SUMMIT Traffic Advisories & Restrictions - 19.04.09

slick

Postby slick » April 8th, 2009, 4:04 pm

[quote="norstar2k"]Commander Waldron explains “that vehicles will be restricted during the passage of the convoys along the route but once they have passed, the normal flow of traffic will continueâ€

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » April 9th, 2009, 1:35 pm

so nothing tomorrow right?
Saw it in red in a post above...just confirming...cause I have to go to the airport tomorrow.

Postby pete » April 9th, 2009, 3:12 pm

I thought they're going to be restricting access to the airport from tomorrow until the morning of the 20th.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » April 9th, 2009, 3:16 pm

No CT9A wrote:so nothing tomorrow right?
Saw it in red in a post above...just confirming...cause I have to go to the airport tomorrow.

Effective tomorrow, Friday 10th April to midnight 15th April, the Police (and Military) shall be conducting regular checks along the BWIA Boulevard and Golden Grove road.

No actual physical checkpoints shall be set up until midnight of the 15th April. The current road/traffic plan remains the same until 12:01am 16th April.

Effective 12:01am 16th April to 6:00am Tuesday 21st full checkpoints shall be in effect.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » April 10th, 2009, 11:09 am

06 Days, 12 Hours, 51 Minutes, 29 Seconds Until the 5th Summit of the Americas

Swiftguy

Postby Swiftguy » April 10th, 2009, 11:41 am

the highway by Piarco Airport have any checkpoints

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » April 10th, 2009, 1:47 pm

Swiftguy wrote:the highway by Piarco Airport have any checkpoints

I just passed thru and I didn't see any police or signage anywhere. And, as I said before there will be no 'checkpoints' just checks along the route. A 'checkpoint' is a physical manned post. I hope that clears that up. :)

Hybrid Singh

Postby Hybrid Singh » April 10th, 2009, 9:36 pm

Buh wah d mudder c is this, I wonder if we will benefit from this summit of incovenience.

coolfiger

Postby coolfiger » April 11th, 2009, 7:25 am

this sux i gota pick up my mom in the airport on the 16th at 12 pm LOL

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » April 11th, 2009, 8:47 am

coolfiger wrote:this sux i gota pick up my mom in the airport on the 16th at 12 pm LOL

Picking up or dropping off anyone is not an issue, just leave the 3 canal or any other 'weapon' at home :)

N_A_K

Postby N_A_K » April 11th, 2009, 9:15 am

norstar2k wrote:
coolfiger wrote:this sux i gota pick up my mom in the airport on the 16th at 12 pm LOL

Picking up or dropping off anyone is not an issue, just leave the 3 canal or any other 'weapon' at home :)

*goes to take out cutlass,hatchet,baton from van*

DRAGULA

Postby DRAGULA » April 11th, 2009, 9:35 am

any body know fo sure when exactly these traffic restrictions will go into effect and until when? I hear from 12am wed morning until 6pm mon evening. Anybody could confirm? If so is real stress fo people who workin pos :evil:

originalbling

Postby originalbling » April 11th, 2009, 10:35 am

Check today's Guardian - there is a pullout with a map and other key info.

any body know fo sure when exactly these traffic restrictions will go into effect and until when

Most of this info has already been posted on page 1 of this thread.
Last edited by originalbling on April 11th, 2009, 10:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » April 11th, 2009, 7:34 pm

^^In every briefing session there has been variations in these times, but understand delegates begin arrival from the 15th so I'm sure you can figure out when to expect restrictions.

Also, Piarco Police are working with the close off time of 6:00am Tuesday 21st., not 12:00am on Monday 20th April. I have to work with their times.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » April 11th, 2009, 7:58 pm

05 Days, 04 Hours, 02 Minutes, 35 Seconds Until the 5th Summit of the Americas

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » April 13th, 2009, 11:02 am

All yuh talkin about the map which leave out pembroke street?

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » April 13th, 2009, 1:20 pm

03 Days, 10 Hours, 41 Minutes, 04 Seconds Until the 5th Summit of the Americas

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » April 13th, 2009, 1:34 pm

Word of advice to all, with the Regional Security System (RSS) activated, the CARICOM forces (Police/Military) have been given the same powers as our local law enforcement officers. So try to avoid any unnecessary interaction if you know what I mean.

Mini

Postby Mini » April 14th, 2009, 8:27 am

what day/ time do the restrictions cease?... specifically wrightson road and lady young road

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » April 14th, 2009, 8:49 am

Mini wrote:what day/ time do the restrictions cease?... specifically wrightson road and lady young road

All delegates are expected out by the 19th. Straddlers are expected though.

Restrictions were expected to cease by Monday 12:00am, but the Piarco Police are claiming 6:00am on Tuesday.

Mini

Postby Mini » April 14th, 2009, 9:57 am

norstar2k wrote:
Mini wrote:what day/ time do the restrictions cease?... specifically wrightson road and lady young road

All delegates are expected out by the 19th. Straddlers are expected though.

Restrictions were expected to cease by Monday 12:00am, but the Piarco Police are claiming 6:00am on Tuesday.

damn...

but wait... what day does school open? the 20th?

`psycho

Postby `psycho » April 14th, 2009, 11:23 am

Effective 12:01am Thursday 16th April to 6:00am Tuesday 21st full checkpoints shall be in effect.

pack lunch in alyah car

0awg

Postby 0awg » April 15th, 2009, 8:11 am

*packs lunch*

2moro is half day work.

I diving out asap.

Postby wagonrunner » April 15th, 2009, 8:33 am

norstar2k wrote:Word of advice to all, with the Regional Security System (RSS) activated, the CARICOM forces (Police/Military) have been given the same powers as our local law enforcement officers. So try to avoid any unnecessary interaction if you know what I mean.

doh bother leaving south to go chaguaramas / DDI then?

saltydog
CARS Member

Postby saltydog » April 15th, 2009, 8:49 am

^^no DDI is out unless you get accreditation and passes from the coast guard. Cannot go past the heliport

Postby wagonrunner » April 15th, 2009, 9:04 am

saltydog,
thanks,

heliport being the national museum? (miss universe / plane on compound)
and what kinda hassle to get to tucker valley road?

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » April 15th, 2009, 9:37 am

`psycho wrote:Effective 12:01am Thursday 16th April to 6:00am Tuesday 21st full checkpoints shall be in effect.

pack lunch in alyah car

To accommodate the startup of the new school term:

Effective 12:01am Thursday 16th April to 11:59am Sunday 19th Full Checkpoints shall be in effect.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » April 15th, 2009, 11:38 am

norstakr in terms of the highways yes full checks from 12 tomorrow night , what about conversion of the carriage ways form tom or this evening ?

dredman1

Re: SUMMIT Traffic Advisories & Restrictions - 12.04.09

Postby dredman1 » April 15th, 2009, 2:00 pm

norstar2k wrote:VSOA - FIFTH SUMMIT OF THE AMERICAS

Current Activities:
Effective Friday 10th April to midnight 15th April, the Police (and Military) shall be conducting regular checks along the BWIA Boulevard and Golden Grove road.

No actual physical checkpoints shall be set up until midnight of the 15th April. The current road/traffic plan remains the same until 12:01am 16th April.

Effective 12:01am Thursday 16th April to 6:00am Tuesday 21st full checkpoints shall be in effect.

norstar2k wrote:^^In every briefing session there has been variations in these times, but understand delegates begin arrival from the 15th so I'm sure you can figure out when to expect restrictions.

OK. I've been hearing people saying so many different things, and read the notice on page 31 of today's Express that traffic restrictions start from April 17th. :?: Also, it seems the notice has an error since it says the route reverts to normalcy on April 18th.

So does this now mean the restrictions from Piarco to the lighthouse do not commence from 12.01am on Thursday 16 April, since this was the impression I got from all I've been hearing and reading previously?

shoobaayyy!!!

Postby shoobaayyy!!! » April 15th, 2009, 3:23 pm

POS 2 south and bak iz rel drama,d 'random security cheks' happend @7 in d morn and 5 in d evnin.now those hu got searched in d morn wile goin 2 work would kno 4a fact that they themselves wud b coming bak @ abt 5pm. REDUNDANCY AND POLICE STUPIDITY R NOW @ AN ALL TIME HIGH