havin nosie troubles

jack hammer

havin nosie troubles

Postby jack hammer » August 21st, 2007, 10:17 pm

ok there wats goin on when i accelerate they is a hi pitch noise comin from my speaker. i want to know wat could cause this an how do i go about fixing it ?

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » August 21st, 2007, 10:24 pm

engine noise..check ya rca jacks first

jack hammer

Postby jack hammer » August 21st, 2007, 10:45 pm

ok
will do

HITTLER

Postby HITTLER » August 21st, 2007, 10:45 pm

check grounds as well, make sure current on one side an rca on the next.

Firewall

Postby Firewall » August 21st, 2007, 11:26 pm

see if speaker grounding on car body

Postby crazybalhead » August 22nd, 2007, 6:56 am

Tell us about your system and how it is installed. The noise you are hearing is alternator whine and is transmitted as a high frequency radio sugnal. The power supply in your amp (deck or external) is amplifying it and hence the noise.

The way to reduce it is to run wires properly and ground properly.

jack hammer

Postby jack hammer » August 22nd, 2007, 12:56 pm

ok my system is made up of a headunit,preamp,4champ,components and an 8"sub.
every thing waz workin find on till the rca form the deck to the preamp started shortin so lastnight i took out the deck an replace the rca cable to the pre amp and dat when i started gettin the engine noise when i started the van an accelerated.

Postby crazybalhead » August 22nd, 2007, 1:04 pm

AHA! Did you run it in the same location as the previous one? If the RCA is run too close to the amp power wire or the pre-amp power wire then it will pick up noise. Also you should use a high quality RCA cable. If the one you used is a cheaper brand try a better quality one. Also chack the gronds for your preamp and deck and make sure they didn't get loose when you were changing the RCA cable.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » August 22nd, 2007, 1:23 pm

ground yuh rca shield

Lance

Postby Lance » August 22nd, 2007, 1:41 pm

silent_riot wrote:ground yuh rca shield

i would say so too,

Most likely when you switched out the RCA's last night, thats when it happened.

Probably jacked it out with the deck on maybe.

Ground the RCA.

Is it a pioneer Deck?

jack hammer

Postby jack hammer » August 23rd, 2007, 7:28 pm

how do u go about goundin the rca's

jack hammer

Postby jack hammer » August 23rd, 2007, 11:16 pm

bump

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » August 24th, 2007, 9:03 am

Switch off everything. Get any rca cable. The shield is the outer part, not the inner pin.

Take a piece of wire and temp attach one side to the shield and the other side to a good ground point. Listen to your system and hear if the noise goes away. If so, solder the fcker, or if you want, you can send your deck to repair the trace fuse that has blown (which causes the problem)

gfbl

Postby gfbl » August 24th, 2007, 9:50 am

go by a doctor for the nosie troubles man. :D

jack hammer

Postby jack hammer » August 24th, 2007, 10:16 pm

ok i ground it an i still hearin it

Dapper

Postby Dapper » August 25th, 2007, 6:20 am

As lance asked is it a pioneer headunit? If so yuh guh have tuh let a pro repair the trace fuse as silent riot suggested. My headunit was a victim of similar circumstances.

jack hammer

Postby jack hammer » August 25th, 2007, 9:48 am

nah its ah sony headunit

Neil26

Postby Neil26 » August 26th, 2007, 6:23 pm

aye men,,,i gettin the same problem,,,,when i used my deck alone,,,no noise,,,when i use the pre-amp,,,i am hearin the whining noise,,,,its a pioneer deck and directed pre-amp,,,,what nex