Voting NOTA for General Elections

Do you think it makes sense to post a blank ballot (vote NOTA)

Yes, I have already decided to post a blank ballot
19%
Not sure
2%
Never heard about this before
16%
No, voting makes no difference and voting NOTA seems like a waste of time
5%
No, I will vote for the best option even if all options are less than ideal
33%
No, I already have the party that I will vote for in mind
26%

Total votes: 43

Voting NOTA for General Elections

Postby Slartibartfast » June 8th, 2015, 6:37 pm

Saw a lot of posts making mention of this so I decided to bring the discussion to a single thread and open a poll just for fun.

For those of you that are unfamiliar with the concept, voting NOTA means voting "None Of The Above" and means the same thing as posting a blank ballot for voting choice at elections. This lets the person checking ballots know that you do not think that any of the choices put forward are acceptable to you. There are some countries that already have a NOTA box included in the ballot and special provisions if the NOTA option gets most votes.

So far I have heard the following opinions when mentioning this idea as shown in the polls.

Re: Voting NOTA for General Elections

Postby Slartibartfast » June 8th, 2015, 6:40 pm

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 8th, 2015, 7:54 pm

is this option legal in T&T?

It is very important to exercise your right to vote!!

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » June 8th, 2015, 8:11 pm

yeah I think this is crap ...if yuh don't want to vote why should that be anybody's business ?
the person counting ballots will throw away anything that deviates from the norm so you will just have your ballot voided by someone who took a day job to count ballots and your message reaches no one past them lol

If you are forced to show up on election day this might make sense lol

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » June 8th, 2015, 8:17 pm

the problem is that it will just be counted as a spoilt ballot. Nobody will actually take count of the number of NOTA ballots and the effort will have been wasted.

Postby Habit7 » June 8th, 2015, 8:37 pm

NOTA only have a set of political has beens and the leader does beat his wife.

Postby UML » June 8th, 2015, 8:50 pm

I dont know if you trying to mislead the others or the stupid.

but i can tell you one thing for sure

THE PNM NOT DOING DAT!!!! 8-)

Postby Slartibartfast » June 8th, 2015, 9:44 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:is this option legal in T&T?

Even if it isn't (defacing government property or something) how will they catch you to prosecute you?

Postby Slartibartfast » June 8th, 2015, 9:50 pm

megadoc1 wrote:yeah I think this is crap ...if yuh don't want to vote why should that be anybody's business ?
the person counting ballots will throw away anything that deviates from the norm so you will just have your ballot voided by someone who took a day job to count ballots and your message reaches no one past them lol

Hyperion wrote:the problem is that it will just be counted as a spoilt ballot. Nobody will actually take count of the number of NOTA ballots and the effort will have been wasted.

You are getting the wrong idea Megadoc. I absolutely do want to vote but I am being forced to choose between two parties that have proven themselves inadequate. Am I to vote for an inadequate party or stay quiet and be blamed for the inadequate party that has been voted in.

I agree it most likely won't pass the people counting ballots for a day wuk but it must start somewhere. I think if a large enough amount of people do it (like the portion of people in Trinidad that fed up with corruption) it may start to get some attention. Or maybe I'm being too optimistic.

Postby Redman » June 8th, 2015, 9:52 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:

Even if it isn't (defacing government property or something) how will they catch you to prosecute you?

Same way they mistakenly think yuh vote for the fools in power.

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » June 8th, 2015, 9:54 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:
megadoc1 wrote:yeah I think this is crap ...if yuh don't want to vote why should that be anybody's business ?

Hyperion wrote:the problem is that it will just be counted as a spoilt ballot. Nobody will actually take count of the number of NOTA ballots and the effort will have been wasted.

You are getting the wrong idea Megadoc. I absolutely do want to vote but I am being forced to choose between two parties that have proven themselves inadequate. Am I to vote for an inadequate party or stay quiet and be blamed for the inadequate party that has been voted in.

I agree it most likely won't pass the people counting ballots for a day wuk but it must start somewhere. I think if a large enough amount of people do it (like the portion of people in Trinidad that fed up with corruption) it may start to get some attention. Or maybe I'm being too optimistic.

why wait so late ? best you select a representative from amongst the large group that's fed up with corruption and vote for that person ,is only $5000 to enter

Postby Slartibartfast » June 8th, 2015, 10:06 pm

1. My option is $5000 cheaper
2. Admitting there is a problem is the first step to finding a cure. Your approach is backwards in that it proposes to present a solution to a problem that most people don't seem to seriously consider as yet.

Not a good immediate option but may be viable if things ever developed.

Postby UML » June 8th, 2015, 10:10 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:

this shows how little you know about the election process :roll:

Slartibartfast wrote:

as i said before...who u trying to fool?

everybody here know u voting PNM.

yuh want evidence....check yuh posts!!!

I dont understand this failed attempt at misleading ppl :shock:

Postby Slartibartfast » June 8th, 2015, 10:13 pm

Why not enlighten me and any other readers that may not be as familiar with the voting process as you are.
[Serious]

EDIT: Now see you said I voting PNM. LMAO!!! :D :D :D
This may seem like a foreign concept to you but I am loyal to no party. I also don't pay as much attention to politics as I should until closer to elections because my life is busy enough as it is. Last election I just remember voting against PNM because they were doing loads of crap (can't recall what to be honest) and voted PP just to get them out. Now I see PP doing crap and not feeling to run back to what I initially ran away from. I agree that both parties have done good things, However both have not performed well enough in my books.
Last edited by Slartibartfast on June 8th, 2015, 10:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby UML » June 8th, 2015, 10:15 pm

yuh ever vote?

I spoke about this already check my posts :)

in short, who you vote for can be known.

My handlers and head blogger didnt tell me I could provide an answer :cry:

Postby Slartibartfast » June 8th, 2015, 10:21 pm

Yes I have voted before.

How can who you vote for be known? (I'm not going to search through your 5500+ posts so please reply here or quote your previous post if possible)

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » June 8th, 2015, 10:46 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:1. My option is $5000 cheaper
2. Admitting there is a problem is the first step to finding a cure. Your approach is backwards in that it proposes to present a solution to a problem that most people don't seem to seriously consider as yet.

Not a good immediate option but may be viable if things ever developed.
c'mon, to gather a group large enough to get your message across needs to have a figure of 5000 people minimum , so lets say you get 10,000 'fools' to agree with you, that's 50 cents per person to get you going in a more positive direction ...how can you say then that my approach is backward?

Postby Slartibartfast » June 9th, 2015, 6:17 am

Don't care for starting another political party. Want to get existing parties to present better candidates.

Btw, UML still interested in your answer

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » June 9th, 2015, 6:54 am

well unfortunately,you may have to join one of the parties you don't like and get in a position where you can have a say or you can even start at the grass root level ,with at least 12,000 registered folks backing you, you can manners those who seeks representation for your constituency

Postby zoom rader » June 9th, 2015, 7:21 am

It's always the ppl that dont vote complain the most and want everything free from which ever government in place

Postby Redman » June 9th, 2015, 7:35 am

Well lets just do what other countries do-use the vote to gather more information.

Instead of spending $XX million to gather the numbers on who we want to run the country -add more questions to be able to tabulate sentiment...

So establish compulsory voting...to ensure as much of the population is represented as possible..

Maybe an online voting platform-(why not?)
maybe a referendum platform

But add qualitative questions to the ballot...

So add a NOTA option that will only be for statistical analysis-that will give feedback.
So SlartiB could vote for the PNM :) and feel good but also register his opinion in more detail.

If we have 10 questions we will be able to gather exponentially more relevant information,that will send messages about how the population feels

We are a maturing democracy.
IMHO we need to deepen ACTIVE PARTICIPATION...not display disgruntled apathy.

Postby Slartibartfast » June 9th, 2015, 7:45 am

PNM for Life! Yeah redman that's a really cool idea. The online voting could even be used as a preliminary voting system. I wouldn't trust it for actual elections as I am sure someone would get the brilliant idea to exploit the code to get extra votes.

megadoc1 wrote:well unfortunately,you may have to join one of the parties you don't like and get in a position where you can have a say or you can even start at the grass root level ,with at least 12,000 registered folks backing you, you can manners those who seeks representation for your constituency
Yeah this seems like the option that would get the quickest results. PP for Life! The only problem is that you risk eventually ending like UML or Zoom Radar... ILP for life!

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » June 9th, 2015, 8:22 am

Slartibartfast wrote:PNM for Life! Yeah redman that's a really cool idea. The online voting could even be used as a preliminary voting system. I wouldn't trust it for actual elections as I am sure someone would get the brilliant idea to exploit the code to get extra votes.

megadoc1 wrote:well unfortunately,you may have to join one of the parties you don't like and get in a position where you can have a say or you can even start at the grass root level ,with at least 12,000 registered folks backing you, you can manners those who seeks representation for your constituency
Yeah this seems like the option that would get the quickest results. PP for Life! The only problem is that you risk eventually ending like UML or Zoom Radar... ILP for life!
perhaps,but you could also end up with NOTAs for life and thats no way forward

Postby K74T » June 9th, 2015, 8:34 am

Always remember to put your X by the Balisier :wink:

Sent from my GT-I8190L using Tapatalk

Postby Slartibartfast » June 9th, 2015, 8:42 am

megadoc1 wrote:perhaps,but you could also end up with NOTAs for life and thats no way forward
That's a good point.

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » June 9th, 2015, 8:46 am

K74T wrote:Always remember to put your X by the Balisier :wink:

Sent from my GT-I8190L using Tapatalk
even Panday said that lol

Postby Redman » June 9th, 2015, 8:48 am

So maybe for the ballot to be valid you will have to VOTE for a party...alongside indicating your NOTA 'vote'

We can register our dissatisfaction while still voting....it cant just be a binary choice of a or b.
Currently thats the total input of a citizen ...once every 5 years

We can say I vote for A but Im generally dissatisfied with the level of performance of all the parties..
This can deliver an EBC report that could say..

what % of the population
Supports A or B or C
IS satisfied with the performance of a,b or c,
Is satisfied with the performance of the opposition or govt.

Will support party A but not support XYZ project that is on the table.

Australia enjoys 90% voter participation.

We are at 70% on average.

But here is my speculation.

If we were to get to 90% the voters here are more likely to be the swing voter-who like Slarti unaligned...but having thought about it will make a choice.

That means that now the till ah dead vote is now matched by the unaligned vote.

And having a higher proportion of THOUGHTFUL voting can only be a good thing

Postby Dizzy28 » June 9th, 2015, 11:07 am

There is not an option to vote NOTA in Trinidad and Tobago, You either vote for one of the parties on the ballot or you deface the ballot or leave it blank in which case it counts as spoilt ballot. Therefore I think this poll is a waste because you asking people for their opinion on something that doesn't yet exist.

Postby RBphoto » June 9th, 2015, 11:49 am

I like this!!! Never heard of it before though. Might actually get me in a voting station if this is an option or if they count blank ballots. I do not believe that you should exercise the "right to vote" if you don't want either party/ candidate and you should only endorse someone whose politics/ policies you agree with. Currently there are no parties willing to grant LGBT rights, reduce taxes, remove duty from camera equipment, admit that Kublalsingh eating normal or legalize the herb.

Jah curse on Babylon system!!

Postby ruffneck_12 » June 9th, 2015, 11:52 am

This poll should have a NOTA option as well