Re: counterfeit 100us and 100tt notes in circulation

Postby TRAE » July 6th, 2011, 4:00 pm

dem thing around long time - i reporting all and taking license plate down

TK!

Postby TK! » July 6th, 2011, 4:37 pm

the counterfeit TT feels of a lower quality. (kinda feels old to the untrained finger)
there are also a lot of counterfeit TT$20.00 bills on the market.

Postby Habit7 » July 6th, 2011, 4:46 pm

people does still use paper?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » July 6th, 2011, 6:15 pm

thanks for the heads up man SR!!!!!!

Tile Expression Ltd.

Postby Tile Expression Ltd. » July 6th, 2011, 7:39 pm

lots of 20s and 100s..
i got a few from some customers...

the print looks a big fuzzy and the paper feels totally different..feels like regular printing paper

Postby DFC » July 6th, 2011, 7:45 pm

Gonna check my few notes now.

Postby Bizzare » July 6th, 2011, 10:08 pm

I know a couple ah guys who do this sh!t. Actually they bleach $1 notes and use a normal inkjet printer and print the $20 on it. It's stupid to know that the same money you counterfeiting can return to you and you still doing it.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 6th, 2011, 10:28 pm

~Vēġó~ wrote:thanks for the heads up man SR!!!!!!

Postby Bizzare » July 6th, 2011, 10:30 pm

You could go up Arima and literally buy counterfeit money..... Like $20 for a $100 bill. So now the risk is on you.

Postby Cjruckus » July 6th, 2011, 10:51 pm

You moving like this doesn't happen all the time.

If you plan to deal in US, learn how to read the bill.
Buy a black light, counterfeit pen, light source and do some research on what to look for.

Same with TT money. You can go to the bank and ask them to show you samples of fakes so you can properly educate yourself.

Every business owner/power seller should take the extra time to figure it out cause the bank doesn't pay you back for fake bills you deposit.

Postby Bizzare » July 6th, 2011, 10:55 pm

Yea but these counterfeit $20s I've seen look just like the real deal. Even the gold emblem on the dollar not is there with the red stripes on it. Even when you hold it up in light everything looks the same. These guys pass these notes off in banks an all. But there are a few things to look out for though. And the pen doesn't identify these bills either.

Postby Stephon. » July 6th, 2011, 11:04 pm

People that do business that involves US money passing through their hands should all have a counterfeit detection marker or pen. Another reason why I cherish my credit card yes, plastic money doesn't get printed over ;)

Postby Bizzare » July 6th, 2011, 11:06 pm

Yea but that don't mean people paying you will pay by credit card.

Postby Stephon. » July 6th, 2011, 11:08 pm

Cjruckus wrote:Every business owner/power seller should take the extra time to figure it out cause the bank doesn't pay you back for fake bills you deposit.

As far as I know, if you're a regular bulk depositor (Republic Bank at least) and they detect a counterfeit, they normally deposit it into your account anyway, then give you a paper telling you what to look out for etc. Happened with our courier once.

Postby Cjruckus » July 6th, 2011, 11:17 pm

Stephon. wrote:
Cjruckus wrote:Every business owner/power seller should take the extra time to figure it out cause the bank doesn't pay you back for fake bills you deposit.

As far as I know, if you're a regular bulk depositor (Republic Bank at least) and they detect a counterfeit, they normally deposit it into your account anyway, then give you a paper telling you what to look out for etc. Happened with our courier once.

Republic is pretty good with that kind of stuff. If you are a regular bulk depositor most of your stuff should be covered by insurance anyway. However, usually bulk depositors do have proper means in place to make sure the bills they are deposited are real.

Again, if you are buying it from someone off the forum. Just take time and check if the bills. Or request a certified cheque depending on how much is being spent. Talk done.

Protect yourself and your business. Also people won't think you are a fly-by-night if you take these matters seriously.

Postby gt4tified » July 7th, 2011, 12:00 am

Bizzare wrote:Yea but that don't mean people paying you will pay by credit card.

Nope...dem payz by cheque! 8-)

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 7th, 2011, 1:06 am

I know this problem is for the entire country but are there any particular areas where this is a major problem??

thesnake11

Postby thesnake11 » July 7th, 2011, 3:07 am

will keep a lookout

Postby S_2NR » July 7th, 2011, 3:29 am

Bizzare wrote:You could go up Arima and literally buy counterfeit money..... Like $20 for a $100 bill. So now the risk is on you.

so wait..ppl know who doing it and they not even arrested..de phoq does go on in this country...steups..

Postby zoom rader » July 7th, 2011, 3:45 am

Bizzare wrote:I know a couple ah guys who do this sh!t. Actually they bleach $1 notes and use a normal inkjet printer and print the $20 on it. It's stupid to know that the same money you counterfeiting can return to you and you still doing it.

Hey I got a 1964 (QE11) mint issued and not counterfeited $1 tt bill in the same colour of a $20 bill.
Only 36 are know to be minted, they were used as test notes to determine if it can be used as a purple $1 note in trini. In the british era ( We need to go back british) the colours were,
$1 was Blue
$2 was red
$5 was purple
$10 was Brown
$20 was Green
$100 was Grey

Postby Bizzare » July 7th, 2011, 5:12 am

S_2NR wrote:
Bizzare wrote:You could go up Arima and literally buy counterfeit money..... Like $20 for a $100 bill. So now the risk is on you.

so wait..ppl know who doing it and they not even arrested..de phoq does go on in this country...steups..

What country you living in man?? Everyone including the police officers know who the drug dealers are on every block right? Does that change anything? No.