LF Carpenter to do this in Trincity area

drunkenscorpion

LF Carpenter to do this in Trincity area

Postby drunkenscorpion » October 30th, 2014, 2:06 pm

Looking to extend my back lawn walls with a style similar to this. Doesn't seem to difficult, but I need someone to get it done asap. Any help pointing in the right direction would be great.

nos_specialist

Re: LF Carpenter to do this in Trincity area

Postby nos_specialist » October 31st, 2014, 3:04 pm

That would be me, call me at 388-7700

Postby SMc » October 31st, 2014, 3:11 pm

well wasn't that simple for once.

VJTEK

Postby VJTEK » October 31st, 2014, 4:31 pm

Please update the thread with pics after the project is complete.

I'm sure many tuners would like to know how it all worked out and the cost as well :)

drunkenscorpion

Postby drunkenscorpion » October 31st, 2014, 4:48 pm

Will do.

Nos...will send info as per convo.

VJTEK

Postby VJTEK » October 31st, 2014, 5:13 pm

Thanks much

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 31st, 2014, 5:18 pm

nice design there!
looking forward to seeing it done.

I can't recommend a good, reliable carpenter as I am yet to find one. Do they exist?

Postby Spitfir3 » October 31st, 2014, 5:36 pm

guess we will find out once nos gets the gig

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » October 31st, 2014, 7:59 pm

We wud see :) take a look at my DIY recycle thread in the ole talk forum, and check out some chairs i built out of pallets..

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=469323&hilit=diy+recycle

Postby gt4tified » October 31st, 2014, 10:32 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:nice design there!

I can't recommend a good, reliable carpenter as I am yet to find one. Do they exist?

Yes. but they come at a price that most can’t afford.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 31st, 2014, 10:54 pm

gt4tified wrote:

are their prices unreasonable?

Postby gt4tified » November 2nd, 2014, 4:18 pm

gt4tified wrote:

are their prices unreasonable?

Unreasonable is subjective, just like affordability. What one might think is unreasonable or unaffordable might be different to another. In my experience, I think its less of their prices being unreasonable, but that most cannot afford the prices charged by good, reliable carpenters.

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » November 3rd, 2014, 8:47 am

folks i had Kitchen cupboards to build, and the prices carpenters were charging me...i could not afford, so what i ended up doing was buyin all the tools, Table Saws, Routers, Drill press, sanders, planer and a batch of other stuff....i watched a lot of woodworking youtube videos and got crackin, and i took a nice liking to it..right now i am in the process of building my workshop...and i am SURE that as a newbie in the woodworking field in Trinidad..i will do higher quality work than most guys...and i am doin this as a hobby /sideline gig..

ADONI

Postby ADONI » November 3rd, 2014, 12:48 pm

nos_specialist wrote:folks i had Kitchen cupboards to build, and the prices carpenters were charging me...i could not afford, so what i ended up doing was buyin all the tools, Table Saws, Routers, Drill press, sanders, planer and a batch of other stuff....i watched a lot of woodworking youtube videos and got crackin, and i took a nice liking to it..right now i am in the process of building my workshop...and i am SURE that as a newbie in the woodworking field in Trinidad..i will do higher quality work than most guys...and i am doin this as a hobby /sideline gig..

Can't blame yuh!
Did the same thing with welding!

Postby RBphoto » November 3rd, 2014, 2:49 pm

That project is not simple project DS, and will have to modify the concrete to support a non- concrete structure, but it will look so much better than a plain mortared wall.

ADONI wrote:
nos_specialist wrote:folks i had Kitchen cupboards to build, and the prices carpenters were charging me...i could not afford, so what i ended up doing was buyin all the tools, Table Saws, Routers, Drill press, sanders, planer and a batch of other stuff....i watched a lot of woodworking youtube videos and got crackin, and i took a nice liking to it..right now i am in the process of building my workshop...and i am SURE that as a newbie in the woodworking field in Trinidad..i will do higher quality work than most guys...and i am doin this as a hobby /sideline gig..

Can't blame yuh!
Did the same thing with welding!

I don't know how people live without two jobs nowadays.... Same thing with me... Hobby have to make some profit else it is not worth it.

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » November 12th, 2014, 11:07 pm

Update there folks... Job Completed ... :)

i have some under construction pics if you all are interested....but i would hadda get clearance to post it up

Postby 1UZFE » November 13th, 2014, 5:26 am

Pics...

Postby pugboy » November 13th, 2014, 7:25 am

nice, pics, and type of wood and uv protection coated ?

ADONI

Postby ADONI » November 13th, 2014, 10:10 am

That was quick!!!
nos_specialist would appreciate your expert opinion for pugboy question.
I am building a sliding gate for home and would like to use wood on the bottom half of the gate.
I was thinking of going by Saran Sampath for some green heart and probably coat it with some Thomspon's water seal. How does that sound?
Thanks!

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » November 13th, 2014, 2:59 pm

That sounds great, but pricey..but its a good way to go...i have pics of a gate with wooden inserts if you would like to see it.

and by the way....I am nooo expert :D ...

Postby RBphoto » November 13th, 2014, 4:15 pm

Sweet.

Postby pugboy » November 13th, 2014, 5:43 pm

I am yet to see one of them sealers, varnish etc which lasts more than a year or two without degradation and loss of finish which is not recoverable by painting again,
usually some mold gets in and original color etc is gone.

Fiberglass resin might be a good alternative but pricey and messy to apply.

drunkenscorpion

Postby drunkenscorpion » November 13th, 2014, 9:23 pm

Will take photos after the wall is painted and upload. Nos did a good job. Still early tho...lol. Rain testing it out for now.

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » November 13th, 2014, 10:32 pm

pugboy wrote:I am yet to see one of them sealers, varnish etc which lasts more than a year or two without degradation and loss of finish which is not recoverable by painting again,
usually some mold gets in and original color etc is gone.

Fiberglass resin might be a good alternative but pricey and messy to apply.

Nothing lasts forever, and wooden walls DO need maintenance..so every year hit it a coat to protect it.

drunkenscorpion

Postby drunkenscorpion » March 6th, 2015, 9:36 am

Guys, looking to do an amendment to this job. Need it built higher and eliminate the spaces. Primarily for privacy purposes now. It was aesthetically pleasing, however my neighbors can see straight through still. Nos is no longer available for this, so does anyone else know of a carpenter that can do it?

handsomeRob2837

Postby handsomeRob2837 » March 6th, 2015, 12:55 pm

Post some pics of what nos do na

Postby rspann » March 6th, 2015, 1:00 pm

Marine (spar) varnish or epoxy works good. Made for salt spray and harsh conditions.

Postby black start » March 6th, 2015, 9:05 pm

runs some pics nuh opie, or nos