PORSCHE
SKODA
SSANG YONGSUBARU
SUZUKI
TOYOTA
VOLKSWAGEN
VOLVO
ZHEJIANG
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
BRAND NEW PICKUPS AVAILABLE BUT NOT FROM THE AUTHORIZED DEALERSHIP:
Toyota Hilux Vigo Champ 4x2
$289,000.00
Nissan Frontier Navara LE
$290,000.00
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
scotty_buttons wrote:It really helps if your vehicle has a real time fuel economy gauge thingy too! Not sure of the proper name.
But once u keep your revs lower than 3000rpm, yuh pocket would be happier and heavier.
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:not bad 16 cycles...under Volkswagen every vehicle with TSI/TFSI in the list as well as the Tiguans use premium. I'm not sure about the Polo.
Stephon. wrote:All mazda vehicles apart from the bt 50s use premium.
The tiida uses premium. The corolla is supposed to use premium too. I THINK the elantra and cerato uses super. I could be wrong on those last two though. Good job on the list.
4Motion wrote:Stephon. wrote:All mazda vehicles apart from the bt 50s use premium.
The tiida uses premium. The corolla is supposed to use premium too. I THINK the elantra and cerato uses super. I could be wrong on those last two though. Good job on the list.
I know the new Mazda engines use gasoline direct injection and have an high compression ratio, creating the Premium fuel recommendation.
I'm very surprised about the Tiida and Corolla. I wonder if that applies to the whole Nissan and Toyota line up.
PS. An ad for you car is on TV as I write this. Talking Mazda SkyActive Technology lol
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Can you envisage yourself buying a brand new vehicle...that uses cng?
Rory Phoulorie wrote:Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Can you envisage yourself buying a brand new vehicle...that uses cng?
Yes. I can also envisage converting my car to also run on CNG depending on what the Government does with the "Super" price.
Nikki wrote:most of those prices are incorrect as of 03/10/12
acesinghit wrote:Nikki well post the new prices nah!!
Stephon....so the 2.0 skyactiv 3 is coming next year? If so then at what price? 260k?
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:I think if it was an issue with extended use they would put that note in the manual as well. They would state that "91 can be used but shouldn't be used for extended periods" or something to that effect in plain english to cover their behind. The reason they say use 95 is because you will get the performance specs they claim on the brochure basically. If it can run on 91 minimum then super exceeds this and you should be fine.
Stephon. wrote:acesinghit wrote:Nikki well post the new prices nah!!
Stephon....so the 2.0 skyactiv 3 is coming next year? If so then at what price? 260k?
It should be if they want to compete with Mistubishi and their 2.0 Lancer but knowing the people we dealing with here, don't be surprised at a 270 - 275 price bracket, also the new Mazda 6 is going to cost around 225 - 235
scotty_buttons wrote:Stephon. wrote:acesinghit wrote:Nikki well post the new prices nah!!
It should be if they want to compete with Mistubishi and their 2.0 Lancer but knowing the people we dealing with here, don't be surprised at a 270 - 275 price bracket, also the new Mazda 6 is going to cost around 225 - 235
New Mazda 6 is 225-235?? Think u made a mistake there bro
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:just to clarify: Jetta 1.4 TSI AND Passat with 1.8 TSI use 95 for optimum power output. VW states that the minimum RON they can use is 91 BUT they will run with reduced power output due to changes in timing via the ECU. Wooohooo. I no longer need to walk on silk.
ek4ever wrote:How about using Super with octane booster? Will that work for those of us looking to move away from Premium?
In most cases engines can use a range of gasoline, usually 91-95 RON. The engine will compensate if it detects knocking and retard ignition timing. Of course this will reduce engine output. My owners manual recommends 95RON for the B16A but says you can use 91 if 95 is not available. The problem is it does not say use 91 instead of 95. This leads me to believe that you can use 91 occasionally if 95 is not available in an area where you need to refuel .... applicable if you live in big countries and fuel products vary from location to location.
That being said any1 running Super in their B16A for extended durations? Any issues?
ek4ever wrote:Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:I think if it was an issue with extended use they would put that note in the manual as well. They would state that "91 can be used but shouldn't be used for extended periods" or something to that effect in plain english to cover their behind. The reason they say use 95 is because you will get the performance specs they claim on the brochure basically. If it can run on 91 minimum then super exceeds this and you should be fine.
Well now you bring up a related question ... what exactly is the octane rating of Super? It says 91 on the pump
nemesis wrote:Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:just to clarify: Jetta 1.4 TSI AND Passat with 1.8 TSI use 95 for optimum power output. VW states that the minimum RON they can use is 91 BUT they will run with reduced power output due to changes in timing via the ECU. Wooohooo. I no longer need to walk on silk.
That's from the manual? Same for A4's then I guess? You should test that during the day. Last time a manual on a Euro said that it worked at night, but not so well during the day.ek4ever wrote:How about using Super with octane booster? Will that work for those of us looking to move away from Premium?
In most cases engines can use a range of gasoline, usually 91-95 RON. The engine will compensate if it detects knocking and retard ignition timing. Of course this will reduce engine output. My owners manual recommends 95RON for the B16A but says you can use 91 if 95 is not available. The problem is it does not say use 91 instead of 95. This leads me to believe that you can use 91 occasionally if 95 is not available in an area where you need to refuel .... applicable if you live in big countries and fuel products vary from location to location.
That being said any1 running Super in their B16A for extended durations? Any issues?
Yes some Octane boosters do help. Most will not make up for starting with 95 though. And I don't see how you can use 91 sometimes but not consistently? If it worked at certain times that would more likely be due to driving style/external conditions. If you can get it to work in extreme heat while driving hard, then it should be able to work all the time no?