moti wrote:nice car dude
MG Man wrote:lookin good
Welcome to MY world!...MG Man wrote:... you might consider a Mitsubishi Starion rear end
moti wrote:why? to keep the suspension all mitsu?
Yup... but only if you also use the rear floor-pan from the Starion as well.MG Man wrote:... starion supposed to e a reasonably easy swap
IMHO that's a lot of work with limited results compared to a well set-up Starion I.R.S.Razkal wrote:... shorten... cut and re-spline axles...
Sanctifier wrote:IMHO the standard Lancer 1800 GSR is NOT ideal for quick, consistent driving.
When you add these issues...
Imprecise, lurid throttle oversteer...
Terminal understeer "at and beyond the limit" of tyre adhesion.
Constant brake fade...
Sloppy steering and "Turn-in" (with 3.xx turns lock-to-lock)
... so while I'm no Makinen, my opinion on "Lancer handling" is formed from long-term use, driving different configurations of the same basic platform.
Sanctifier wrote:The MOST important reason to use a Starion IRS is that IT FITS WITHOUT FLARES!...
(So does a Silvia IRS... but the Starion floor-pan may be an easier fit.)
... 1,455 mm (Starion) - 1,355 mm (Lancer 1800 GSR) = 100 mm/2
50 mm per side = 1.97"... Less than 2" difference per side.
And that is with the Starion's SHP 9" wide rear rims.
Sanctifier wrote:Lancer 1800 GTX Specifications:
Engine ...........4G93 - 1.8L, DOHC, In-line 4-cylinder Turbo Motor.
....................205 ps [151 kW (203 bhp)] @ 6,000 rpm / 275 Nm (203 lb.-ft.) @ 3000 rpm / Redline = 8,500 rpm.
Gearbox ..........Starion 5-speed OR Lancer 1800 GSR 5-speed. (both available.)
Drive-train ......Starion LSD, (3.545:1) with torque-tube and drive-shaft.
Steering ........Lancer 1800 GSR Power Steering-box swapped for Power "Rack & Pinion." (Model undecided.)
...........................![]()
Front Suspension .Starion: MacPherson struts, coil-springs, dampers, anti-roll bar, Lower Control Arms.
...................... .. "Hi-Caster" Top Spring Perches to reduce understeer.
Rear Suspension ..Starion: Independent Rear Suspension - (The key to taming the "wild" throttle oversteer.)
.............................. MacPherson struts, coil-springs, dampers, "Trailing" A-Arms, anti-roll bar.![]()
... Before ---------------> After!
Brakes ................Starion Rotors (ft. & rr.) - cross-drilled (unfortunately) & slotted.
.........................Evolution 8 Calipers - Front: 4-pot Brembo.
.........................Evolution 8 Calipers - Rear: 2-pot Brembo.
Handbrake.......... .. Wilwood or Brembo Handbrake Calipers.
Rims & Tyres .......Starion 16" x 8" ET+18 / PCD xxx / 5-stud... Tyres: - 225/50 x 16"
"Bling!": .............Power "Slide &/or Tilt" Sun-roof - ex-4WD Lancer 1800 GSR (CM5A)
.........................Power Windows - ex-4WD Lancer 1800 GSR (CM5A)
cookiemonstar wrote: i wanted to do sumtin different..... all men talk bout is SR this and SR that. not saying anythig wrong with SR eh!! but i more like an RB.
Also available in salvage yards throughout USA (& eBay)... Check Florida (lower shipping.) It will be even cheaper if you get someone to go to the salvage yard with a "Sawsall." (DIY on holiday or "US local contact.")
I waited (and waited) for 1989 "wide-body" parts... but there are other options.
Now on eBay... 1987 Conquests... Links ---> $1,200 US ... $2,400 US...
With "Premium" @ $5.75/litre, I REALLY want a user-friendly, brilliant handling & stopping "hybrid" with excellent milage as a "Daily Driver." (I'll use the Evo 6 on weekends only... It will stay "younger" that way too.)Sanctifier wrote:Yuh gotta pay for your chips to get in the game!
Link--> "GroceryGetter!" - Lancer 1800 GTX (A175X.)Sanctifier wrote:OEM (stock) 4G93T with SUPER HD Starion 5-speed, drivetrain & LSD...
PLUS Brembos off an Evo 8... PLUS the same "tyre contact patch" as an Evo 7-9.
203 bhp & 203 lb-ft in less than 2,700 lbs. Hopefully that will give me what I want...
+/- 130mph (209 kph)... 0-60 = +/- 6.5 sec... 35-38 m.p.g ON SUPER! (with water/meth injection)
We'll see.
Talibanmafia wrote:IF Interested to see it done i'm doing one for a friend,he has a red top s13 sr20det.
525isport wrote:cookiemonstar wrote: i wanted to do sumtin different..... all men talk bout is SR this and SR that. not saying anythig wrong with SR eh!! but i more like an RB.
i had the same idea when i started my project. RB all the way . car looks good man its not easy to fit the 6 in that small space but ,i think its worth it .
Razkal wrote:really nice lancer you got there OP!
sanctifier, where locally can the starion rear end be sourced? how affordable is it and how accessible are parts?
those are my main questions dealing with that irs.
i was advising, based on seeing an s13 rear irs swap and a shortened 720 setup, for drag racing, it worked awesome. turns out OP was more daily use in store...
i'm always in favour of an IRS swap though...went full FC with my first gen rx7...feels like a kart now
speed wrote:i hav a rb25det in my lancer check my thread viewtopic.php?f=25&t=409358