Slayer wrote:for a low boost setup the high comp is fine....
use a good management, that provides good control over ignition timing, not just a BTM (although it'll do fine), and exercise some self control i.e. dont turn up the boost!
along with fuel upgrades as well...
u'll bet a fun car out of it for relatively little work
if u want u can get the gasket i mentioned, will drop the comp a bit...
Slayer wrote:high comp, no sense doing a whole buildup for 8psi
done right , i.e. good tuning, u will have no probs.....
but im sure that u aint gonna stop at 8 psi, ah tellin yuh........
Slayer wrote:the rods aint gonna fail on u doh wory, thats the least of your worries
its not a known weak pt on the g13b
the majority of swifts that turbocharged down here doh have to worry bout that bottom end failing on u, its strong and we nowhere the HP levels to break those parts.
at 8 psi u aint gonna get near 200 hp jus so.......it easy to do stuff to the engine and feel that u gonna get big numbers, reality is that it dont usually work out like that and ppl get dissapointed......
worry bout detonation and your headgasket and pistons. thats the major issues to deal with. i hope u plan on spending $4 a litre and maybe even water injection. or else u gonna have that car down more often than you would like.
Slayer wrote:at 8 psi u aint gonna get near 200 hp jus so.......it easy to do stuff to the engine and feel that u gonna get big numbers, reality is that it dont usually work out like that and ppl get dissapointed......
Knight1 wrote:So, when I had now bought the SS, I had a lot of "talk" from tuners <cough> tr1ad <cough>, how the old Swift GTi was a lot faster, due to it's lighter weight and whatnot. I took it as fact.
Now today, a goodly fellow in a white swift gti with a noisy exhaust (and intake?) apparently was being friendly and beeped his horn in acknowledgement as he passed on the highway. I of course was very disrespectful (geared down and overtook)......after which we both cruised at 80 km/h on the left lane.
I'll say this:
1) The GTi (I'm assuming was N/A) IS a surprisingly fast car, so I can see the potential an F/I one will have.
2) 3rd gear acceleration from cruising in the SS makes it hard to see # plates of following cars ()
3) Top end is near the same.