"No refund" policy is illegal in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby X_Factor » January 24th, 2015, 10:55 am

been seeing a few business with these signs up and putting it on their receipts

https://www.facebook.com/consumeraffair ... =1&theater

make sure and enquire about returns and conditions of sale when making purchases, make sure it is in writing on the receipt

Re: Take note ppl" no refund" is illegal

Postby *$kїđž!™ » January 24th, 2015, 11:15 am

Postby Morpheus » January 24th, 2015, 8:23 pm

Good Info.....

Postby 88sins » January 25th, 2015, 11:51 am

good to see consumer affairs doing their job.

next thing for them to address is this "restocking fee" bullsheit when ppl return goods.
a lil 3-5% is tolerable. but some ah deze fuggers want to tlk about 20% & 25%, just to take back d crap they sellin, that they gonna try & resell someone else at the same orginal price.

src1983

Postby src1983 » January 25th, 2015, 8:14 pm

88sins wrote:good to see consumer affairs doing their job.

next thing for them to address is this "restocking fee" bullsheit when ppl return goods.
a lil 3-5% is tolerable. but some ah deze fuggers want to tlk about 20% & 25%, just to take back d crap they sellin, that they gonna try & resell someone else at the same orginal price.

I hit them a 20% cause furniture really really hard to stock

I not talking about a lil playstation, a couch set takes up a lot of warehouse realestate

Postby black start » January 25th, 2015, 8:21 pm

Good info!

Twin Isle Cars n' Parts

Postby Twin Isle Cars n' Parts » January 25th, 2015, 8:43 pm

Likin this...

Re: Take note ppl

Postby 88sins » January 25th, 2015, 9:28 pm

src1983 wrote:I not talking about a lil playstation, a couch set takes up a lot of warehouse realestate

I get what you're saying. But that storage issue is essentially your issue, the consumer shouldn't have to bear the cost of you not having sufficient warehouse space.

Now I not tryin to tell yuh how to run yuh operation, but ideally you need a larger warehouse, which would have a little more cost, which could be passed on to all consumers with a nominal increase across the board & this would create an opportunity for you to do away with the restocking fee altogether & would increase your profit margin.

but daiz just my thought process

Twin Isle Cars n' Parts

Postby Twin Isle Cars n' Parts » January 25th, 2015, 9:29 pm

src1983 wrote:I not talking about a lil playstation, a couch set takes up a lot of warehouse realestate

I get what you're saying. But that storage issue is essentially your issue, the consumer shouldn't have to bear the cost of you not having sufficient warehouse space.

Now I not tryin to tell yuh how to run yuh operation, but ideally you need a larger warehouse, which would have a little more cost, which could be passed on to all consumers with a nominal increase across the board & this would create an opportunity for you to do away with the restocking fee altogether & would increase your profit margin.

AGREED!!!

src1983

Postby src1983 » January 25th, 2015, 10:25 pm

Why must the seller incur extra storage costs for customer refunded items, where will I put it?

I know how much room I have in my warehouse, plus the other 2 I rent for christmas, so when a customer comes and pay for an item, I go recheck for quality, arrange delivery and place order for another to ensure that I am always stocked

Now when the good ole customer comes back to say "hey dude hard luck got something at courts"

I now have an extra set with no place to put it, plus if he requested store pickup I now have to take time and carry it back to the warehouse.

So as far as I am concerned 20% is fair for my time and effort, I not going and take added warehousing cost for unsure customers, they should do better research.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » January 25th, 2015, 10:57 pm

'buy my sheit and gtfo my store and dont come back unless is to buy something else" lol

Postby Morpheus » January 26th, 2015, 12:11 am

src1983 wrote:

Why must the seller incur extra storage costs for customer refunded items, where will I put it?

I know how much room I have in my warehouse, plus the other 2 I rent for christmas, so when a customer comes and pay for an item, I go recheck for quality, arrange delivery and place order for another to ensure that I am always stocked

Now when the good ole customer comes back to say "hey dude hard luck got something at courts"

I now have an extra set with no place to put it, plus if he requested store pickup I now have to take time and carry it back to the warehouse.

So as far as I am concerned 20% is fair for my time and effort, I not going and take added warehousing cost for unsure customers, they should do better research.

Returns should be catered for in advance I think.....
It may not seem fair but that's just the way it is...
You think it's unfair to you and the customer thinks it's unfair to them. At the end of the day the seller needs to keep customers happy to ensure future sales and recommendations whereas the customer has no obligation to make the seller happy. He can go elsewhere.

Postby 88sins » January 26th, 2015, 9:13 am

src1983 wrote:Why must the seller incur extra storage costs for customer refunded items, where will I put it?

now you have me a lil bit curious.

If, for arguments sake, consumer affairs & the state come up wit legislation making it illegal to charge a restocking fee, then what you would do?

Far as I could see, you'd have a few options.
1-Cater for a percentage of sales returns & maintain sufficient storage space to that effect, while utilizing some of said newly acquired storage to aid in offsetting it's cost
2-Remain as you are & keep charging said fee & taking customers $$ & providing them with nothing(which from a legal view could be considered a form of fraud/theft, but thats a side issue)
3-Absorb the entire cost & write it off as an operational expense(which is exactly what it is)
4-Increase selling prices by a nominal fee across the board on all goods to cater for cost of handling returns
5-Close up shop & go out of business

Repeat business & a good reputation built on fair & ethical consumer relations is what keeps an establishment afloat in the long haul. If enough customers become dissatisfied with a company, & word spreads to that effect, well yuh could figure out the rest.

src1983

Postby src1983 » January 26th, 2015, 10:36 am

I have a lot of repeat business, as I normally sit with customers and find the best fit that they may be interested in e.g. living room colour, best type of materials, floor layout etc. This is to ensure that the customer gets the best product to match his/her decor. Been in business 10 plus years policy never changed.

You say raise my selling price to take account of this, why must I charge a firm customer more for an item due to unsure customers, that is not fair to my customers.

You think I just pulled this out of a hat, let me draw you and two classic examples

1. Most Trinis do not know how to build houses, A guy came in to the store and requested a 6 foot wide cupboard, I explained to the guy this will not turn into a room if the corridor is narrow, I said it would be easier to measure and come back that way you will be sure it can fit. He was adamant it would fit saying he building homes 20 years blah blah, so I sold it to him, arranged delivery and sent it only to see him and the cupboard back at the store 3 hours later. Reason "It couldn't fit, so I had to refund the guy his money and was left with a nice delivery bill of $400.00. I never saw that guy again.

2. A woman came in the store requesting a custom made cupboard, brought her measurements and so fort, I got the quote from my builder and told her the cost will be $3000.00, she paid a deposit and I said it would be ready in 3 weeks. After two weeks I had this beautiful Stained cupboard in my store, she came in and said she will not be taking the cupboard again as she decided to use a builder and took back her deposit. Was left out of pocket once again. Due to the size the cupboard was never sold and I had the builder break it down to make other furniture just to get it out.

Sellers need to have rights too

88sins, will you buy a TV that was opened and returned from a customer??

Postby 16 cycles » January 26th, 2015, 10:48 am

for businesses that have sale on slightly damaged items and state no refunds / exchange on items- they may have to count it as a loss and recover 'spoil' by increasing cost of all other items...

Invisible

Postby Invisible » January 26th, 2015, 10:50 am

Prints flyer to walk around with

Postby 88sins » January 26th, 2015, 11:29 am

yes I would, providing the seller can prove that the unit is functional, & all I'd expect is a written warranty from the vendor that the unit is at time of purchase is under the manufacturer warranty, & maybe a lil discount 5-10% as motivation to take that particular unit. I've done so more than once, & will continue to do so once it's a good bargain & value for money.

now lemme ask you this.
if I sell you a unit, & you return it to me undamaged & unopened, & I give you back 80% of what you paid. Do you find nothing even a lil wrong with that? Consideration changing hands, & no equal value being exchanged.

I & I'm sure others understand that you may have costs attached to returned goods. All I am sayin is there are other means of recovering said costs, that do not involve what some might consider a method of abusing or taking advantage of the consumer.

\
but like I say, daiz your business. & i personally eh come out to convince nobody ah nuttn

src1983

Postby src1983 » January 26th, 2015, 12:10 pm

88sins wrote:yes I would, providing the seller can prove that the unit is functional, & all I'd expect is a written warranty from the vendor that the unit is at time of purchase is under the manufacturer warranty, & maybe a lil discount 5-10% as motivation to take that particular unit. I've done so more than once, & will continue to do so once it's a good bargain & value for money.

now lemme ask you this.
if I sell you a unit, & you return it to me undamaged & unopened, & I give you back 80% of what you paid. Do you find nothing even a lil wrong with that? Consideration changing hands, & no equal value being exchanged.

I & I'm sure others understand that you may have costs attached to returned goods. All I am sayin is there are other means of recovering said costs, that do not involve what some might consider a method of abusing or taking advantage of the consumer.

but like I say, daiz your business. & i personally eh come out to convince nobody ah nuttn

So you would want a discount on the item, so I am out the delivery to the customer, plus further loss when I give you a discount

I have no problems with restocking fees I encountered them a few time when I returned goods to the US. Your solutions to recoup that costs comes with raising prices, which I find very unfair to customers.

I always ensure customers shop around to get a good deal, I may sell mattresses and beds cheaper than most places but I know stores that may have a sale on cupboards that they may want to look into.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » January 26th, 2015, 12:33 pm

This local refunds business is a joke , here we have a retailer charging a 20-25% restocking fee . I hope you ask for that fee before you give the refund because any reason you want to put up must be a low joke .

This shows exactly why more and more foreign exchange is leaving this country in search of proper service in the US and else where . The sooner most local vendors realize that their competition is Amazon and other large retail stores in the US , the better off they'd would be in the long run.

Want a feel good refund story ?

For months I was looking for some expensive replacement parts for a machine . I received quotations here averaging $7,500 for an incomplete part that would still need about $2,000 is "non stock" parts to make the machine usable .

I milled over this decision for a few month squeezing the life of of the part for as long I could have. Eventually I called the right person who advised importing the part . The part came from Amazon in to my hand for $2,800. TT , but it was also the base model missing some essential parts . One call to Amazon explaining the missing parts and it was "Sir we are very sorry , but to make up on your disappointment with this purchase, we would like to offer a 40% discount " Curbing my jubilation and shock, I still managed to ask if this was their best offer :D :D . They then added another 5% discount . :shocked!:

Postby RBphoto » January 26th, 2015, 12:50 pm

I offer a 100% satisfaction guarantee on my photos.... either I re-shoot for free or full refund with no photos delivered. Some people tell me that I am mad to do that, but the fact of the matter is, most of my jobs are from referrals, so having a dissatisfied customer is not an option.

That said, This whole return/ refund business thing about return/ exchange if the item is unopened, sealed in box and original condition is fine, and is just good customer service. But you see this thing about returning custom built orders, or open box items.. that is just horse sheit.

src1983

Postby src1983 » January 26th, 2015, 12:54 pm

cornfused wrote:This local refunds business is a joke , here we have a retailer charging a 20-25% restocking fee . I hope you ask for that fee before you give the refund because any reason you want to put up must be a low joke .

This shows exactly why more and more foreign exchange is leaving this country in search of proper service in the US and else where . The sooner most local vendors realize that their competition is Amazon and other large retail stores in the US , the better off they'd would be in the long run.

Want a feel good refund story ?

For months I was looking for some expensive replacement parts for a machine . I received quotations here averaging $7,500 for an incomplete part that would still need about $2,000 is "non stock" parts to make the machine usable .

I milled over this decision for a few month squeezing the life of of the part for as long I could have. Eventually I called the right person who advised importing the part . The part came from Amazon in to my hand for $2,800. TT , but it was also the base model missing some essential parts . One call to Amazon explaining the missing parts and it was "Sir we are very sorry , but to make up on your disappointment with this purchase, we would like to offer a 40% discount " Curbing my jubilation and shock, I still managed to ask if this was their best offer :D :D . They then added another 5% discount . :shocked!:

This is a separate incident, you didn't received the goods your ordered. Therefore to apologize they gave you a discount.

I ordered some scanners from Amazon. But by accident I didn't check the numbers, 3 Honeywell Solaris when I got them I realized it was wrong, I was charged a 15% restocking fee from the seller

Postby 88sins » January 26th, 2015, 1:01 pm

raising prices isn't the only way to recoup said costs, It's just one of a few.

Another method is that once your business pays taxes, as it should, those costs can be applied as a business expense, thus lowering the business's taxation payable per the period. So the business still recovers its expense, albeit not immediately, but still recovered.

You find you out a 5-10% to sell the item if the consumer asks for a discount, + the returns costs.
But most ppl in T&T resell the item @ 100% the original sales price once undamaged, or convert it into a re-saleable form. So the business still making it's profit on the returned item.
But like I said, do yuh ting dan.

All i could say is that I always ask about a business's returns policy before I hand over my money. If I don't like your policy, even if I need the goods/service, I rather go elsewhere, & that includes importing form overseas, shopping around locally, or just forget the whole thing & do without.

src1983

Postby src1983 » January 26th, 2015, 1:05 pm

RBphoto wrote:I offer a 100% satisfaction guarantee on my photos.... either I re-shoot for free or full refund with no photos delivered. Some people tell me that I am mad to do that, but the fact of the matter is, most of my jobs are from referrals, so having a dissatisfied customer is not an option.

That said, This whole return/ refund business thing about return/ exchange if the item is unopened, sealed in box and original condition is fine, and is just good customer service. But you see this thing about returning custom built orders, or open box items.. that is just horse sheit.

This is what Trinis fail to realize when you take a fridge or appliance then open it, I now have to give a another customer at a discount, plus recheck for any damage, cause Trinis are very sneaky.

If I get a sealed toaster I seldom charge restocking fee, cause that small and easy to store

But when heavy appliances and furniture 20% no exception, I sorry but that's just my good ole way, may not be the best. But it protects me
Last edited by src1983 on January 26th, 2015, 1:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

src1983

Postby src1983 » January 26th, 2015, 1:12 pm

88sins wrote:raising prices isn't the only way to recoup said costs, It's just one of a few.

Another method is that once your business pays taxes, as it should, those costs can be applied as a business expense, thus lowering the business's taxation payable per the period. So the business still recovers its expense, albeit not immediately, but still recovered.

You find you out a 5-10% to sell the item if the consumer asks for a discount, + the returns costs.
But most ppl in T&T resell the item @ 100% the original sales price once undamaged, or convert it into a re-saleable form. So the business still making it's profit on the returned item.
But like I said, do yuh ting dan.

All i could say is that I always ask about a business's returns policy before I hand over my money. If I don't like your policy, even if I need the goods/service, I rather go elsewhere, & that includes importing form overseas, shopping around locally, or just forget the whole thing & do without.

I don't sell products at 100% markup

I don't pay rent so I pass those savings to the customer, I only have 1 employee another saving the customers get

Since I instituted this policy I think I have less than 10 instances requiring me to charge restocking, the latest was this Christmas in which the customer was very understanding seeing the the pieces she ordered just taking up the walk way of the store.

Postby RBphoto » January 26th, 2015, 1:17 pm

Thing is, if the customer devalues the item by opening it, I believe they should incur the loss I incur. Even if I had to offer the full 100% back to a customer for a shoot, (which, thankfully, has not happened... yet) I still lose out with my travel and about four hours of my time lost... are these rules the same for the service industry?

Postby Chimera » January 26th, 2015, 1:26 pm

src1983 wrote:
This is what Trinis fail to realize when you take a fridge or appliance then open it, I now have to give a another customer at a discount, plus recheck for any damage, cause Trinis are very sneaky.

i have some examples from the last 6 months

1)Customer ORDERED a brand new phone and made a $500 downpayment (phone cost was $4000)
now this is a phone i would never bring on my own because people never ask for it and it would be impossible to get sold.

after phone reach, customer say he get one locally and want a refund. I told him no, he bring a police padna to try to threaten me.

2) Customer had us install a iphone 5s assembly, after a week, he come back complaining it not working how it have a deadspot, now i mark all my parts with a stamp that can only be seen under black light , turn out the customer had switched the screen for another damaged one and was more or less trying to rob me a new screen

3) customer bought a used phone from me then come back a week later saying it not getting service, apparently he didn't realize that his receipt as well as my copy have the imei of the phone he bought from me and the phone he trying to give me back is not the phone i sold him

4) customer had us change a phone assembly, come back a 3 weeks later saying the phone stop working just so just so, on opening the phone we find a set of liquid that look like coffee on the whole board, then he say "oh yeah it really fall in a cup of coffee"

Postby X_Factor » January 26th, 2015, 1:30 pm

i actually dont mind paying a lil 10% re-stocking fee for returned items....
and lets say i go to buy a fridge and i returned it because my wife didnt like the colour...then fine i will accept the charge
but lets say it has a defect or does not work how it suppose to and i return it..you better not pull that stunt....
BUT i will confirm terms of sale before hand and if i do not like it i usually walk away....

src1983

Postby src1983 » January 26th, 2015, 1:40 pm

X_Factor wrote:i actually dont mind paying a lil 10% re-stocking fee for returned items....
and lets say i go to buy a fridge and i returned it because my wife didnt like the colour...then fine i will accept the charge
but lets say it has a defect or does not work how it suppose to and i return it..you better not pull that stunt....
BUT i will confirm terms of sale before hand and if i do not like it i usually walk away....

Well folks I will take it back cause it's defective, I would even send a truck to pick it back up

But with dealers and manufactures this is the policy

Whirlpool - will send a technician to repair the fridge if unable to repair they will exchange

Consol - They would send a tech, if he finds that it's manufacture defect he will let me send the exchange

I really don't like whirlpools current policy as sometimes it could be very frustrating for the customer when repeat problem occur. In these instances I just take the item back

Postby supercharged turbo » January 26th, 2015, 1:53 pm

I don't mind paying a re-stocking fee as well once is reasonable like 10-12%.I make sure and do proper research before buying an item ie: make sure that it can suit my application,it is the best value for money,etc.Never had to return an item other than for manufacturer's defect but i agree with u about some trinis buying items without proper research and then wanting to return it like it doesn't affect you.There are plenty instances of that but there are even more of seller's not wanting to give a refund.If a warehouse can hold 100 furniture sets,obviously you shouldn't stock to capacity.This is Trinidad,you would ALWAYS have people who bought something that was not suitable for them and they can't use it.I would keep it to abt 98% full just to cater for those who return.

@aba...what was de outcome of situation 1?

src1983

Postby src1983 » January 26th, 2015, 1:57 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:I don't mind paying a re-stocking fee as well once is reasonable like 10-12%.I make sure and do proper research before buying an item ie: make sure that it can suit my application,it is the best value for money,etc.Never had to return an item other than for manufacturer's defect but i agree with u about some trinis buying items without proper research and then wanting to return it like it doesn't affect you.There are plenty instances of that but there are even more of seller's not wanting to give a refund.If a warehouse can hold 100 furniture sets,obviously you shouldn't stock to capacity.This is Trinidad,you would ALWAYS have people who bought something that was not suitable for them and they can't use it.I would keep it to abt 98% full just to cater for those who return.

@aba...what was de outcome of situation 1?

It's difficult as I have items for persons on layaway and also waiting collection like I said before this wasn't a out of the hat decision. It's also a rare situation