Postby The_Honourable » June 7th, 2017, 1:08 pm
OP that is not the pavement. Pavement is the concrete between the road and the utility pole in your pic. A lot of properties back in the day use to have 10+ ft of reserve between the road and the fence, where normally you build a fence on the boundary line and then have a reserve between the fence and the house/building (which we usually say, meh yard).
That reserve in the pic where the van is parked on probably once had plants to bring up the aesthetics of the property and even the area if that was the norm with other properties.
If the business owner decides to make that same reserve as a car park for his customers, you can't do anything OP. Also, if he decides to break down his current fence and build on the boundary line which the utility pole is on, you can't do anything either. Worse if he decide to go up with a dread concrete block fence.
The only way to know the status of that reserve is to get his deed which hopefully have the boundary measurements. As hong kong phooey said, let the residents with the approval of regional corporation install a blind spot mirror. Check also if the entrance of the road have some leeway to widen a bit so your vehicle can turn into the main road with ease versus coming all the way out and then turning.