Greendot Digital TV & Internet Service Thread

Re: WTK: Who have Greendot Digital TV Service

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 2nd, 2011, 9:24 am

acesinghit wrote:like i said, it's only a matter of time until greendot closes down....I give them 12-24mths

ppl have been saying this long time now but they still going strong..guess we'll have to wait and see

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 3rd, 2011, 9:53 pm

anyone have a spare remote to lend or sell...

deens-von

Postby deens-von » November 3rd, 2011, 10:22 pm

Swisha wrote:
deens-von wrote:never renewed after the first year was up.. i called them and asked them to discontinue my service and they said a manager would call.. i never received any call and the service still works. They called back again and i made the request to remove the box again and they still aint come.

they sent the card to place into the box as well. I never did this and the service still shows. I tried calling them back again on Monday morning when i got my bill for over $2000.00 but they didnt answer again... sigh

de hell? :shock:

so they trying ah "if we dont disconnect yuh, yuh still have to pay d bill" smart thing?

keep us posted on this...

So i paid for Oct 8th 2009 to Oct 7th 2010. Before the Oct 7th 2010, i requested the service disconnected - Nothing happened despite several attempts to contact them.

On Aug 9th 2011, i got a yearly subscription bill that was for around 2000. Attempts to contact them unsuccessful.

Last week, I received a bill for $201.00.. I called them again and requested it disconnected and told them who i spoke to etc on my requests for disconnection. They actually told a manager this time and the manager called me.

So this manager said they gonna write of my monthly bill of $201.11 and they have to escalate to higher management to write off the bill for the period Oct8 2010 - Oct 7 2011..and i still owe that amount (the 2000) :s

will keep you posted

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 3rd, 2011, 11:13 pm

email to them works...an it serves as evidence too

Postby hustla_ambition101 » November 3rd, 2011, 11:21 pm

deens-von wrote:
Swisha wrote:
deens-von wrote:never renewed after the first year was up.. i called them and asked them to discontinue my service and they said a manager would call.. i never received any call and the service still works. They called back again and i made the request to remove the box again and they still aint come.

they sent the card to place into the box as well. I never did this and the service still shows. I tried calling them back again on Monday morning when i got my bill for over $2000.00 but they didnt answer again... sigh

de hell? :shock:

so they trying ah "if we dont disconnect yuh, yuh still have to pay d bill" smart thing?

keep us posted on this...

So i paid for Oct 8th 2009 to Oct 7th 2010. Before the Oct 7th 2010, i requested the service disconnected - Nothing happened despite several attempts to contact them.

On Aug 9th 2011, i got a yearly subscription bill that was for around 2000. Attempts to contact them unsuccessful.

Last week, I received a bill for $201.00.. I called them again and requested it disconnected and told them who i spoke to etc on my requests for disconnection. They actually told a manager this time and the manager called me.

So this manager said they gonna write of my monthly bill of $201.11 and they have to escalate to higher management to write off the bill for the period Oct8 2010 - Oct 7 2011..and i still owe that amount (the 2000) :s

will keep you posted

You still calling???????? You should have gone into them pronto

Swisha

Postby Swisha » November 3rd, 2011, 11:33 pm

yeah i called and sent emails as well as evidence. they came and took back their equipment a couple days b4 my contract was up...

Postby M_2NR » November 4th, 2011, 12:04 am

was having some issues last week when anytime i changed the channel it would drop. basically what we did was take off the box. d/c the antenna and put it on. then when its loaded it, plug in the antenna and its working since.

Depending on the price i am not sure if ill be taking it back though, how much is flow basic now? i seeing 210$... thats still ~600$ saving for the year... and its not like i watch all the other channels.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » November 4th, 2011, 12:33 am

if u referring to flow analog then is best u keep greendot until u can get flow digital.

analog was the absolute worst and that's how i ended up disconnecting flow and taking greendot...

(btw, Flow doh have time to bother with analog again. when i disconnected i still had an extra box lying around and was getting free analog cable :wink: . until they eventually converted the area to digital of course :lol:)

Postby M_2NR » November 4th, 2011, 12:42 am

me? boy... yuh forget i have intanet lang time oar?
i think its reach the point where if you didnt get digital service from flow... its time to move.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » November 4th, 2011, 12:50 am

oho right :lol:

well is analog is $210

Digital Basic is $225

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 4th, 2011, 10:34 pm

anybody knows if a universal remote can work with these boxes..??

I have the black box.....

geodude

Postby geodude » May 25th, 2012, 11:54 am

any updates about greendot television, this thread has been quiet for a while

Postby turbosingh » May 25th, 2012, 12:00 pm

geodude wrote:any updates about greendot television, this thread has been quiet for a while

Only lately the sending a set off F***ing wrong bills an cut me off.Plus i had to pay $130 to reconnect!

Postby M_2NR » May 25th, 2012, 12:19 pm

best bet is to pay for a year, their billing system messy. the service works generally for me tho.

Tired Accord

Postby Tired Accord » May 25th, 2012, 1:32 pm

geodude Been running the year-in-advance a few years now and I have two boxes. IIRC - it's ~$1800/yr for the standard pkg (for the first box). I can say that I have had pretty good service from them. I never saw any dropouts in signal. In fact - the output of the box is composite video - and the video quality is pretty damn good. I am located in Endeavour (Chaguanas) and the antenna is pointed towards the south. The box also has a digital (coax) audio output - but I do not know if the audio part of the signal is digital - and I have that output plugged into my Harman Kardon receiver (I hardly ever play that source through the receiver though). Recently I did notice that the on-screen TV guide was messing up with respect to channel listing and actual station misalignment. I called them up and they had me sorted that same day. From what I have experienced, their customer help is very good. Most times the cust svc rep sorted me out, and in the case I just mentioned, they had a technician call me back in a couple of hours. The one quirk I have is this: On one of the boxes, you can scroll through the TV guide, while watching the existing channel in an inset - then select what you want to view. On the other box, if you go to the guide, and scroll through, as you are scrolling the channel inset view changes as well :@.

They have an HBO movie package which is like 4 HBO channels for an extra +/- $50 per month which I don't have. But then in this age of Netflix and torrents - who needs that? I miss Speed and G4 that Flow has, but then GD has some different channels which I like too (such as SciFi, couple more Indian stations, etc).

HTH.

xtech

Postby xtech » May 25th, 2012, 3:22 pm

if u dont have a radio u can listen to 96.7 and 96.1 live

geodude

Postby geodude » May 25th, 2012, 3:27 pm

after their first year what is the the cost for the second year as there is no further installation required, i visited their website but the info i saw was not clearly defined,

Tired Accord

Postby Tired Accord » May 25th, 2012, 4:20 pm

The YIA remains the same I think.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 27th, 2012, 8:12 pm

my sub is up.....thinking bout going with Direct TV as I would have to be relocating my equipment soon....get this cost to relocate equipment from GREENDOT is a whooping $575...

Man WTF...best they take back their sheit cause they are not very competitive at all......

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » July 27th, 2012, 8:21 pm

they still alot cheaper with alot more tv channels than flow . and direct tv

only problem i have is when u change the channel it sometimes doesnt change with the remote so when i flip to ch 3 from ch 6 then the ch 3 shows blank .. i just flip up and back and it helps ,which is a bit annoyin tho

Hbo package is nice ..

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 27th, 2012, 9:03 pm

MonsterPower wrote:they still alot cheaper with alot more tv channels than flow . and direct tv

only problem i have is when u change the channel it sometimes doesnt change with the remote so when i flip to ch 3 from ch 6 then the ch 3 shows blank .. i just flip up and back and it helps ,which is a bit annoyin tho

Hbo package is nice ..

yeah but i dont really watch tv at all.......just have it so that if i ever flip the tv on there is something to watch.....anywyas I dont really like the quality of GD.......and would like to experience real digital tv....

The relocation fee is too much if u ask me.....thats more that initial installation by other providers so I will not be coming out any better or cheaper in the long run...........................

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » July 27th, 2012, 10:19 pm

only real digital tv i know of is fios by verizon .. flow digital is comparable to gd .. quality wise

Postby M_2NR » July 28th, 2012, 12:59 am

MonsterPower wrote:only real digital tv i know of is fios by verizon .. flow digital is comparable to gd .. quality wise

If you having quality issues call them up. They'll run you through diagnostics.

I don't see myself switching soon because moms like a zeetv and the zee cinema is a plus. I'm surprised they didn't add RT news though because that stream is available online for free if I remember right.
The only negatives I notice and they dont seem to care to fix is that sometimes msnbc lags, the different volumes across the channels and the messed up/ugly EPG.

ado15mk3

Postby ado15mk3 » September 30th, 2012, 8:55 pm

got a pamphlet from gd in the mail.
they have a new thing called freeview.
they say i pay one time for the equipment and i getting all the local stations at no monthly charge.
this would be ideal for me since that is all i missing with dtv.
so how much does it cost for the equip and hook up?
also, how is the picture quality and how often is there loss of signal etc?

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » September 30th, 2012, 9:13 pm

You can get more info @ http://www.freeview.tv.tt/

No details on pricing though...

Postby *$kїđž!™ » September 30th, 2012, 9:16 pm

do any of u guys pay yur bill thru online banking ---FCB ---- green dot bill?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » September 30th, 2012, 9:22 pm

free view seems as though its for ppl who dont have cable and just need to get digital local tv instead of putting a big antennae on their house....

ado15mk3

Postby ado15mk3 » September 30th, 2012, 9:22 pm

neil, went on their sites already but cant really find that info there

Postby *$kїđž!™ » September 30th, 2012, 9:24 pm

http://www.freeview.tv.tt/faqs.html

Features & Benefits

Try Freeview for Life

An upgrade of your television to Digital TV
An Electronic Program Guide
Access to additional packages, such as HBO channels and Sports packages
The ability to access local radio stations via your television
The ability to access Green Dot’s future innovative products.

ado15mk3

Postby ado15mk3 » September 30th, 2012, 9:49 pm

if anyone did the gd install recently [within last yr or so]:
how much does it cost for gd equip and hook up?

anyone with gd:
how is the picture quality and how often is there loss of signal etc?