crazybalhead wrote:A little advice, I have a 720P toshibe more than two years now, and the picture is GREAT. BUT, it's only great with my older Sony DVD player. With a newer player (some sheit player) that I got free, even with S video, and component video, it looks TERRIBLE.
Make sure yuh source material is up to standard.
I've hear a PS3's blu rays look great, I've seen a first Gen Blu ray from sony play and look like an ordinary DVD.
As usual with electronics, your source material is always as important as the final reproduction, be it Audio or Visual.
Mr. Go Slow wrote:
ru$$ell wrote:
^nothing you'll notice,trust me,the only way your gonna notice slowdown is if a 60hz tv is directly next to a 240/120hz tv,then you can compare,other than that,you'll be fine,
E X A C T L Y Cool
well not exactly
it's true that you can't miss what you don't see, but...
try looking at transformers 2 on a 60hz TV and then watch it on 240hz TV and you will see how much frames the 60Hz dropped out in the high speed action sequences.
watching football on a 60Hz TV you might miss the ball for a second or two as it flies across the screen because of some dropped frames
playing deathmatch on a 60Hz TV you might miss another player scoot across a small section of the screen and not realise he moved from the left of you to the right of you because of some dropped frames.
also if you want to watch the future 3D movies with your new TV in a year or two from now you will need at least a 120Hz TV.
If none of those things matter to you then go ahead and buy a 60Hz TV
Mr. Go Slow, I've read people say "nothing you'll notice" to a comparison between Panasonic speakers and PSBs
Mr. Go Slow wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR, wrote:Mr. Go Slow wrote:
ru$$ell wrote:
^nothing you'll notice,trust me,the only way your gonna notice slowdown is if a 60hz tv is directly next to a 240/120hz tv,then you can compare,other than that,you'll be fine,
E X A C T L Y Cool
well not exactly
it's true that you can't miss what you don't see, but...
try looking at transformers 2 on a 60hz TV and then watch it on 240hz TV and you will see how much frames the 60Hz dropped out in the high speed action sequences.
watching football on a 60Hz TV you might miss the ball for a second or two as it flies across the screen because of some dropped frames
playing deathmatch on a 60Hz TV you might miss another player scoot across a small section of the screen and not realise he moved from the left of you to the right of you because of some dropped frames.
also if you want to watch the future 3D movies with your new TV in a year or two from now you will need at least a 120Hz TV.
If none of those things matter to you then go ahead and buy a 60Hz TV
Mr. Go Slow, I've read people say "nothing you'll notice" to a comparison between Panasonic speakers and PSBs
Well I have sensitive ears, so I can completely relate to your analogy ... However, my wife honestly, can barely discern between a quality source and absolute rubbish.
I have her listen to my Sennheiser HD600's powered by an external USB DAC / AMP and she'll say it's nice, but then happily listen to music through her laptop speakers right after that![]()
So that said, I'm not as big a gamer as i used to be, but I do remember playing some PS3 by a bud on his 60hz Sharp Aquos and (seemingly) not missing a thing ... Then again like the DVD upscaling you mentioned, not all are created equal and I remember reading on cnet that some 120hz were no different to some 60hz ... and not all 60hz were necessarily laggy ...
So it's a case of no absolutes is all I'm saying I guess.
That said, my HT speakers are itching for an upgrade lately, I definitely place more emphasis on sound as opposed to visuals.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Mr. Go Slow wrote:I definitely place more emphasis on sound as opposed to visuals.
perhaps I put more on visuals, but I always try to balance the two
Country_Bookie wrote:What kind of decoder box do I need to watch Free to Air tv locally on an LCD tv?
A 'oman from courts tell me it not possible to use a LCD without cable or directv.
X_Factor wrote:^^ wat length u need? and does it hav to be brand specific?
i should hav 1 or 2 cables somewhere around, but since i went to hdmi, im not sure if my mom throw them away while cleaning for xmas
its the type u get with dvd players, generic and approx 4ft
Tired Accord wrote: Are you referring to the "generic" red/white/yellow cable that you may have? If so - can anyone confirm if these can be substituted for component video cable? I suppose it should...?