wah Wireless Router does work bess with flow??

Pinz

wah Wireless Router does work bess with flow??

Postby Pinz » December 8th, 2014, 8:41 am

have four cisco routers, each one is d same problem when I connect it to the flow modem, random moments the internet connection dropping and I have to Unplug the router and plug it back in...any recommendations??

Re: wah Wireless Router does work bess with flow??

Postby Redman » December 8th, 2014, 8:45 am

Ive used a Linksys wrt 600n since 2008.

No issues-good range too.

Pinz

Postby Pinz » December 8th, 2014, 8:51 am

Redman wrote:Ive used a Linksys wrt 600n since 2008.

No issues-good range too.

wah is d price of one so?

Postby maj. tom » December 8th, 2014, 9:03 am

setting the MTU correctly may help with connection drops.

http://kb.linksys.com/Linksys/ukp.aspx? ... icleid=386

Postby Redman » December 8th, 2014, 9:05 am

Amazon has the newer models for under 100 USD

Postby teems1 » December 8th, 2014, 1:05 pm

Buy a mini fan and use it to cool your router.

It will stop dropping.

Postby 1UZFE » December 8th, 2014, 1:25 pm

Netgear or nothing.

Postby sliderz1 » December 8th, 2014, 3:32 pm

netgear crew joining in

Postby ruffneck_12 » December 8th, 2014, 4:04 pm

linkshit is always sheit, unless you buy the top end ones

Postby SMc » December 8th, 2014, 4:13 pm

Pinz wrote:have four cisco routers, each one is d same problem when I connect it to the flow modem, random moments the internet connection dropping and I have to Unplug the router and plug it back in...any recommendations??

First question..do you need four routers to be connected to 1 modem in order to get done what you want to get done?

Second question..you you be happy paying business rates if this alleviated the problem?

Pinz

Postby Pinz » December 8th, 2014, 4:31 pm

SMc wrote:
Pinz wrote:have four cisco routers, each one is d same problem when I connect it to the flow modem, random moments the internet connection dropping and I have to Unplug the router and plug it back in...any recommendations??

First question..do you need four routers to be connected to 1 modem in order to get done what you want to get done?

Second question..you you be happy paying business rates if this alleviated the problem?

when I say I have four routers that doesn't mean they are working simultaneously...each router I connect (Individually) I get the same issue and they are all cisco routers......

Postby SMc » December 8th, 2014, 4:38 pm

you have not answered either question...

src1983

Postby src1983 » December 9th, 2014, 10:04 am

How did you set them up, are they like:

Flow modem > Switch > 4 CISCO

or

Flow modem > Cisco 1 > Cisco 2 > Cisco 3 > Cisco 4
?

Pinz

Postby Pinz » December 9th, 2014, 2:34 pm

src1983 wrote:

How did you set them up, are they like:

Flow modem > Switch > 4 CISCO

or

Flow modem > Cisco 1 > Cisco 2 > Cisco 3 > Cisco 4
?

all not connect
Flow modem > Cisco

only when I get problems I try another but all does the same problem

Postby DFC » December 9th, 2014, 2:44 pm

i have my flow router outside in the hall room and i dont get good reception in my room which is 10 ft away.

So i put the PC in the hallroom and the router in my room and it works fine now.

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 9th, 2014, 2:45 pm

Apple extreme

[/thread]

Pinz

Postby Pinz » December 9th, 2014, 3:01 pm

DFC wrote:i have my flow router outside in the hall room and i dont get good reception in my room which is 10 ft away.

So i put the PC in the hallroom and the router in my room and it works fine now.

flow have routers? flow didn't give me a router...

Postby redmanjp » December 9th, 2014, 3:20 pm

OP u use torrents btw? plenty simultaneous connections can overload some routers

nismodriver

Postby nismodriver » December 9th, 2014, 8:21 pm

Linksys E4200 works well!

src1983

Postby src1983 » December 10th, 2014, 12:03 pm

This is how I use the Cisco routers, most do this:

Flow/Blink(internet DHCP) > Cisco (Internal DHCP,Wireless)

I always had problems with this set up until I did this:

Flow/Blink (Internet/internal DHCP) > Cisco (acts as a switch that broadcasts wireless/NO DHCP)

No problems

nismodriver

Postby nismodriver » December 15th, 2014, 8:36 pm

thelem wrote:Linksys is sheit. I bought an E4200 and it's the worst.

My flow router works bess.

Mind I ask what issues you got?
I haven't had any thus far, using it on a 200Mbps package with cameras, Smart TV, tablets, laptops and phones. No issues to connect, once you do a wifi analyze and ensure your on clear channel, or just turn up 5Ghz SSID.

Arcmanov

Postby Arcmanov » December 15th, 2014, 8:47 pm

src1983 wrote:

Flow/Blink (Internet/internal DHCP) > Cisco (acts as a switch that broadcasts wireless/NO DHCP)

No problems

Can you access the Flow modem's config pages to turn on DHCP?
I know it's very easy to do so with Blink's modems, but how exactly do you do so with any of Flow's modems?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 15th, 2014, 9:01 pm

switched from a Linksys to an Apple Airport Extreme and it is a major major improvement

src1983

Postby src1983 » December 15th, 2014, 9:26 pm

Arcmanov wrote:
src1983 wrote:

No problems

Can you access the Flow modem's config pages to turn on DHCP?
I know it's very easy to do so with Blink's modems, but how exactly do you do so with any of Flow's modems?

By default this supposed to be on, as it must give an internal address

Arcmanov

Postby Arcmanov » December 15th, 2014, 9:36 pm

Will it give DHCP addresses to multiple devices though, or just the 1st device you connect to it?

Postby Rainman » December 15th, 2014, 9:57 pm

Wrt54g on dd-wrt firmware.

8-)

src1983

Postby src1983 » December 15th, 2014, 10:03 pm

Arcmanov wrote:Will it give DHCP addresses to multiple devices though, or just the 1st device you connect to it?

Multiple

Arcmanov

Postby Arcmanov » December 15th, 2014, 10:18 pm

Nice.

I'll have to experiment with that config when I have time.

Right now I'm using an Asus RT-N66U with Tomato firmware, and I have ZERO issues.

Custom router firmware hard like Zulu feet. :lol:

src1983

Postby src1983 » December 16th, 2014, 2:08 pm

Arcmanov wrote:Nice.

I'll have to experiment with that config when I have time.

Right now I'm using an Asus RT-N66U with Tomato firmware, and I have ZERO issues.

Custom router firmware hard like Zulu feet. :lol:

Note, when using this set up go to your config options and un-check [Gateway]

Chipz

Postby Chipz » December 16th, 2014, 3:42 pm

Asus, TP Link or Ubiquiti