13b turbo in rx8? anyone here done this?

MAZDA People United - it continues here

3rd gen engine in rx8?

yes
55%
no
45%

Total votes: 11

Kamikaze

13b turbo in rx8? anyone here done this?

Postby Kamikaze » March 31st, 2010, 8:30 pm

ok so the renisis i love but it ent love me , thinking after my 3rd engine for the year to go 3rd gen engine

problem is rx8 is all fly by wire so will need a lot of conversion anyone done this before will manifold fit? will new renisis 13b gearbox mount to old13b engine ,

figure ill need a haltec an sensors any advice ppl , can get another 6 port renisis but want to weigh the pros an cons 1st

twin turbo in that should fly!!!! :) but how relable an costly will this be

FullStop

Postby FullStop » March 31st, 2010, 8:45 pm

just rebuild with unbreakable seals and save yourself the headache

787B

Postby 787B » March 31st, 2010, 10:07 pm

Three engines you went through???? How on earth did you accomplish that?

There are RX8's running 13B REW, 20B's and one with a Peripheral Port 26B Turbo.

Have you checked rx8 forums for details on the conversion. Most of the 13B REW rx8's use single turbos instead of the twins.

Alternatively you can look at a GReddy turbo kit for the renesis once you stop breaking engines :mrgreen:

ImamurA

Postby ImamurA » April 1st, 2010, 6:17 pm

3rd engine in one year?...something is definitely wrong...how did they break?...

gready123456

Postby gready123456 » April 1st, 2010, 7:01 pm

aye u selling the old renisis u have the busted ones ? go for it man but u can turbo the renisis and get a but more power , but hey wth go of it 13b-REW for it but single turbo :twisted: or jus slap in a 20b :twisted: :twisted:

Alpha_2nr

Re: 13b turbo in rx8? anyone here done this?

Postby Alpha_2nr » April 7th, 2010, 8:14 pm

Kamikaze wrote:ok so the renisis i love but it ent love me , thinking after my 3rd engine for the year to go 3rd gen engine

problem is rx8 is all fly by wire so will need a lot of conversion anyone done this before will manifold fit? will new renisis 13b gearbox mount to old13b engine ,

figure ill need a haltec an sensors any advice ppl , can get another 6 port renisis but want to weigh the pros an cons 1st

Don't change oil much?

No premix?

Use Super or something?

Use synth oil?

Don't redline your engine once a day like you should?

Use 5W20 oil by chance?

I've never come across anyone ..... ANYONE ....to blow through so many MSP engines so quickly....3 in a year!! And this includes on foreign forums....and a dude who I know, who insists on using Mobil 1 synthetic in his base 4-port RX8 :lol:

Might want to figure out what you're doing wrong if anything, BEFORE modifying

Because at the end of the day, the RENESIS MSP is, in essence, an "updated" 13B-REW, with modified ports and compression. Under turbocharging, the REW has effectively the same compression, if not higher, than the 13B-MSP.

So whatever problems you faced with the current engine(s), could also be encountered with the REW. :lol: :roll:

Postby Team Loco » April 8th, 2010, 10:15 am

trust me, he did destroy a couple engines. its very unfortunate what is happening to James. its really not his fault. the first engine was destroyed when some ahole cement truck dropped cement at the top of rivulet road. this broke his radiator and hence his engine cooked. the second was even more dramas.

James, i would still say no.....go back original, too much headache.

GT RACING

Postby GT RACING » April 9th, 2010, 12:50 pm

ITS VERY COSTLY TO PUT THE 13B REW INTO THE RX8.

-SUBFRAME NEEDS TO BE DIFFERENT, SO YOU NEED TO EITHER MODIFY THE CURRENT OR FABRICATE ANOTHER FRAME BECAUSE OF THE OILPAN ETC.....
-GETTING THE INSTRUMENTAL PANEL TO WORK PROPERLY WITH THE 13B SETUP, MIGHT HAVE TO USE AFTERMARKET DASH
-THE ENGINE WILL NEED TO BE A BIT LOWER TO AVOID THE MANIFOLD BUMPING ON THE HOOD, HENCE THE FIRST POINT ABOVE
-PLUS MANY MORE..

VISIT ESMERIL RACING, THEY HAVE TURBO KITS FOR THE RX8 THAT MAKE 400+HP EASY AND ITS SAFE. CHECK THEM OUT

Kamikaze

Postby Kamikaze » April 11th, 2010, 1:24 am

1ST TWO ENGINES were due to same fault , faulty expansion bottle, this 3rd time was due to taking out thermostat and thus too long before fans came on , worked great at night , when temp hot outside she didnt like it

1st engine was a total loss housings collapesed and scorched rotors , 2nd engien was rebuilt but had warped back plate , changed seals, and plate

she driving now but im bringing a new one in any case

oil change every 3000 km mineral oil ( we do not use syneteic oil in teh reniss engine) and definatly not 5 w20 !!

prob was all due to hairline crak in expansion bottle , afteteh 1st engine had changed rad, all silicon hoses even rad cap , but was teh dam bottle

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » April 11th, 2010, 4:54 am

1ST TWO ENGINES were due to same fault , faulty expansion bottle, this 3rd time was due to taking out thermostat and thus too long before fans came on , worked great at night , when temp hot outside she didnt like it

People still remove thermostats in this day and age?

Mechanic FTL :|

You could get that in a week's time from any US vendor if you had a skybox. Heck......I could have even given you the part number.

renesis

Postby renesis » April 12th, 2010, 11:32 am

GT RACING wrote:ITS VERY COSTLY TO PUT THE 13B REW INTO THE RX8.

-SUBFRAME NEEDS TO BE DIFFERENT, SO YOU NEED TO EITHER MODIFY THE CURRENT OR FABRICATE ANOTHER FRAME BECAUSE OF THE OILPAN ETC.....
-GETTING THE INSTRUMENTAL PANEL TO WORK PROPERLY WITH THE 13B SETUP, MIGHT HAVE TO USE AFTERMARKET DASH
-THE ENGINE WILL NEED TO BE A BIT LOWER TO AVOID THE MANIFOLD BUMPING ON THE HOOD, HENCE THE FIRST POINT ABOVE
-PLUS MANY MORE..

VISIT ESMERIL RACING, THEY HAVE TURBO KITS FOR THE RX8 THAT MAKE 400+HP EASY AND ITS SAFE. CHECK THEM OUT

good advice!

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » April 23rd, 2010, 11:43 pm

if you still thinking about it check this out u could get the works with all the suspension ad wiring
could make life easier
http://forums.trinituner.com/forums//vi ... p?t=307535

LEVIAHAN

Postby LEVIAHAN » May 12th, 2010, 7:14 am

Knight1 wrote:
Kamikaze wrote:ok so the renisis i love but it ent love me , thinking after my 3rd engine for the year to go 3rd gen engine

Don't change oil much?

No premix?

Use Super or something?

Use synth oil?

Don't redline your engine once a day like you should?

Use 5W20 oil by chance?

I've never come across anyone ..... ANYONE ....to blow through so many MSP engines so quickly....3 in a year!! And this includes on foreign forums....and a dude who I know, who insists on using Mobil 1 synthetic in his base 4-port RX8 :lol:

Might want to figure out what you're doing wrong if anything, BEFORE modifying

Because at the end of the day, the RENESIS MSP is, in essence, an "updated" 13B-REW, with modified ports and compression. Under turbocharging, the REW has effectively the same compression, if not higher, than the 13B-MSP.

So whatever problems you faced with the current engine(s), could also be encountered with the REW. :lol: :roll:

But arent you supposed to use 5w20 oil?

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » May 12th, 2010, 8:04 pm

^^Not necessarily.....and that's only used in the US markets. I threw that in as some folks in the lower US states complained of early failures (housings etc), supposedly due to thinning oil.

Rumour has it that was done to help keep the RX8's "mileage" rating at the highest possible value for USDM ratings (EPA is it??), given the fact that rotaries can be somewhat heavy on gas. They even say in the USDM owners manual that the 5W20 is used as part of Mazda's efforts to increase gas mileage. Folks from Atkins and Knightsports (in Japan anyways - they have english speaking folk) recommend a 30W oil. Idemitsu, one of the only synth oils SAFE for rotaries, also offers a 30W in this regard....and no longer offers a 20W afaiK.

In the JDM market, most 8's I've been told, come pre filled with a 5w30 Nippon oil.

prob was all due to hairline crak in expansion bottle , afteteh 1st engine had changed rad, all silicon hoses even rad cap , but was teh dam bottle

You know, I'm reading this again....and it just doesn't make sense. The RX8 is almost idiot proof.......if you had a crack in teh bottle, or a leak of coolant ANYWHERE in the system, the car's warnings should have picked it up....I mean JEEZ the car comes with a low coolant level light!!!! And that comes on when the car is low by just over a quart of coolant...... and the 8 uses...what...10 flipping quarts of coolant?? (assuming you use the lower coolant drain) :?

Did you even LOOK at your temperature readings, or the low coolant level light?

Postby Rooki3 » May 12th, 2010, 8:34 pm

geodude

Re:

Postby geodude » May 18th, 2010, 5:19 am

[quote="GT RACING"]ITS VERY COSTLY TO PUT THE 13B REW INTO THE RX8.

-PLUS MANY MORE..

VISIT ESMERIL RACING, THEY HAVE TURBO KITS FOR THE RX8 THAT MAKE 400+HP EASY AND ITS SAFE. CHECK THEM OUT[/quote]

dude are these available locally???? :shock: :shock: :D

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » May 18th, 2010, 5:48 am

^^Nope.

Esmeril and Greddy kits are only available by order.....through local agents perhaps.

geodude

Postby geodude » May 18th, 2010, 6:33 pm

but what is so special about the kit ?
is it possible to purchase parts seperately and assemble somthing of the sort ( you know buy ah big ass turbo, and have someone making the piping and buy intercooler etc), would this be cheaper or a waste of time.
and is it really possible to get approx 150 extra horses from that kit alone or would other changes be necessary such as exhaust, and trannie modification?

to get 150 horses just by slapping on a kit seems too good to be true

sorry for hikacking you thread dude

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » May 18th, 2010, 7:57 pm

is it possible to purchase parts seperately and assemble somthing of the sort ( you know buy ah big ass turbo, and have someone making the piping and buy intercooler etc), would this be cheaper or a waste of time.
and is it really possible to get approx 150 extra horses from that kit alone or would other changes be necessary such as exhaust, and trannie modification?

Bamboo turbo + Rotary FTL.

You want a properly engineered kit to start with. And there's alot more work to be done to get the car to handle it properly e.g. added cooling capacity esp if the turbo has coolant lines to and from.

'Teen

Postby 'Teen » June 2nd, 2010, 11:05 am

Guys,
Dale Mayers just finished a 13B REW install into an RX8! Doh know how it wukkin yet, but give him a call...u never know

Return to “MAZDA”