pay1093 wrote:Badman doh lan plane from de wess
pioneer wrote:shaq090 wrote:most likely the plan either engaged in a missed runway approach or the crosswinds we coming from west to east ( would have caused the plane to drift above the runway before touchdown)....but its no biggie....there are exit to taxi ways on either ends of the runway
crossdrilled wrote:Re: Why would an aircraft land from the opposite direction?
To get to the other side... budum ching!!
crossdrilled wrote:Re: Why would an aircraft land from the opposite direction?
To get to the other side... budum ching!!
devrat wrote:It was probably an unfixed wing aircraft....they tend to pull to the side with the unfixed wing.
pioneer wrote:this ched is full of people who doh be in de airport regular
Shane18 wrote:So we were in the airport on Monday afternoon, around 5:00 pm, when we noticed a British Airways flight come in and land from on eastern side of the runway. There was a CAL flight waiting to taxi and a Bristow chopper waiting to land, all had to wait until the BA plane landed. I was wondering if anybody here knew why they would be allowed to/have to land from the opposite end (always noticed all aircraft land from the western side).
zcarz wrote:dude?
zoom rader wrote:Shane18 wrote:So we were in the airport on Monday afternoon, around 5:00 pm, when we noticed a British Airways flight come in and land from on eastern side of the runway. There was a CAL flight waiting to taxi and a Bristow chopper waiting to land, all had to wait until the BA plane landed. I was wondering if anybody here knew why they would be allowed to/have to land from the opposite end (always noticed all aircraft land from the western side).
Eh Dude I was on that plane 24-07-11 it was on Sunday and not Monday and we spent about 45min circling over Trini because of the bad weather conditions. The captain said it was dude to wind conditions.
zcarz wrote:dude?
hustla_ambition101 wrote:zoom rader wrote:Shane18 wrote:So we were in the airport on Monday afternoon, around 5:00 pm, when we noticed a British Airways flight come in and land from on eastern side of the runway. There was a CAL flight waiting to taxi and a Bristow chopper waiting to land, all had to wait until the BA plane landed. I was wondering if anybody here knew why they would be allowed to/have to land from the opposite end (always noticed all aircraft land from the western side).
Eh Dude I was on that plane 24-07-11 it was on Sunday and not Monday and we spent about 45min circling over Trini because of the bad weather conditions. The captain said it was dude to wind conditions.
You think is only one flight they do, it was on Monday, I remember it passing over my house when I arrived home
zoom rader wrote:Shane18 wrote:So we were in the airport on Monday afternoon, around 5:00 pm, when we noticed a British Airways flight come in and land from on eastern side of the runway. There was a CAL flight waiting to taxi and a Bristow chopper waiting to land, all had to wait until the BA plane landed. I was wondering if anybody here knew why they would be allowed to/have to land from the opposite end (always noticed all aircraft land from the western side).
Shane18 wrote:zoom rader wrote:Shane18 wrote:So we were in the airport on Monday afternoon, around 5:00 pm, when we noticed a British Airways flight come in and land from on eastern side of the runway. There was a CAL flight waiting to taxi and a Bristow chopper waiting to land, all had to wait until the BA plane landed. I was wondering if anybody here knew why they would be allowed to/have to land from the opposite end (always noticed all aircraft land from the western side).
Well according to the explanations for said event, wind direction is the reason, so is it possible there was a change in wind direction on more than one day? (I was also in one of the air-crafts and know the difference between Sunday and Monday. PNM & UNC education)
Mark! wrote:planes have minds of their own dan, wham u never see jay jay the jet plane
nick009 wrote:the plane left hand drive
blacktriple_s wrote:Aircraft must take off and land into the wind hence most of the time in Trinidad and Tobago, they take off into the east (where our prevailing winds come from)
However, if the wind speed in the aerodrome is less than 5 knots, air traffic control will allow aircraft to depart or land on any runway the pilot wishes. Even though it's one physical runway, there are actually 2 - when an aircraft faces east (runway 10) and the other when it faces west (runway 28)
X2TK! wrote:blacktriple_s wrote:Aircraft must take off and land into the wind hence most of the time in Trinidad and Tobago, they take off into the east (where our prevailing winds come from)
However, if the wind speed in the aerodrome is less than 5 knots, air traffic control will allow aircraft to depart or land on any runway the pilot wishes. Even though it's one physical runway, there are actually 2 - when an aircraft faces east (runway 10) and the other when it faces west (runway 28)
perfect explanation.
/thread