P11 SR20VVL sedan mods/troubleshooting

JesuEric

P11 SR20VVL sedan mods/troubleshooting

Postby JesuEric » May 14th, 2014, 10:45 pm

hey guys I recently did a conversion from a QG18 to SR20VVL CVT Tiptronic

compared to some stories the conversion went well except two things:-

-the transmission harness has a jack/the shifter has a jack for a separate box to engage the tiptronic. This box was never received so I went back to the place and they only had a box with 12 pins as aposed to 20 which my friend (electrical engineer) said : therefore no tiptronic atm.

-Secondly I got some bad idles at realized there was a crack on the MAF sensor housing and a vacuum leak in a line. After fixing these issues the car runsss...I maxed it out between the flyover by Maritime to Jus at the start of beetham which was impressive.

Currently I have a ractive cone filter, iridium plugs, The engine came with extractors from 4-2-1 at 1.75 inches and I jus took out the catyalic converter.

I personally find the acceleration is sluggish then after 80 it pulls like a monster. I get rough idle at times but all mounts are fine.

What mods should I do to increase Acceleration and is there any problems yall think about that can be holding back accel???
Last edited by JesuEric on June 1st, 2014, 4:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Ravi gtr

Re: P11 SR20VVL sedan mods

Postby Ravi gtr » May 14th, 2014, 10:58 pm

If transmission not good it well do that

JesuEric

Postby JesuEric » May 14th, 2014, 11:04 pm

then how does it pull so good after 80? explain lil moreeee

JesuEric

Postby JesuEric » May 15th, 2014, 11:35 pm

anyone? fuel upgrade air upgrade sum easy sum obvious about VE lacking

Puppetman

Postby Puppetman » May 18th, 2014, 9:32 pm

possible wiring issue- who did the install?....
is supa u using?

Postby Ted_v2 » May 18th, 2014, 10:00 pm

Try and see if you can get the transmission working properly. If not and you going auto try to get one of those cable type transmission. They work nice.
The cvt is nicely matched with the ve.
The next best thing is a manual box.

Did you change your fuel pump also?

JesuEric

Postby JesuEric » May 19th, 2014, 7:51 am

changed fuel pump, used premium whole time until yesterday I used super with an Octane boost.

Also: Cleaned throttle body, Cleaned IACV, Changed plugs,

what I have noticed is that this is on and off as in at times it pulls great den after 5 mins is back to sluggish. I searched and looked around and I seeing possible ignition timing problems?

On the distributer itself there's a knob that can be moved up or down a played with it last night and wen I position it to the middle or just above the middle I get improvement.

Still learning about this engine

JesuEric

Postby JesuEric » May 19th, 2014, 8:04 am

Puppetman wrote:possible wiring issue- who did the install?....
is supa u using?

my friend the electrical engineer but he does this as well and did it for a long time with other people and all his cars

JesuEric

Postby JesuEric » May 21st, 2014, 12:44 pm

Someone mentioned ignition timin off possibly so I adjusted it to TDC and I got some knocks so I went slightly advanced from TDC car gave acceleration I was expecting but only for a short time it went back to sluggish helpppp

muddgutts

Postby muddgutts » May 24th, 2014, 12:33 am

How long was the downtime in total to do the entire swap from qg to sr?

JesuEric

Postby JesuEric » May 25th, 2014, 1:48 pm

muddgutts wrote:How long was the downtime in total to do the entire swap from qg to sr?

downtime about 5 days. ...as for the actual SR20 ..I got it from the bamboo from a shipment they got earlier in the month so Im not sure of how long dat engine was down for

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » May 27th, 2014, 4:19 pm

Sounds like a wiring issue. Who wired it?

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » May 27th, 2014, 5:18 pm

What u did with the qg?

JesuEric

Postby JesuEric » May 27th, 2014, 11:37 pm

a electrical guy who does it often ...I not sure if he ever did it on an engine like this....

If its electrical you have any part in particular in mind?

racedrivepro I sold it on tuner

JesuEric

Postby JesuEric » May 28th, 2014, 12:25 pm

question: when my exhaust was welded up the Oxygen sensor caught a fire for a short time...the car had cut off then drove with its sluggish ways.....could this sensor be damaged causing this power loss? also too one of the spark plug wires has small cracks on it about 4...could these be problems?

Postby Ted_v2 » May 28th, 2014, 4:43 pm

You answering yourself man. Change those out and you good to go

JesuEric

Postby JesuEric » May 28th, 2014, 4:45 pm

na I wasn't sure because no check engine light came on lol I thought if that O2 sensor bad it will come on

JesuEric

Postby JesuEric » June 1st, 2014, 11:09 am

UPDATE: fixed all those stuff still not accelerating too well....mechanic says he believe is the transmission...but he's saying that a good tiptronic trani in this works excellent and can be better than gearbox cuz there was no gearbox to ever come with the VVL the gearbox from the de is wats used......wa yall tink.....but if I go gearbox den I need a VVL controller?

Postby Ted_v2 » June 1st, 2014, 11:17 am

Some days so. Greedy mss or something so. It's able to adjust the shift points

JesuEric

Postby JesuEric » June 1st, 2014, 11:34 am

sound boy 64 wrote:Some days so. Greedy mss or something so. It's able to adjust the shift points

Or he's nuh the first one to say that then ....cuz I thought he was talking sheit

also too I now read over something properly the fuel filter was changed not the pump from the QG18 set up

JesuEric

Re: P11 SR20VVL sedan mods/troubleshooting

Postby JesuEric » June 2nd, 2014, 11:16 am

bumpp

redrum

Postby redrum » August 15th, 2014, 6:53 am

You sure the two jacks behind the shifter are connected from the harness, also did u get correct brain for tranny, car will go I limp mode if you get wrong tranny ecu. Are u using the m6 shifter?
Last edited by redrum on December 12th, 2014, 11:39 am, edited 1 time in total.

JesuEric

Postby JesuEric » August 15th, 2014, 7:51 am

All jacks except one for the tipronic is plugged in n yes correct shifter

abbow

Postby abbow » August 27th, 2014, 10:18 am

had this issue after i ungraded from de to ve....yea my de came mated to the CVTm6

ended up changing the tranny...

but before i did that....changed sensors on the tranny, added a extra oil cooler, fuel pump, etc but nothing worked..

i put in the LSD - CVTm6 Tranny....pulls much better.

you should change your o2 sensor and the plug wires to eliminate those....