tools and thing real cheap

SurGTR

Postby SurGTR » February 4th, 2006, 4:04 pm

hmm i guess they close by now

demented

Postby demented » February 4th, 2006, 4:05 pm

^^^ when the sale ending? i think it start since last weekend.

EL JEFE

Postby EL JEFE » February 4th, 2006, 4:21 pm

closing down sale.

Rx

Postby Rx » February 4th, 2006, 5:04 pm

good price ......I have one also ...I bought it about 8yrs ago .....cost me $250 back then :)

RNR66

Postby RNR66 » February 4th, 2006, 6:56 pm

Good price - Buyer's mart in Chaguanas had one for the same $140.
Post a pic of it nah so ah cud compare - have to buy one for the pops in law...

Postby MG Man » February 4th, 2006, 7:33 pm

I bought one of those cheap 2 ton jacks, and I don't trust them. They ok for very occasional use but if u gonna do like me and use it every weekend or even every other weekend, they don't perform well.......in no time at all, mine begins to loose pressure. Yeah I still use my axle stands and stick a wheel under the car, but even to lift the car and in the moments b4 u get the axle stands under the car, its a risk. My plan it to buy a proper 3 ton at FT Farfan......they have a sweet low profile, aluminium 2 ton but it on the expensive side........Duane, when u use that jack, MAKE SURE U AT LEAST STICK A WHEEL UNDER THE CAR, but at $200n the axle stands are a good investment

larafan

Postby larafan » February 4th, 2006, 8:26 pm

yuh coulda invest in two jack stand too...

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » February 4th, 2006, 8:26 pm

Dem cheap jacks only good 4 temporary use like changing a flat tire rather than using a ketch arse scissors jack .

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » February 4th, 2006, 9:11 pm

stick to the topic or PM please

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » February 4th, 2006, 9:15 pm

Id love a cheap 2 ton trolley jack, all the damn farting around ive been doing with brake lines and swaybars with that scissor jack, its ridiculous.
Gotta love the concrete blocks and hardwood 2x4's too, cant argue with them

RNR66

Postby RNR66 » February 4th, 2006, 9:15 pm

Where can I get a good pair of jackstands to buy ? What price ?

Postby MG Man » February 4th, 2006, 10:09 pm

InDeForest wrote:Id love a cheap 2 ton trolley jack, all the damn farting around ive been doing with brake lines and swaybars with that scissor jack, its ridiculous.
Gotta love the concrete blocks and hardwood 2x4's too, cant argue with them

blocks of wod not so bad, but if u referring to those grey foundation blocks, I strongly recommend NOT using those to support your vehicle. They can shatter under load. The safet quick-fix is to remove a wheel and stick iy under a rocker panel. But at $200, I still say axle stands are worth the investment

Mini

Postby Mini » February 4th, 2006, 10:29 pm

got me a cheap 2 ton jack about 2 years ago with case and everything... but like MG Man's mines starting to lose pressure now.. I think I need a heavy duty shop jack.. but them thing is like $2000+

hot blue

Postby hot blue » February 4th, 2006, 11:54 pm

duane boy.... yuh sure yuh want to put a 2 ton jack in yuh trunk ?
with all that weight(2 ton) it might adversely affect your performce :lol:

RichieRich
2NR MILF Hunter

Postby RichieRich » February 5th, 2006, 7:43 am

flatline wrote:stick to the topic or PM please

and y?

Postby MG Man » February 5th, 2006, 9:32 am

Mini wrote:got me a cheap 2 ton jack about 2 years ago with case and everything... but like MG Man's mines starting to lose pressure now.. I think I need a heavy duty shop jack.. but them thing is like $2000+

check FT Farfan, they got some good stuff, prices not too bad either

djblademan

Postby djblademan » May 29th, 2009, 9:18 pm

i saw someone on the auto forums had a set for $500 with the 2ton & two jack stands & ah rollin bench
is that any good fellas? think it was SSL group/trintuner hardware fella (was looking for the posts but cant see em)
not knowledgeable in this are some advice please.

Postby Team Loco » May 29th, 2009, 9:28 pm

Don't trust those jacks duane. Bought a couple for around the shop for odd uses. They didn't last a year. Also bout a michelin jack 5 yrs back. Still going strong.

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » May 29th, 2009, 9:34 pm

well look at ting. if allyuh talkin bout cheap hydraulic jacks failing after 1 year or so and allyuh using it on cars, then what allyuh go say about pickups?

MG, TL et al, what is best brand hydraulic jack out there? for personal use en, not commercial

VJTEK

Postby VJTEK » May 29th, 2009, 10:24 pm

Bought a 2 1/2 Ton Larin floor jack from Pricesmart about a year ago for $700 (I think) and it's still going strong. The manual does say that it's not designed to keep the weight suspended for long, which means it has to be used with Jack stands.

To the guys having problems with their jacks, do you keep the car suspended with the jack till you're done??

Postby Country_Bookie » May 29th, 2009, 10:30 pm

Bought a 2 ton from Juteram's in Sangre Grande abt a year and a half ago for $110. Haven't had cause to use it more than 5-7 times so I can't comment as to durability.

djblademan

Postby djblademan » May 30th, 2009, 10:31 am

djblademan wrote:i saw someone on the auto forums had a set for $500 with the 2ton & two jack stands & ah rollin bench
is that any good fellas? think it was SSL group/trintuner hardware fella (was looking for the posts but cant see em)
not knowledgeable in this are some advice please.

?????????????????? :?:

Postby joker » May 30th, 2009, 10:41 am

the seals need changing.. if it loosing pressure...

larafan

Postby larafan » May 30th, 2009, 1:06 pm

for 140 dollars....allyuh really cyah complain bout how long they lasting...

cornfused

Postby cornfused » May 30th, 2009, 6:21 pm

ok we have established at this point that the load should not be suspended by the 2 ton jack, so jack stands are required and they too come in varying weight capacities.

Postby Maserati » May 30th, 2009, 6:33 pm

yup jack stands are a must, don't be going under any vehicle supported by just the jack

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » May 30th, 2009, 7:40 pm

Maserati wrote:yup jack stands are a must, don't be going under any vehicle supported by just the jack

makes sense, but i talking about when you get a lil flat on the highway; you not gonna carry jack stands in your trunk / tray / back seat.

what's a good quality brand for use on a pickup? looing at capacity around 3T but at a small size

GoS

Postby GoS » May 30th, 2009, 7:45 pm

so when the sale finishing

Postby Maserati » May 30th, 2009, 7:58 pm

guilty on sight wrote:so when the sale finishing

you see the date of this thread ??