is it possible to damage an engine from idling too long?

Re: is it possible to damage an engine from idling too long?

Postby AllTrac » June 5th, 2012, 5:23 am

havent read the whole thread, but when I had my starlet, the first couple days I owned it, it didnt have a turbo timer, did some running around with it at night, left it idling home in the garage to idle down, completely forgot about it and fell asleep. Got up next morning, it was idling from 8pm to the next morning 7am. It was still idling, temp was at half, heard the fans coming on and then off to cool down. I just turned it off, left it home, came back with fresh oil and filter and changed it. Worked normal till it was sold, never burned oil.

Postby cinco » June 5th, 2012, 6:47 am

AllTrac wrote:havent read the whole thread, but when I had my starlet, the first couple days I owned it, it didnt have a turbo timer, did some running around with it at night, left it idling home in the garage to idle down, completely forgot about it and fell asleep. Got up next morning, it was idling from 8pm to the next morning 7am. It was still idling, temp was at half, heard the fans coming on and then off to cool down. I just turned it off, left it home, came back with fresh oil and filter and changed it. Worked normal till it was sold, never burned oil.

u does go an sleep 8pm?

Postby Bizzare » June 5th, 2012, 7:11 am

AllTrac wrote:havent read the whole thread, but when I had my starlet, the first couple days I owned it, it didnt have a turbo timer, did some running around with it at night, left it idling home in the garage to idle down, completely forgot about it and fell asleep. Got up next morning, it was idling from 8pm to the next morning 7am. It was still idling, temp was at half, heard the fans coming on and then off to cool down. I just turned it off, left it home, came back with fresh oil and filter and changed it. Worked normal till it was sold, never burned oil.

u mean u use to change oil and filter anytime that happened?

Postby AllTrac » June 5th, 2012, 9:39 am

Bizzare wrote:

u mean u use to change oil and filter anytime that happened?

what?

what im saying is that, seeing the oil was runing through the system all night, none stop it probably would of thinned out a bit and picked up some carbon deposits and probably metal filings. So after turning it off, I heading to the auto parts place (next car) and bought fresh oil and filter.

Postby AllTrac » June 5th, 2012, 9:40 am

cinco wrote:

u does go an sleep 8pm?

where did you get that? :?

Postby cinco » June 5th, 2012, 9:52 am

AllTrac wrote:
cinco wrote:

u does go an sleep 8pm?

u say it idling from 8pm to 7am :| :|

btw this thread was started by hoe
so by engine do you mean punanny
and by idling you mean foreplay?

Postby teems1 » June 5th, 2012, 9:59 am

You should thank your lucky stars the garage was ventilated properly, otherwise the occupants of the house could have died from CO poisoning.

wana-B-racer

Postby wana-B-racer » June 5th, 2012, 10:03 am

honda hoe wrote:
pablo_tt wrote:2 hours, standing still, no air to aid in cooling the engine. It might be possible

This wouldn't happen to be a turbo charged boxer engine by chance?

nope. evo 7 engine

apparently the guy fell asleep in his car for approx 2 hrs with the a/c on

heard a loud explosion

when he woke up there was smoke all around the car and the engine was knocking

when the block was scrapped it turned out to be a spun bearing

opinion is the the car was idling so long that the gas diluted the oil in the cylinder and the bearing wasn't lubricated properly

i just never heard anything like that before and was wondering how plausible it was....

Willing to buy the damaged engine!!

Postby X2 » June 5th, 2012, 10:19 pm

redmanjp wrote:hmmm- a few sites i've come across say it not necessary & is a waste of gas but i guess is because gas prices in the US are so high :|

Wear is a big issue with that (warming up)... certain technologies like FRM cylinders and advances in lubricants may change things.

What gets my curiosity is electric/gasoline hybrids that shut off the gasoline engine and 'insta-start' them when needed. Unless the oil is pre warmed... I wonder how long the engines will last.

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » June 5th, 2012, 10:25 pm

i have heard its possible to damage your muffler bearing from your boyfriends peen1$ being in there too long ent BIZARRE?- you should know huh!

is it possible to damage an engine from idling too long?

Postby S_2NR » June 5th, 2012, 10:41 pm

RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:i have heard its possible to damage your muffler bearing from your boyfriends peen1$ being in there too long ent BIZARRE?- you should know huh!

Ohhhhhh goooooooooooddddd

Postby Bizzare » June 5th, 2012, 11:04 pm

RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:i have heard its possible to damage your muffler bearing from your boyfriends peen1$ being in there too long ent BIZARRE?- you should know huh!

yea but dudette, keep it one ched nah gyul viewtopic.php?f=4&t=267363&p=6266795#p6266795
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=267363&start=9090

i must have really hurt your feelings that u gotta follow me around in every ched to make std 3 insults about penises, boyfriends, and male assh0les :?

Postby rollingstock » June 6th, 2012, 8:28 am

RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:i know its possible to damage your muffler bearing from your boyfriends peen1$ being in there too long right BIZARRE?- I should know!

:shock: :shock:

Postby K74T » June 6th, 2012, 8:33 am

:popcorn:

Postby honda hoe » June 6th, 2012, 9:31 am

:shock: :shock: :shock:

Postby AllTrac » June 6th, 2012, 9:47 am

cinco wrote:
AllTrac wrote:
cinco wrote:

u does go an sleep 8pm?

u say it idling from 8pm to 7am :| :|

dan.... :?
i still dunno where u get i does go to sleep from 8pm, i said it was idling from 8pm to 7am I also said I fell asleep, no where there did I say what time I fell asleep. Reason i can give a time frame from when it was idling is because I left it idling at 8pm when i came home with it. Anyway, does it matter? :|

Postby 1UZFE » June 6th, 2012, 9:53 am

Bizzare wrote:

yea but dudette, keep it one ched nah gyul viewtopic.php?f=4&t=267363&p=6266795#p6266795
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=267363&start=9090

i must have really hurt your feelings that u gotta follow me around in every ched to make std 3 insults about penises, boyfriends, and male assh0les :?

licks goin n share...
tumblr_lowhty1v8p1r085xlo1_500.gif
tumblr_lowhty1v8p1r085xlo1_500.gif (304.12 KiB) Viewed 2690 times

wetfowl

Postby wetfowl » September 4th, 2015, 1:42 pm

That's a wrap for the weekend

Bobby~d

Postby Bobby~d » September 4th, 2015, 2:46 pm

^^^^ 3 year bump wow.

jm3

Postby jm3 » September 5th, 2015, 1:08 pm

lol same well worth time travel

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 5th, 2015, 2:34 pm

cinco wrote:like i said more than likely he fell asleep and his foot relaxed on the x

Plausible.

Postby ruffneck_12 » September 5th, 2015, 3:12 pm

wetfowl wrote:That's a wrap for the weekend

ah doh unders