T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

drchaos

Re: T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Postby drchaos » May 23rd, 2024, 2:58 pm

Habit7 wrote:Well EVs are far cheaper to maintain than ICE. It has been a few years now and with the new wave of Chinese vehicles that have come into the country, I haven't heard of horror stories yet. But the local BYD is offering 6yrs warranty which I believe is unmatched by any local dealer. That is a near maintenance free car if you ask me, sell it after 6yrs.

I’ll pass
Would never touch the seal since it’s wildly overpriced
That car sells for 50k usd worldwide. Which is 340k ttd
No warranty is worth 210k ttd
If I ever wanted one I’ll bring it in myself. What ever repairs it needs in the first 6 year would never come up to 210k ttd.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » May 23rd, 2024, 3:27 pm

Yep way over priced. Let them keep their vehicle

Postby Habit7 » May 23rd, 2024, 4:50 pm

drchaos wrote:
Habit7 wrote:Well EVs are far cheaper to maintain than ICE. It has been a few years now and with the new wave of Chinese vehicles that have come into the country, I haven't heard of horror stories yet. But the local BYD is offering 6yrs warranty which I believe is unmatched by any local dealer. That is a near maintenance free car if you ask me, sell it after 6yrs.

I’ll pass
Would never touch the seal since it’s wildly overpriced
That car sells for 50k usd worldwide. Which is 340k ttd
No warranty is worth 210k ttd
If I ever wanted one I’ll bring it in myself. What ever repairs it needs in the first 6 year would never come up to 210k ttd.

Yes, that price is wild, it's like if they have a 3.0L engine they have to pay taxes for.

BYD has a US$10,000 EV that is predicted to undercut the market. In TT they might sell it for TT$199,999.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » May 23rd, 2024, 5:22 pm

Probably closer to 250k just like what they doing with the Hilux Champ.

zando

Postby zando » June 13th, 2024, 1:26 pm

So tell me something, based on this article, how in the name of all that is Rowley, they charging high prices for Chinese cars still?

https://www.autoblog.com/2024/06/12/eur ... ffs-to-38/

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 13th, 2024, 9:06 pm

zando wrote:So tell me something, based on this article, how in the name of all that is Rowley, they charging high prices for Chinese cars still?

https://www.autoblog.com/2024/06/12/eur ... ffs-to-38/

Protectionism at its best. They can't compete so they raise the taxes. China will suffer but will have to grow their domestic consumption and dump the rest on the third world. Which would mean lower EV prices for us.

But our stealerships will never pass those saving and price drops to us.

hindian

Postby hindian » June 20th, 2024, 6:46 pm

What’s the going price of the new Dmax anybody? Base model automatic 4x4 and fully loaded automatic 4x4. Thanks.

zando

Postby zando » June 21st, 2024, 8:25 am

hindian wrote:What’s the going price of the new Dmax anybody? Base model automatic 4x4 and fully loaded automatic 4x4. Thanks.
Southernsalea website have the prices, just download the brochure and it'll tell you. www.southernsalestt.com

Capleton

Postby Capleton » June 25th, 2024, 1:34 pm

zando wrote:
hindian wrote:What’s the going price of the new Dmax anybody? Base model automatic 4x4 and fully loaded automatic 4x4. Thanks.
Southernsalea website have the prices, just download the brochure and it'll tell you. http://www.southernsalestt.com

I just checked and there is no pricing on the brochures. Not sure if i'm looking in the right place.

zando

Postby zando » June 27th, 2024, 3:43 pm

Capleton wrote:
zando wrote:
Southernsalea website have the prices, just download the brochure and it'll tell you. http://www.southernsalestt.com

I just checked and there is no pricing on the brochures. Not sure if i'm looking in the right place.
Hmmm I just checked, seems they removed the pricing for some reason so you'd most likely have to call a rep.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » June 30th, 2024, 11:38 am

ProtonPowder wrote:Probably closer to 250k just like what they doing with the Hilux Champ.

Thats a disgrace to call that ugly vehicle a hilux....
its because of the hilux badge that local dealers what to make a killing with that
I wanna see which dotish person in Tdad gonna rock that 1st

Postby *$kїđž!™ » June 30th, 2024, 11:39 am

bdw..prices and vehicles on page 1 needs some updating

Postby j.o.e » June 30th, 2024, 7:17 pm

*$kїđž![emoji769] wrote:
ProtonPowder wrote:Probably closer to 250k just like what they doing with the Hilux Champ.

Thats a disgrace to call that ugly vehicle a hilux....
its because of the hilux badge that local dealers what to make a killing with that
I wanna see which dotish person in Tdad gonna rock that 1st

It’s a commercial vehicle and a hilux is just a work van. Only trinis think a hilux is a Lexus or something

Postby Dizzy28 » July 3rd, 2024, 12:22 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:bdw..prices and vehicles on page 1 needs some updating

Since Agent 007 no longer around I don't believe prices have been updated with any level of regularity.
I wouldn't use them as a reference point anymore.

noobie

Postby noobie » July 24th, 2024, 11:32 am

Yeah, was actually looking for the BYD prices and some of the other EVs like the MG X Power etc.

Capleton

Postby Capleton » July 25th, 2024, 11:53 am

noobie wrote:

Yeah, was actually looking for the BYD prices and some of the other EVs like the MG X Power etc.

Off the top of my head:

- KGM Torres EVX - $375K (10 year / 1,000,000km battery warranty) uses the new BYD Blade 2 battery pack
- Hyundai Ioniq 5 - $409K
- Hyundai Kona EV - $389K
- MG ZS - $265K - 285K
- MG4 - $249K - $299K
- BYD Yuan Plus - $395K
- BYD Dolphin - $325K
- BYD Seal - $550K
- GWM Ora - $350K - $375K
- Mini SE (EV) 3 Dr - $350K

Not sure if pricing may have changed on some of the models. Feel free to correct me.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 25th, 2024, 12:54 pm

BV overpriced right now in TT

Forget it

Sent from my SM-A325M using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby Dizzy28 » July 26th, 2024, 10:46 am

Been window shopping for the past few months and man the pricing structure of new vehicles plus the indifference of sales reps has been quite offputting.

Currently have an SUV which is 4WD drive and want to remain in that class however all the good options out now are closer to 400k in price.
Went to ANSA in April looked at Honda and Mitsubishi with the same person, asked for extra info and yet to receive it to this day despite leaving my call card containg my email and mobile #. I'm sure the fact the CRVs selling themselves is partly to blame.

Went to Massy in May and at least that rep sent a pro forma and updates on new shipment arrivals although the test drive which is what I really want hasn't happened yet.

Toyota's rep wasn't that bad and my own timing has been the hold back on doing a test drive on the Rav 4. However the fact the basic Rav4 is just under $400k and the mid spec is around $427k is a real deal breaker for me.

Tezzadude

Postby Tezzadude » July 26th, 2024, 9:03 pm

Wtf is a gwm ora and you all buying cars named seal, dolphin and juan plus? Pls tell me it still have sensible people on these socials. 400 and 550k for disposable vehicles? I dont feel sorry for anyone buying all them hyundai, kia, gwm, mg, sangyong, proton, haval and byd sheit. These buyers literally bought into sheit and then they does come on social media to complain and contact lawyer when said sheit start to give trouble. Like what exactly did you all expect? You buy the rav4, fortuner and prado which are the agamemnons of the suv world. It's build and name will last through the ages. Those are expensive cause good ting no cheap. I just couldn't afford those so I ended up going cx5. The cx5 better looking and cheaper than the rav4 with a better transmission and it coming from Japan.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » July 27th, 2024, 6:45 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Been window shopping for the past few months and man the pricing structure of new vehicles plus the indifference of sales reps has been quite offputting.

Currently have an SUV which is 4WD drive and want to remain in that class however all the good options out now are closer to 400k in price.
Went to ANSA in April looked at Honda and Mitsubishi with the same person, asked for extra info and yet to receive it to this day despite leaving my call card containg my email and mobile #. I'm sure the fact the CRVs selling themselves is partly to blame.

Went to Massy in May and at least that rep sent a pro forma and updates on new shipment arrivals although the test drive which is what I really want hasn't happened yet.

Toyota's rep wasn't that bad and my own timing has been the hold back on doing a test drive on the Rav 4. However the fact the basic Rav4 is just under $400k and the mid spec is around $427k is a real deal breaker for me.
Have you considered Mazda? Don't think it's 4wd but they are nicely appointed and cheaper. Model due for a refresh soon though

Tezzadude

Postby Tezzadude » July 28th, 2024, 1:37 pm

As an owner now, I would recommend that you import your own CX5 from Japan. Don't give Southern Sales your money until they spec our cars properly. The wheels we get are 19x7 on 225 width tires. The brake rotors are 11.7 inches up front. Really pathetic specs from a company that is trying to target BMW. As soon as my tires are all worn out, I'm getting myself some 8.5 rims with some Potenza's. The rotors will also be upgraded, and I'll probably do a remap one time. Remember, when you buy a new vehicle, you must service with the stealer to keep your warranty, and you basically cannot do any upgrades during that warranty period. Self import is the way to go.

Postby Dizzy28 » July 29th, 2024, 10:33 am

metalgear2095 wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:Been window shopping for the past few months and man the pricing structure of new vehicles plus the indifference of sales reps has been quite offputting.

Have you considered Mazda? Don't think it's 4wd but they are nicely appointed and cheaper. Model due for a refresh soon though

Did look at SS's line of CX5s. Only holdback and its really a dumb reason - my sister has one so I really would try for something different.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 29th, 2024, 11:02 am

metalgear2095 wrote:

Did look at SS's line of CX5s. Only holdback and its really a dumb reason - my sister has one so I really would try for something different.
Good if you have the same vehicle . My brother and I bought hilux, and it worked out great

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » July 29th, 2024, 11:35 am

metalgear2095 wrote:

That is really dumb. Knowing someone with the vehicle is great.

Postby Dizzy28 » July 29th, 2024, 1:14 pm

metalgear2095 wrote:

That is really dumb. Knowing someone with the vehicle is great.

Her experience with SS was pretty bad though ah.
She ended up going San Fernando during warranty bc PoS refused to deal with some issues.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 29th, 2024, 3:06 pm

Got you but the reason not to buy should not be because she has one.

Postby A172 » July 29th, 2024, 3:20 pm

Tezzadude wrote:As an owner now, I would recommend that you import your own CX5 from Japan. Don't give Southern Sales your money until they spec our cars properly. The wheels we get are 19x7 on 225 width tires. The brake rotors are 11.7 inches up front. Really pathetic specs from a company that is trying to target BMW. As soon as my tires are all worn out, I'm getting myself some 8.5 rims with some Potenza's. The rotors will also be upgraded, and I'll probably do a remap one time. Remember, when you buy a new vehicle, you must service with the stealer to keep your warranty, and you basically cannot do any upgrades during that warranty period. Self import is the way to go.
where you getting USD/cash to self import?

Tezzadude

Postby Tezzadude » July 29th, 2024, 4:10 pm

Rbl has capped ccards at 5k per billing cycle. That is 3 swipes for me over 3 months to settle the exporters invoice. Some exporters shipping the car for you one time so by the time it reach, you would have completed payment for them to dhl the documents required to clear the vehicle and license same.

Scotia is 3k a month. I switched to rbl because you get more from them. You can also wait in line for a small allocation during that time from your bankers which goes a long way in reducing the invoice amount.

If I have friends and family who can easily lend me their cards to settle usd invoices then I'm sure many people can do that too. My in-laws and my parents have ccards with large limits and they don't even shop online or travel. There are multiple ways to find the usd cash, the main thing is to have the ttd to back it up.

Postby A172 » July 29th, 2024, 4:33 pm

yh is the TTD i getting at

majority of people have to rely on car loans to be able to get a new car so self-import is not a realistic option for most of the car-buying population

Tezzadude

Postby Tezzadude » July 29th, 2024, 5:34 pm

Yeah well I took a loan for my 5. The way it works at my job is either you take the money or let them lease the car for you for 4yrs. So I took the money to throw 70% of it on a 8yrs loan. The 30% would be used for insurance and service. What I should have done was self import. It would have significantly reduced my cash reserves but at least I would have had almost 6k a month just being dumped into my account. In 3 years I would have built back up my cash position on a debt free car.