"Official" POLICE & Police Commisioner Related Matters thread ...

Postby MaxPower » October 22nd, 2024, 3:02 pm

You loss me there from the responding quick part.

Re:

Postby pugboy » October 22nd, 2024, 3:44 pm

nah, them roving cops task force type does sometimes respond fast, they more trigger happy

it’s the station ones who does bawl no vehicle
the key thing to say is a bandit have a gun and shooting
otherwise they wouldn’t come fast

MaxPower wrote:You loss me there from the responding quick part.

Re: Re:

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 22nd, 2024, 5:20 pm

redmanjp wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
hover11 wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Unless changes like

Suspended WITHOUT pay
Immediate dismissal once found guilty
Pay for damages to vehicles once you are guilty
PG every 2 years, once you fail, you are dismissed

Are implemented, doh expect nothing much to change
Police association would never allow any of the above

Hence, nothing will change! Unions and associations are usually the downfall of these entities.
alfa wrote:I know how public servants think, and if you make them liable for the vehicles they simply wouldn't drive them. I would love to see any of them last a day in the private sector

Ttr members are made to pay for damages when they crash the govt vehicles. GG tried to implement this and get licks.

ttps have to respond to emergencies quick- so if they were in hot pursuit of someone and crash under those circumstances? would they still be liable? cuz then they would not respond as quickly if they know they will be liable.

Hence I said once guilty... Or not in the line of duty... For example, the officer who crashed the brand new hilux on the PBR... If after an investigation it was revealed that he was not attending to an emergency... He should be fixing that van outa pocket...

Postby alfa » October 22nd, 2024, 8:30 pm

pugboy wrote:nah, them roving cops task force type does sometimes respond fast, they more trigger happy

it’s the station ones who does bawl no vehicle
the key thing to say is a bandit have a gun and shooting
otherwise they wouldn’t come fast

MaxPower wrote:You loss me there from the responding quick part.

I believe all police officers should be tactical/task force roving types. Their job training was to apprehend criminals so how those WPCs in colonial type dress skirts doing that? All the station/desk work could be filed by civillians. This is what former COP Gibbs wanted to implement when he said Trinidad policing was similar to what Canada had in the 60s. But sadly nothing changed

Re: "Official" POLICE & Police Commisioner Related Matters thread ...

Postby MaxPower » October 22nd, 2024, 8:35 pm

Does the TTPS care what the public thinks about them?

Postby hover11 » October 22nd, 2024, 8:40 pm

MaxPower wrote:Does the TTPS care what the public thinks about them?
Well there is only one police service just like WASA, there is only one water company, regardless of what ppl think they still have to contact or use them when in need.

Postby pugboy » October 22nd, 2024, 10:08 pm

both gg and gibbs said the same thing
a cop not supposed to be sitting in a station waiting for calls to go outside

Re:

Postby 16 cycles » October 23rd, 2024, 11:17 am

hover11 wrote:Mayaro man held with gun, ammo, police apparel including the ID and badge of an officer on extended sick leave.

Around 345 am on 21/10/24 officers went to the home of Curlan Christopher Matthews at La Savanne Circular Newlands Guayaguayare Mayaro.

PC Sarabjit had in his possession a High Court Search Warrant to search for Firearms and Ammunition.

During the search the following items were found concealed under a mattress and seized:

One Phantom BB Pistol 4.5mm Cal.

One black Holster.

One TTPS Identification Badge in the name of No 18318 PC Licourish in a black holder.

One TTPS ID Card in the name of No 18318 PC Licourish issued 24/10/2018.

One Blue T shirt With Police Emblem.

One black cargo pants.

One blue Operational jacket with two TTPS shoulder patches and two front Police patches.

One black cap marked Police.

One ski mask.

Two long camouflage long trousers.

One Army Type Pattern T shirt.

Initial enquires reveal that PC Licourish does not reside at that location and is presently on continuous sick leave for over one year.

Enquiries continuing by PC Sarabjit.

sounds like the uniforms worn by the kidnappers of Ramnarine

https://fb.watch/voPeLyp6pL/

anthonyanthony

Postby anthonyanthony » October 24th, 2024, 8:48 pm

I saw on ian alleyne a video of what he says another attempted kidnapping in which an unmarked police vehicle was use..the attempted victim suspected something wrong and drove off..

Postby pugboy » October 24th, 2024, 11:02 pm

lewwe see if erla can ban them unmarked blue lights cars
Last edited by pugboy on October 25th, 2024, 5:19 am, edited 1 time in total.

abbow

Postby abbow » October 25th, 2024, 3:21 am

Who was it that said Police was the biggest gang in Trinidad?? David West???

Postby MaxPower » October 25th, 2024, 6:26 am

pugboy wrote:lewwe see if erla can ban them unmarked blue lights cars

The same ones people ordering on Amazon easily?

Postby hover11 » October 25th, 2024, 6:44 am

Stupid question, why are officers allowed to come into high traffic areas such as restaurants , banks and government ministries with loaded firearms? If this woman died what would have been the outcome? Sometimes is not even police business they conducting but their personal business
FB_IMG_1729852960760.jpg

Postby 16 cycles » October 25th, 2024, 7:08 am

^how?????

"accidental discharge" is really an accident?

Re:

Postby alfa » October 25th, 2024, 7:15 am

hover11 wrote:Stupid question, why are officers allowed to come into high traffic areas such as restaurants , banks and government ministries with loaded firearms? If this woman died what would have been the outcome? Sometimes is not even police business they conducting but their personal business FB_IMG_1729852960760.jpg

Shouldn't matter. In firearms training they tell you 'a holstered firearm is a safe firearm' I'm almost sure it wasn't holstered properly and/or he was fiddling around and touched the trigger

Postby hover11 » October 25th, 2024, 7:18 am

alfa wrote:
hover11 wrote:Stupid question, why are officers allowed to come into high traffic areas such as restaurants , banks and government ministries with loaded firearms? If this woman died what would have been the outcome? Sometimes is not even police business they conducting but their personal business FB_IMG_1729852960760.jpg

Shouldn't matter. In firearms training they tell you 'a holstered firearm is a safe firearm' I'm almost sure it wasn't holstered properly and/or he was fiddling around and touched the trigger
Shouldn't there be stiffer penalties or disciplinary procedures in cases such as these. Simply doing a report of the incident and resuming duties like normal can't be the answer

Postby alfa » October 25th, 2024, 7:51 am

hover11 wrote:
alfa wrote:

Shouldn't there be stiffer penalties or disciplinary procedures in cases such as these. Simply doing a report of the incident and resuming duties like normal can't be the answer

It's the public service, don't hold your breath. He might get promoted

Postby pugboy » October 25th, 2024, 4:20 pm

even cops getting scammed while transacting business at a police station

https://trinidadexpress.com/newsextra/f ... ae4e4.html

Postby MaxPower » October 26th, 2024, 12:10 pm

hover11 wrote:Stupid question, why are officers allowed to come into high traffic areas such as restaurants , banks and government ministries with loaded firearms? If this woman died what would have been the outcome? Sometimes is not even police business they conducting but their personal business

If Trinis are given the FULs they bawling for, expect to see an increase in these incidents.

FULs for Trinis with our culture is not the solution.

Seek assistance from a foreign army, their presence alone will curb some crime for a start.

Citizens feel safer with an SOE because of the obvious, the criminals off the roads but business sales will be affected. With the foreign army, everything can operate as normal, and the criminals will be off the streets just as if it were an SOE.

It’s a win win.

Anyways, i talking sheit as usual ent? Lol

Postby alfa » October 26th, 2024, 4:43 pm

A more practical and socially acceptable solution might be too bring in foreign instructors to train the ttps and the like. Friends who have traveled to the US told me police officers are a world apart from what we have here. Professional, courteous and effective even at a random road stop. One guy told me he felt like they were actually serving him.
The attitude of some of the 'ole skool' ones locally, geeze, and don't forget the Terrances in the system. Foreign training definitely would make an impact

Postby pugboy » October 26th, 2024, 5:14 pm

training only good if the students willingly taking it
we have plenty workers here who doing bare minimum and others who just refuse to improve or involved in racket

Postby pugboy » October 26th, 2024, 5:17 pm

just look how they treated gibbs

alfa wrote:A more practical and socially acceptable solution might be too bring in foreign instructors to train the ttps and the like. Friends who have traveled to the US told me police officers are a world apart from what we have here. Professional, courteous and effective even at a random road stop. One guy told me he felt like they were actually serving him.
The attitude of some of the 'ole skool' ones locally, geeze, and don't forget the Terrances in the system. Foreign training definitely would make an impact

Postby hustla_ambition101 » October 26th, 2024, 7:16 pm

alfa wrote:

Cant holster a MP5. The question is why was the safety off.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » October 26th, 2024, 7:19 pm

hover11 wrote:
pugboy wrote:seems there is truth to the rumours that many cops lend out the garments and stuff
I never doubted that but how these fellas does be on sick leave for a whole year normal and collecting pay, must be nice
As long as you exceed your allotted 14 days you have to pay back for exceeded/extended sick leave. It comes out from back pay or gratuity.

Postby MaxPower » October 27th, 2024, 9:18 am

alfa wrote:

Again,

Trinis are generally irresponsible and careless.

That firearms training statement should be elaborated. As you mentioned, “properly” holstered AND also a we should say a proper holster.

You don’t choose a holster with comfort/looks being the first priority, and safety after. These comfort leather holsters with NO retention, NO trigger guards etc. A leather holster with no retention is dangerous as the leather stretches and it is almost impossible to know when the firearm with gradually lose its tightness.

Get a holster with good adjustable retention and secure with blue thread locker and one where the trigger is guarded completely. Check periodically that the retention does not reduce over time. Make sure and hear that “click” when the firearm is holstered.

Also, a firearm belt is also needed where the holster belt clip can be attached with very little to no movement. It’s a heavier belt so also helps with belt sagging and bursting.

I am certain the holster the officer had is cheaper than a snack pack.

We are having too many of these incidents.

Postby rollingstock » October 27th, 2024, 12:08 pm

Well if officers forced to buy their own holsters, vest etc you think it's going to be the best quality?

Not making excuses for the idiot because there is nothing like an accidental discharge. More like a negligent discharge. If proper firearm handling was exercised this wouldn't have happened. And it was a submachine gun not a pistol, can't holster that.

Postby alfa » October 27th, 2024, 12:17 pm

Good thing it wasn't on burst mode

Postby alfa » October 28th, 2024, 8:50 am

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/cop-agr ... cc79cd7bab
It possible for tanty to look and feel any more dotish?

Postby pugboy » October 28th, 2024, 9:44 am

when you are a puppet you don’t feel dotish

Postby redmanjp » December 17th, 2024, 3:31 pm

Deputy Police Commissioner cleared of dangerous driving charge

https://newsday.co.tt/2024/12/17/deputy-commissioner-cleared-of-dangerous-driving-charge/