But how? When did this country start being perceived as so unhappy?

The Happy Planet Index measures the happiness of countries using several indices: Life Expectancy, Wellbeing, Happy Life Year, Ecological Footprint, Inequality of Outcome, Inequality-adjusted life expectancy and Inequality-adjusted wellbeing.

And this is how T&T scored:

Life Expectancy - 70.1
Wellbeing - 6.4
Happy Life Year - 34.4
Ecological Footprint - 7.9
Inequality of Outcome - 21%
Inequality-adjusted life expectancy - 58.4
Inequality-adjusted wellbeing - 6.0

That works out to be a Happy Planet Index score of 15.7, which places us at 130th in the world and last among all countries in the Americas.

It's important to note that although the report is for the year 2016, much of the statistics was collated using 2012 data

The sources of data included the Gallup Poll, the Department of Economic and Social Affairs of the United Nations. the Global Footprint Network, the World Bank and the UNDP.

CostaRica has been ranked as the happiest country on the planet, followed by Mexico, Colombia and Vanuata.

The report says: "Until recently, we have lived with the widespread belief that the world is steadily becoming a better place.

"An increasingly unstable global economy, rising inequalities, and the pressing challenges of climate change have begun to shatter that belief. Recent surveys reveal that majorities in both the USA and Europe have said they no longer think life is getting better.

"One cause of these interlinked crises is the stubborn prioritisation of economic growth as the central objective of government, trumping all other objectives.

"People vote for political parties that they perceive to be most capable of delivering a strong economy, and policy makers prioritise policies that increase in GDP as a result. Doing so has led to short-termism, deteriorating social conditions, and paralysis in the face of climate change.

"In fact, GDP growth on its own does not mean a better life for everyone, particularly in countries that are already wealthy. It does not reflect inequalities in material conditions between people in a country. It does not properly value the things that really matter to people like social relations, health, or how they spend their free time. And crucially, ever-more economic growth is incompatible with the planetary limits we are up against."

Tags:
Trinidad and Tobago
Unhappy
Happy Planet Index

http://happyplanetindex.org/countries/t ... and-tobago

brainchild

Re: T&T ranked 11th most unhappy country in the world

Postby brainchild » September 4th, 2016, 8:19 am

Expected...we complain about everything and then resist change, personal and otherwise.

TheOwnerPO

Postby TheOwnerPO » September 4th, 2016, 10:07 am

Even with a high gdp Trinidad would have still been ranked low :?

baigan

Postby baigan » September 4th, 2016, 12:08 pm

I'm pretty happy lol
I love it here in Trinidad

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 4th, 2016, 1:07 pm

Thats because of how expensive everything is and how low our wages are at the same time you see high level of nepotism you see people who do not deserve the job or position they get but got through because they know somebody and they get through with 0 education or experience, most people are miserable this is a fact. Most can't get jobs etc we have thousands of university graduates unemployed most go to OJT then after the contract is up and that is even if they get a contract, they are sent home.

Postby teems1 » September 4th, 2016, 2:36 pm

If you can afford to insulate yourselves from the proletariat via private clubs, prestige schools, gated communities etc, then life could be decent.

If you can't, then you're proper f*cked.

Daran

Postby Daran » September 4th, 2016, 3:12 pm

I could give you 100 reasons why Trinidad is paradise and 100 more why it's not.

It's all about perspective and what you make of it. I live abroad and there any many many things we take for granted here in Trinidad.

But it all honesty. Not trying to make this a political thread but I've noticed that the country seemed a lot happier under the PP.

There was far more optimism then. It could obviously be the effects of the recession too.

But I think people have realized this PNM is no better and probably worse than the last PNM. Slow to no progress and catering only to the business elite/west Trinidad.

TheOwnerPO

Postby TheOwnerPO » September 16th, 2016, 9:14 pm

Daran wrote:I could give you 100 reasons why Trinidad is paradise and 100 more why it's not.

It's all about perspective and what you make of it. I live abroad and there any many many things we take for granted here in Trinidad.

But it all honesty. Not trying to make this a political thread but I've noticed that the country seemed a lot happier under the PP.

There was far more optimism then. It could obviously be the effects of the recession too.

But I think people have realized this PNM is no better and probably worse than the last PNM. Slow to no progress and catering only to the business elite/west Trinidad.

Please start lol. Kinda depressed after i read the article. Also would like some positive feedback on the country for a change :)

Postby desifemlove » September 17th, 2016, 8:43 am

stupid people who complain about sheit, don't have the intelligence to fix things, and them moan about how sheit government is only cos they vote on who shares their racial phenotype and/or religion....

Postby rspann » September 17th, 2016, 9:01 am

Desi baby, you describe yourself there girl.

Postby desifemlove » September 17th, 2016, 9:12 am

rspann wrote:Desi baby, you describe yourself there girl.

yep, you describe how you beyotch about your party should come back in office. i doh care either way.

Miguel000

Postby Miguel000 » September 17th, 2016, 6:41 pm

rspann wrote:Desi baby, you describe yourself there girl.

all dat shine up

BRZ

Postby BRZ » October 19th, 2016, 1:14 pm

since budget ah hear we drop even further.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 19th, 2016, 1:21 pm

We number 1 in porn searches dbu. Still top in something lol

Postby Slartibartfast » October 19th, 2016, 1:24 pm

According to Rowley, "At least we not as bad as Haiti"

amd-dude

Postby amd-dude » October 20th, 2016, 9:06 am

At least we at the top for porn......Somebody insert the it's something meme.

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » October 20th, 2016, 9:09 am

TheOwnerPO wrote:Even with a high gdp Trinidad would have still been ranked low :?

This is not true.. we topped the list for may years straight till the recession

Postby Dizzy28 » October 20th, 2016, 9:46 am

We are the 43rd Happiest country in the world based on the 2016 World Happiness Index though http://worldhappiness.report/wp-content ... V1_web.pdf.

Who to believe? :? :?

Postby toyolink » October 20th, 2016, 10:18 am

We really seem to be living in a fools paradise if this ranking is valid.
In light of this information alcohol and illegal drug sales will continue be strong.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » October 20th, 2016, 11:19 am

Tdad has some of the sweetest women in the world...

Doh mind sumadem spoiled...we like them so.

Daran

Postby Daran » October 20th, 2016, 1:47 pm

Miktay wrote:Tdad has some of the sweetest women in the world...

Doh mind sumadem spoiled...we like them so.

True, we have above average women but no where near the best in the world. Don't let carnival fool you, that is a gathering of the cream of the crop. In any big city in the world or Latin country, you'll find even better women.

Anyway I don't know why trinis unhappy, inspire of the recession we have things rel easy compared to elsewhere.

Could be that we are also some of the most spoilt entitled people on this planet so any hint of the party being over puts us in turmoil.