Postby ramishrrr » March 21st, 2011, 9:49 pm
To Pugboy.....I only import cars on specific request. I do not stock them.
Like I mentioned in a previous thread, the Japanese yen made a marvelous rebound from the recession in 2009. In 2009, the yen was about 98 to the US$.....now it is 81 !
I have records to show where I brought a fully dressed NZE 121 XG. The car cost USD 8,000 CIF from Japan. This cost the customer TT$85,600.
Later in December last year I brought another NZE 121 XG (not an Aero model, just roof rails) for USD 10,200.......The price had risen. This cost the customer TT$107,000.
Right now one of my dealers has a NZE 141 X for USD 141 for 12,200. To the customer, this will cost TT$127,000 !
I have included the pics of the 1st and 3rd Fielders. The pics of the 2nd is on another computer.
The differences in the prices would be the result of inflation, increase in vehicle production costs, strengthening of the yen, higher US$ cost.
There will always be the argument about "bess yuh buy ah new car". However, there are those who just cannot pay the bank an extra $100 or $200 per month to get the bigger loan, and a massive yearly insurance bill for 5 years. Then the foreign used will be the only option with a new series number plate.
For those who can afford, when a foreign used vehicle cost over 65% the cost of a new car, then the situation needs to be reviewed.
Even before the earthquake and tsunami, I felt that new car prices would shoot through the roof. If that happens, then the gap between new and used will widen again. Don't interpret that as a win situation !
And for those who want to argue, just call Toyota Trinidad Ltd. and ask how much it will cost to buy a new 1.8L Corolla Wagon !
Regards,
RR.
-
-

- 2007 NZE141 $127,000 Rr.jpg (26.65 KiB) Viewed 20071 times
-

- 2007 NZE141 for 127,000 Fr.jpg (33.04 KiB) Viewed 20071 times
-

-

- Fully dressed NZE 121 $85,600.jpg (28.75 KiB) Viewed 20071 times