WTK 4A-GE 20 valve & SR20 DE FWD engines

Timmy

WTK 4A-GE 20 valve & SR20 DE FWD engines

Postby Timmy » June 10th, 2006, 9:31 pm

Yeh people,
The 4A-GE 20 valve has 165HP @ 126Tuq where as the SR20DE has 145HP @133Tuq.
Why do people choes the sr20 over the 20 valve? Is it because of the lack of parts for the 4A-GE 20 valve?

Some one plz shine some light on the subject...

Also does the 4A-GE 20 valve come with gearbox?

Sully

Postby Sully » June 11th, 2006, 7:28 am

The 4AGE is a 1.6L engine while the SR20 is a 2.0L engine.
The obvious is that the 4AGE is a Toyota and the SR20 is Nissan, so the applications are inherently different in that each engine is easier to install in some cars.

Teh 4AGE does come with a gearbox. You can get it with either a 5fwd or 6fwd box.

Timmy

Postby Timmy » June 11th, 2006, 10:38 am

So what you saying man that the 20 valv is harder to install in a car rather than the sr20?

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » June 11th, 2006, 1:05 pm

^^no it is the same, but the SR20 will have tons of aftermarket support.

the 4AGE 16v has tons of aftermarket support as well, but unfortunately the 20v blacktop/silvertop have little parts available for them here.

Sully

Postby Sully » June 11th, 2006, 3:41 pm

Timmy, I didn't say that the 4AGE was a harder install. There's just a lot more cars that an SR20 will fit in easily than a 4AGE.

Postby cinco » June 11th, 2006, 4:02 pm

some people would also say that the sr20 being a larger capacity engine has more room for easier tuning capabilities. The 4age is already a 1.6 l revving way up to 8.5k to make this power.

TK!

Postby TK! » June 12th, 2006, 4:00 pm

wah everybody say true.

lancer_noobs

Postby lancer_noobs » June 13th, 2006, 12:54 am

stock for stock the 4a-ge 20V will cut the sr20de arse
but sr20's has alot of aftermarket support in trinidad but whos gives a fork, u can shop online :mrgreen:

Postby Aaron 2NR » June 13th, 2006, 8:24 am

^ u sure bout that...lols

sentraman

Postby sentraman » June 13th, 2006, 8:54 am

lancer_noobs wrote:stock for stock the 4a-ge 20V will cut the sr20de arse

I SAY NO :lol: :lol:

fafrumlosin

Postby fafrumlosin » June 13th, 2006, 9:17 am

^care to test the theroy?? :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby Hook » June 13th, 2006, 9:23 am

already tried, tested....and true :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

sentraman

Postby sentraman » June 13th, 2006, 9:23 am

^^ like the rock says "just bring it" LOL :mrgreen:

Postby Hook » June 13th, 2006, 9:34 am

lol...I already did...mister esssssarrrrrrr in he B14 couldn't...he drivin like an arse barkin up de road from when I see him by Macoya lights and as luck would have it, I happen to get to line up wit him by Valsayn North (he didn't get the chance to break any lights which I'm almost certain he would've done if the feeder lanes weren't already moving each time)

I had a length on him all the way up to Nestle then I pulled extreme left and cruised at 70kph the rest of the way..'twas only a demonstration nuh

sentraman

Postby sentraman » June 13th, 2006, 9:35 am

^^ I have a 10ft driveway dat I go beat up alya on :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby Hook » June 13th, 2006, 9:50 am

Postby Dave » June 13th, 2006, 9:56 am

Hook wrote:lol...I already did...mister esssssarrrrrrr in he B14 couldn't...he drivin like an arse barkin up de road from when I see him by Macoya lights and as luck would have it, I happen to get to line up wit him by Valsayn North (he didn't get the chance to break any lights which I'm almost certain he would've done if the feeder lanes weren't already moving each time)

I had a length on him all the way up to Nestle then I pulled extreme left and cruised at 70kph the rest of the way..'twas only a demonstration nuh

that almost sounding like me yes :lol:
aye hook, how bout trying this b14 with an essssarrrr in it :wink: :lol:

sentraman, ent that sounding familiar, like friday the 27th feb 2004 :lol:

Raziel

Postby Raziel » June 13th, 2006, 10:08 am

Hook wrote:already tried, tested....and true :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

2nd that ....

Points are

1. Most people will choose a Toyota engine for a Toyota, Nissan for Nissan.
2. Easier and cheaper to get your hands on a SR20DE over a 20V (esp "blacktop")
3. The parts are harder to find, and more expensive for the 20V
4. The DE has a displacement advantage (2L vs. 1.6), also the compression ratio of the 20V is already so high, major mods will mean major risk.

Stock the 20V is a very good engine (better than DE), however if you are going to look for major mods, the SR20 will have the edge.

lancer_noobs

Postby lancer_noobs » June 13th, 2006, 6:22 pm

hey now i've seen this with my own eyes on de x :lol: :lol:
i sense a callout in the future :P

Points are

1. Most people will choose a Toyota engine for a Toyota, Nissan for Nissan.
2. Easier and cheaper to get your hands on a SR20DE over a 20V (esp "blacktop")
3. The parts are harder to find, and more expensive for the 20V
4. The DE has a displacement advantage (2L vs. 1.6), also the compression ratio of the 20V is already so high, major mods will mean major risk.

Stock the 20V is a very good engine (better than DE), however if you are going to look for major mods, the SR20 will have the edge.

good points there

JWT

Postby JWT » June 13th, 2006, 10:14 pm

Hook wrote:lol...I already did...mister esssssarrrrrrr in he B14 couldn't...he drivin like an arse barkin up de road from when I see him by Macoya lights and as luck would have it, I happen to get to line up wit him by Valsayn North (he didn't get the chance to break any lights which I'm almost certain he would've done if the feeder lanes weren't already moving each time)

Hmm boii you gone street racing again :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
and to think this car is auto ehh :lol: :lol: :lol:

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » June 13th, 2006, 11:30 pm

the 16V 4age.... whats the specs on that engine?

Raziel

Postby Raziel » June 14th, 2006, 10:05 am

So many versions for the 16V

4A-GE DOHC 4/50 83- 1587
4A-GE DOHC 4/50 85-86 1587 112@6600 97@4800 3.19 3.03 9.4:1
4A-GELU DOHC 4/50 86 1587* 130@6600 110@5200 81 77 9.4:1
4A-GELU DOHC 4/50 86 1587 124@6600 105@5000 81 77 10:1 EU
4A-GELU DOHC 4/50 86 1587 120@6600 102@5000 81 77 9.4:1
4A-GELU DOHC 4/50 86 1587 115@6600 98@4800 81 77 9.4:1 cat, US
4A-GE**(C/LC) 4/50 87 1587 112@6600 97@4800 3.19 3.03 9.4:1

4A-GE DOHC 4/50 85-87 1587 124@6600 104@4800 81 77 10.0:1 Finnish version
4A-GE DOHC 4/50 85-87 1587 122@6600 105@5000 81 77 10.0:1 UK version
4A-GE DOHC 4/50 88-89 1587 125@6600 107@5000 81 77 10.0:1 Finnish version
4A-GE DOHC 4/50 88-89 1587 123@6600 81 77 10.0:1 UK version
4A-GE DOHC 4/50 90 1587 130@6800 102@5800 3.19 3.03 9.5:1
4A-GE DOHC 4/50 91-92 1587 130@6800 105@6000 3.19 3.03 10.3:1

More here

http://www.geocities.com/MotorCity/Pit/ ... l#A-series

M-Tech

Postby M-Tech » June 14th, 2006, 1:56 pm

The 16V 4A-GE is old and should not even be a consideration 4 an upgrade.. If its Toyota, the 4A-GE 20Valve Silver or Blacktop (based on budget) or the 4A-GZE 1.6L Supercharged should be of the choices if going for a 1.6L engine.. Info posted before are true though.. EXCEPT for those who DO NOT think a stock 20V is faster than a stock SR20DE.. I know this first hand without a doubt given that each engine was in a car it was designed for.. The SR20VE NEO VVL on the other hand has more power....

Keep in mind ppl that if its a Toyota to Nissan comparision, it is only fair to compare a Toyota 1.6 to the Nissan 1.6 GA16 VVL version being that both engines have a similar technology and displacement. An SR20DE should be compared to a 3S-GE, the SR20VE NEO VVL to the 3S-GE BEAMS Dual VVT-i and the SR20DET to the 3S-GTE.. Etc.. N.B. The biggest and best yet, the 2JZ-GTE..
This info is not meant to be biased in any way but just to state facts based on many practical experiences that if all engines are in stock form, Toyota has an edge in higher Torque... All engines have room for modifications in some way or the other...

pbf1940

Postby pbf1940 » June 16th, 2006, 7:57 pm

sentraman wrote:

yuh playin you have short memory!
before that car was manual what used to happen?

sentraman

Postby sentraman » June 16th, 2006, 8:37 pm

pbf1940 wrote:
sentraman wrote:

yuh playin you have short memory!
before that car was manual what used to happen?

AHEM and how long did the tranny last after dat?? bout 2 months

IT WAS SLIPPING till it died and had to be towed :lol: :lol:

sentraman

Postby sentraman » June 16th, 2006, 8:37 pm

^^ Dave bring out the tranny and show this fella :lol: :lol: :lol:

sentraman

Postby sentraman » June 16th, 2006, 8:45 pm

Dave wrote:

that almost sounding like me yes :lol:
aye hook, how bout trying this b14 with an essssarrrr in it :wink: :lol:

sentraman, ent that sounding familiar, like friday the 27th feb 2004 :lol:

:lol: :lol: :lol: Dat man remember date and ting :lol: :lol:

Ya forget the time >>> was almost 11pm :D

sentraman

Postby sentraman » June 16th, 2006, 8:46 pm

OH and I just realised that one cannot use more than 10 smilies per post :mrgreen:

Sully

Postby Sully » June 18th, 2006, 10:28 am

it is only fair to compare a Toyota 1.6 to the Nissan 1.6 GA16 VVL version being that both engines have a similar technology and displacement. An SR20DE should be compared to a 3S-GE, the SR20VE NEO VVL to the 3S-GE BEAMS Dual VVT-i and the SR20DET to the 3S-GTE.. Etc..

I fully agree with this. Why do you want to compare apples to oranges?

sentraman

Postby sentraman » June 18th, 2006, 2:32 pm

too bad no one has a sr16 to compare to the toyota 20valve and the honda b16a