BMW 3 series install ..IASCA Competitions

pimptacular

Re: My E46 Bmw 3 series Coupe install *UPDATED almost FINISH

Postby pimptacular » July 22nd, 2010, 11:33 pm

hmmm so i thinkin about putting my amps down in the spare tire well..would look a lot better and neater and more stealthy.. still have to do the tweeters but need money first for materials etc
not working an being a student sucks ass!

Re: My E46 Bmw 3 series Coupe install *UPDATED almost FINISH

Postby SR » July 23rd, 2010, 2:25 pm

see ent ah tell yuh so

see if d babysitter acorss d road culd help fund yuh
or d chic in lowes

pimptacular

Re: My E46 Bmw 3 series Coupe install *UPDATED 10/12/10*

Postby pimptacular » October 12th, 2010, 4:00 am

so i did an overhaul on my system and changed up a lot of things with regards to my install
more pics will follow later this week an most likely weekend..school and exams tend to get in the way

but here is a little tease for now
my new sub

rearfill :shock: yes you are seeing correctly
the rearfill i have presets on my hu where i can turn it off or on if i want this was inspired by silent riot

more pics to follow soon..just have a little work again to do..
which includes
1) securing my tweeters and hiding the wire
2)covering the amp rack and secure the amps to it
3)turn down my gains a tad bit

an hopefully a review on the current system from a fellow tuner

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 12th, 2010, 5:11 pm

why would you need to turn down your gains?

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » October 13th, 2010, 9:31 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:why would you need to turn down your gains?

gains too high patrick..but good to know u get the crabby patty from the pinapple under the sea..

and thanks pios its the idmax v3 dual 2 which is connected 4ohm

my front stage..

midbass in the doors
midrange on the kicks
tweeters on the dash.. i tried quite a few tweeter positions before i settled on this and this was the 5th and this sounded the best so i ended up leaving it

so overall im running 3way active upfont plus rearfill and sub
demo available upon request :lol:

silent_riot

Re: BMW 3 series install *UPDATED 13/10/10*

Postby silent_riot » October 13th, 2010, 10:11 am

Are there any underdash treatments? The midrange isnt in line of sight and you'd be hearing a lot of reflections as well. This could also contribute to the smearing in imaging you mentioned.

Postby SR » October 13th, 2010, 11:02 am

soo seein u eh using the ur's anymmore bess yuh send them for me

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » October 13th, 2010, 11:10 am

they are in line of sight and that problem i was getting with the cone midrage silent..and under the dash there isnt any gaps..

and sr a man call boom squid have the URs now ... i really like those tweeter tho

jus need to do the amp rack now and that would fall in weekend

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 13th, 2010, 11:20 am

^^ yuh like them so much to break the grill ent??

Postby SR » October 13th, 2010, 12:48 pm

eh heh
and the amps...seein ah hear yuh changeover everything

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » October 13th, 2010, 5:36 pm

tha 1 hurt meh the most cuz since i get into car audio i been saving to buy those amps an it take meh a while to get all 3..

but i needed somthing smaller, lighter, more efficent so i got all class d amps

n all 3 was sold to a guy in brazil

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 13th, 2010, 5:38 pm

Pics of amps?

Postby X_Factor » October 13th, 2010, 6:18 pm

sooo after watchin ur build, i got 3 Q's for u
1) how come u changed from the OZ to the ID?....wasnt the OZ sufficient?
2) wrt to the tweeter location, how is ur imaging?...u u get reflection issues from the windscreen/a pillar plastic
3) what class d amp u running for the front?

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » October 13th, 2010, 9:11 pm

squidward pics of the amps would come weekend

xfactor- the oz played really good but the idmax has a tighter bass and blends in better with the front

the imaging i just need to set my ta again..but i get my center and left and right is pretty good..i tried tweeters on the door and i had no depth..tried them in the kicks, i tried them facing each other on the dash. i tried them firing across the dash at 60degrees and each had its own problems
i ran tweeters on the dash similiar to this once already when i competed and got decent scores for imaging but then i was 2way passive and TA couldnt hellp me much for obvious reasons

im now using a
Zed Audio Leviathan which is 150x6 @4ohm stereo
Zed Audio Kronos which is 1000@4ohm mono
Kenwood XR-4S which is 300x2@4ohm mono

the leviathan plays the midrange, tweeters and rearfill
Kronos plays the idmax
Kenwood plays the midbass

Postby X_Factor » October 13th, 2010, 9:20 pm

nice amps!

jeff

Postby jeff » October 13th, 2010, 11:09 pm

i never thought i would have been in the area but yes, this weekend i got to hear this system.

As i sat in, i heard a few phase issues. Fiddled with the slopes and crosspoints a bit, issue fixed. Changed tweet cups and played with the eq a bit also, 4-6k was pretty evident! :?

Because of the location of the mids if the seat is too far up obviously you wont see them and it would affect the sound but once the seat is back those dome mids really shocked me. As even though ive heard a few cars with domes i never got as much listening time as this. Tonality on the domes was pretty good with the output from them also very impressive! I honestly never thought domes to have output.

The Doors speakers.......last time i heard this the door speaker gave no midbass, very leaky door and poorly mounted speaker. Now these speakers sound like solid subs knocking the crap out of your knees!
Kick drums nice and forward in your chest!

The sub, at the time i didnt know what sub he had nor amps, when i saw it i wasnt surprised, idmax is prob one of the lowest playing subs i have ever heard! Very smooth and deep and loud!

Overall height is above dash, depth is a little before windshield on dash. Width is one of the standout points with the width being at least pillar width on both sides and sometimes i swear i heard it extend outwards.

Great system, sounds very dynamic and powerful, please fix the wiring :x and the install :x
Otherwise im pretty sure you can bring this down here and do pretty well!

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 13th, 2010, 11:59 pm

please fix the wiring and the install

Yes for gods sake, plez evict the rats. And ask jessica from lowes to smuggle you some

Damn rats nest..

Relly Rell

Postby Relly Rell » October 14th, 2010, 8:04 pm

Nice to see you got this put together. Looks good, Pimpin'. :)

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » October 17th, 2010, 10:37 am

ok.. i finally finished everything i believe..

things i redid..

Change Speakers and went with a Morel Elate 3way component set upfront and Morel Tempo 6.5" coaxials in the back..the only limitation i have to loudness is that sealed box lol but it gets pretty loud regardless..initally i ordered and went with dls dome midrange an waited 3 weeks for them to get in stock then after they had none i said fine.. and ended up with the morel

DLS Ultimate amps swapped.. The dls amps are great amps it hurt me alot to sell those amps as since i got into car audio i had my eyes on those an then i got it.. but i eventually swapped out to all Class D amplifiers reason being they are smaller, lighter, more power, an generally more efficent..

Changed my subwoofer- when i deliberated for weeks upon weeks on if to sell the dls i decided on the zed and the dual 4 configuration on the oz subwoofer wasnt going to work wwith the zed kronos.. i still do have that sub but its installed in trinidad in another BMW.. the idmax is tighter, more accurate and blends in with the frontstage alot better with the frontstage

Redid my doors- i simply too lazy when i did the doors initally and it wasnt sealed up as good as i thought..plus those doors frustrated the life out of me..

changed my tweeter position and tried quite a few before i settled on this location..
and the car was tuned

overall this install was 1 hell of a ride and its no joke and i learned a hell of a lot..

also i wouldve finished yesterday but my word..yesterday was the 3rd most frustrating day i had since working on that car (first 2 were working on the doors)..so i finished putting the amprack together an mounted everything then nothing turns on so started trouble shooting and tore apart the car
that was about 2 hours then it turned out to be a blown 5amp fuse which was the 12v accessory

so i got the fuse put everything back together mounted back up everything tested it..the processor wont turn on..spend another hour troubleshooting that and turned out my pactr7 started malfunctioning..so i had to drive about 20mins to the closest audio shop to get another tr7

so after all that craziness

finally mounted and bright on the zed audio LEDs is an understatement

stock flooring and carpet.. the crease is from the carpet being stored away for almos tthis whole year

Re: BMW 3 series install *COMPLETE* MORE PICS

Postby SR » October 17th, 2010, 7:51 pm

soooo why u eh put the alpine processors in the left panel where the factory changer was

or build a rack under the backdash to keep a stealth clean look in the trunk

and i using the word "clean" loosely for u eh

jessica still there?

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » October 17th, 2010, 8:10 pm

that was an idea but i cant remmeber but i think it wasnt going to fit horizontally an when tha part of the car was out i couldve installed them there but i think the data cable from the hu to the brain was too short to reach that far...plus i lazy once it working..if i was competing and it had shows this install wouldve been a lot prettier an more attention to detail i wouldve done..but is jus me an nobody seeing it so once i have no engine noise and everything good i good to go

the amps going under the back dash was an option also but all 3 wouldnt have fit..

yeah jessica was working mornings twice when i went..she looking good still buh i think she engaged or sum so i see a ring pon de finger lol

Postby SR » October 17th, 2010, 8:28 pm

oh gorm.....she go get fat now

amps good where they are was looking at the processors under the backdash

yeah i know yuh damn lazy but the cables are long enough to reach the left side panel but u will have to re route them from the head unit to get the length

carfreak1024

Postby carfreak1024 » October 18th, 2010, 6:45 pm

well i know jeff is a man that know what he talking about, if he say it sounding good it sounding good. I think one of these days when i am up i will check it myself, never heard domes in my life (EXCEPT TWEETERS).

Install looks semi stealth.

babyshaqdboss

Postby babyshaqdboss » October 19th, 2010, 2:20 pm

you got some sharp equipment cant wait to see the finished install....

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » October 22nd, 2010, 9:50 am

if you go through all 8 pages you would notice compromise after compromise after compromise..not so much the lack of proper planning but i had a vision but limitations of my car, limitations of tools and more importantly limitation in skills..as i said im no bess installer and when the sub box slides in there u dont see the processor just the back of a grey box which is the same color as the trunk carpeting

honestly i was surprised by how well the domes played.. you obviously cant cross it too low because the lack of suspension and doesnt have moving parts like a cone but if mounted near your midbass driver i dont think it would matter much

im crossing the dome midrange at 500at 24db and 6.3kat 18 or 24db cant remember..

also this install was a lot simpler an i tried to stick to the KISS code..because when its simple not too much can go wrong..
and the car is currently tuned and adjusted for me in the driving position.. even my brother said it sounds like a totally different system from the driver seat..

nothing i did was particularly hard.. just the car doors was a pain in the ass
but as i said if i competed this install wouldve had a lot more attention to detail and wouldve been a lot prettier..an i doesnt have much time on my hands since it took me almost a year to do

Sully

Postby Sully » October 22nd, 2010, 9:56 am

You can have up to 6 presets for settings for the 701. Why not tune for a demo / competition and save it in one of the presets?

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » October 25th, 2010, 10:29 am

well thats what i am in the process of doing..jus doing presets n makin little adjustments

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » October 30th, 2010, 4:15 pm

thinking of going ported now..

Sully

Postby Sully » November 1st, 2010, 6:15 am

pimptacular wrote:thinking of going ported now..

Not enough bass with the sealed enclosure?

rigman00

Postby rigman00 » November 1st, 2010, 1:05 pm

Ah man say KISS for his install yes....u clearly dnt know wat that means dude