pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » March 11th, 2010, 7:17 pm

i wonder wa u was doing in the backyard :lol:

but if your car only coulda sound as good as it fast :lol:

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » March 16th, 2010, 11:45 am

ok ..so for a lil update i got back the arc amp and its working flawless..customer service ftw..

my car getting tuned today and i nervous :|

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » March 16th, 2010, 4:42 pm

ok so i have to re aim my kicks :|

Postby SR » March 16th, 2010, 5:56 pm

:mrgreen:

relocate the tweets and if no improvement well u know what to do

door speakers need to be mounted more firmly and possible more sealed at the back or replace the door speakers

mids need to reangle for better imaging

however total sound of the system was quite good after some re tuning

tweet response could be better but he has some homewrok to do first before thinking of buying any more equipment

rigman00

Postby rigman00 » March 16th, 2010, 11:25 pm

good man....hope he learning

Postby SR » March 16th, 2010, 11:47 pm

yup very good attempt at a diy with limited tools and no help

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » March 17th, 2010, 12:30 am

2way FTW :lol:
but after you guys stopped by i started looking over my build log pictures and noticed some stuff i deffinitely need to improve on..

those tweeters more than likely are going to be moved or replaced!
especially after hearing samiir car and the difference in the staging and the location of the tweets

i going to dig into my doors and dampen it out more as well as try to chamfer it as much as possible because majority of the driver is in the stacked up baffle which i think would affect the airflow..

and re aim those midranges because when we listened to it the way it is currently getting a pretty imaging on the higher frequencies but lower frequencies of the voice it tends to get pulled to the left..when we angled it a bit upwards and to the opposite listener it became more stablized

and that was 1 of the first things shazard said needs adjustment when he listened to the car and TA wasnt set and he was on the passenger side..when you experienced you really experienced.

but in my defence i havent had any cars to use as reference or heard a car with any sort of sq set up in a very very very long time..but once again i got work to do and i intend to have it sounding better when my semester finish or when i not overloaded with work

Postby SR » March 17th, 2010, 9:44 am

if u have time b4 we leave lets drop one of the door panels and see what can be done to improve it
use samiir's car as a reference for stage depth and height

dont be discouraged the 3 way setup can work but its gonna take more time to get it right

use time alignment as the last option and not b4

once we can fix the correct angling of the drivers time aligning will come in easy and u should be able to just make minimal adjustments and notice the differences right off the bat

Postby SR » March 22nd, 2010, 10:38 pm

tweets in yet????

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » March 22nd, 2010, 10:42 pm

not yet..i trying to get some time..i have an exam this week and some papers to do..so soon as soem time free up i getting started on that and working on the doors as well cuz i have to take down the doors in anycase

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » March 22nd, 2010, 11:10 pm

tha some stuff i did to the car nothing big really but it does change the exterior quite a bit

Sully

Postby Sully » March 23rd, 2010, 7:36 am

Like you finally wash the car?

Postby SR » March 23rd, 2010, 9:10 am

who cares about the car

is the neighbour opposit in the neon we want info on

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 23rd, 2010, 9:23 am

*subscribed*

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » March 23rd, 2010, 8:48 pm

SR wrote:who cares about the car

is the neighbour opposit in the neon we want info on

i eh seeing she so..friday she might be outside with the children...iif u think she bess you should see the milf that living by the house with the corvette nex door..she always running around the block with her dogs in a tight shorts..

a day she dog run away and come by meh and i talk to she..but i was hoping she husband had to travel on business from time to time but he dont :cry:

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 23rd, 2010, 8:52 pm

:puppydogeyes:

Postby SR » March 23rd, 2010, 8:56 pm

big pimpin ah goin on in pembroke pines

jessica in lowe's

:faint:

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 23rd, 2010, 9:01 pm

:sucks:

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » April 16th, 2010, 7:48 am

so i looking for some advice..what can i do to help fix my focus issues?
i have a pretty flexible sound processor.. i get a pretty decent center but it fluctuates and gets pulled to the left at times anyone care to shed some light on what i can do to correct this?

n no the tweeters didnt go in yet end of the semester nearing :mrgreen:

Sully

Postby Sully » April 16th, 2010, 9:34 am

Is it that the center moves with a change in frequency?

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » April 16th, 2010, 9:35 am

yup thats the one..posting it here in hope that other people would chip in and maybe learn something

jeff

Postby jeff » April 16th, 2010, 10:52 am

state cross over points

if you have no tweets is it just the midrange playing?

Postby SR » April 16th, 2010, 12:36 pm

question is

did you change those pods and angles of those mids??
also did i install the new tweets and whats the angle of the tweets in refference to the angle of the mids

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » April 16th, 2010, 6:31 pm

well ive been doing some research outta laziness just not to play around with speaker positioning to try and find a way..and i still havent done the tweets, end of the semester which is in 2 weeks

but none the less, the positioning if when i do change them 1 positioning i am going to try is angling them upwards the sunroof screen handle
the positioning of the tweeters i can run them completely off axis firing them across at each other on the dash because of the pedestal , i think thaz how u told me to try them out when testing it out...cept u said to put them on the pillar and when i looked at the positioning its alot easier to mount onto the dash with some double sided tape or something to that matter

as for jeff xover points ive been fiddling around with trying to see if i cud find any solution through processing is 200hp, 3.2lp on the midranges each at 24db slopes
and all my slopes are 24db and no over lapping..

i also tried it trying to point source at 180 and 8k at 24db

i know my currents tweeters are a flaw in the system after much listening,
and what happens is that the center fluctuates according to the frequency where it gets pulled to the left at lower notes but at higher notes it pretty dead on

jeff

Postby jeff » April 16th, 2010, 7:05 pm

i may only suggest on what i am seeing in the install

because the midranges are not all the way to the sides and are 90 degrees in front, this may lead to beaming of upper midrange frequencies and may cause issues with imaging. To help with this you can either angle the midrange where it is now, or place the midranges all the way into the kick panels.

after you have done either you may then proceed to electronically delay the speakers according to bandwidth. This is done to avoid different freqs "pulling"

Sully

Postby Sully » April 19th, 2010, 6:06 am

jeff wrote: To help with this you can either angle the midrange where it is now ..."pulling"

This isn't new news to him, but I understand the lack of time that he's dealing with right now. Hopefully in about 3 weeks he should have a solution.

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » April 26th, 2010, 11:25 am

so today i was stuck in traffic and was bored so turned off my tweeters and bump the xover on the midranges up to like 18k

and the center stablized a bit more and actually sounded better without the tweeters :|
but i still going to redo those half ass pods tho
suffered badly from the rainbow effect

ive always heard people talk about how important tweeters are to staging but never anything really about imaging..and after some thought speaker placement really that critical, i always figured u could get away being a little lazy and let ur processing make up for the rest specially with TA but jeeze i honestly never thought 3way would be this frustrating! :x
Last edited by pimptacular on April 26th, 2010, 11:32 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby SR » April 26th, 2010, 11:30 am

i take it the new tweets not in as yet

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » April 26th, 2010, 11:35 am

end of the semester :oops:
workin on that car is my mission when the semester finishes this week :mrgreen: