What are some of your fav headunits/ decks?

~snYper~

What are some of your fav headunits/ decks?

Postby ~snYper~ » August 26th, 2005, 2:12 pm

Anyone have any favourite headunits they'd like to post here? I'm also looking at some of the reasons why you like/ chose the particular brand/ model

Suggestions would be appreciated

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » August 26th, 2005, 5:43 pm

yo, i seen a pyramid cd deck. its da bomb diggity.
real pretty. had "high output" written on the "detachable panel".

ravestarfx

Postby ravestarfx » August 26th, 2005, 7:44 pm

i have seen a RAPTOR

it is hott for days.....

it said the same thing like the pyramid "High Output"

and also has " High Fidelty, Crystal Sound " on the detachable face

the display was real pretty too

SnipeR

Postby SnipeR » August 26th, 2005, 8:43 pm

^^LOL....on a serious note i like the Pioneer Premier DEH-P8MP. I linkin the pre-out levels (6.5) and i always liked pioneer products....

http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/pna/a ... 79,00.html

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » August 27th, 2005, 8:37 am

im really liking the clarion copper chassis deck.
think its the dxz9255.

Picasso

Postby Picasso » August 27th, 2005, 5:37 pm

Alpine all the way jed.. I currently have a Pioneer cant remember the code cause I have it a year now...I am thinking of getting the black one that plays DVD's and MP3's or a base line Alpine deck to just cleans things up a bit :|

Sully

Postby Sully » August 28th, 2005, 10:49 pm

I'm waiting on Alpine to make a IVA-D910. If they have plans of it at all.

~snYper~

Postby ~snYper~ » August 29th, 2005, 8:57 am

nice niec... any more?

What models you guys using right now? Any complaints/ 'woulda prefer if's'

Postby Hook » August 29th, 2005, 10:16 am

I've used the Pioneer DEH1500 and the Kenwood MPV5025 before...

the pioneer is very limited with respect to features and the pre-amp voltage output but is very simple to use and reads just about any condition CD to put in there...the Kenwood played clean at higher volumes but EQ settings were very limited and the menus were a chore to hafta use

using CDA 7894 right now...nice HU but I believe it has a tendency to up the bass slightly at lower volumes...but that may well be the amplifier tho
and as u approach say 80% of ur total volume it helps to have ur subwoofer volume as low as possible to avoid it clipping the signal

those are minor things to get around...but ah woulda prefer if the treble setting on the Alpine EQ had a bandwidth adjustment just like the bass setting and that u could adjust the Q point of the subwoofer section

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » August 31st, 2005, 7:20 pm

ALPINE - CDA-9835 I REALLY LIKE THIS CAUSE IT SO USER FRIENDLY PLUS IT ALLOWS ALOT OF TUNNING OPTIONS, I REALLY ,REALY LIKE THAT ALPINE ALLOWS U TO SAVE SO MANY CROSS-OVER AND EQ SETTING , THIS ENABLES ME TO TUNE MY SYSYEM TO SUIT MY MOOD AT A TOUCH OF A BUTTON, PLUS ALL THESE SETTINGS CAN BE DONE ON-LINE AND SAVED ON A CD ,SO U CAN INSTALL THEM EAISLY INCASE YUH BATTRY IS DISCONNECTED, ALSO WITH THE AI-NET CONNECTOR IT WAS EASY FOR ME TO ROUTE THE AUDIO FROM THE DVD PLAYER THRU THE HEAD UNIT

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » August 31st, 2005, 9:20 pm

gossip.... a certain tuner has just recieved his premier dex-p9 and deq-p9.
damn its hot.

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » August 31st, 2005, 9:33 pm

yeah so it lives up to all the rave ?

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » August 31st, 2005, 10:11 pm

i eh know. the "guy' eh hook it up yet.

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » August 31st, 2005, 10:12 pm

he stickingggggg

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » August 31st, 2005, 10:20 pm

i was mackoing thru the manuals.. the deq is very very complex. the time delay is outta this world.
dont think i would enjoy sitting in the car with all that pink noise fiddling with some knobs to adjust nah. much prefer my eqt's anyday.

Postby SR » August 31st, 2005, 10:30 pm

the pioneer set up is used by quite a few top sound q competitors internationally

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » August 31st, 2005, 10:35 pm

well i gues we will have one nationally now now.

DE AUDIO

Postby DE AUDIO » August 31st, 2005, 10:38 pm

Eclipse makes pretty decent stuff.....used a couple of the older models myself and was quite impressed by the quality in sound it produces......havent tried the new model ones as yet but would be playing with them shortly.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » August 31st, 2005, 10:44 pm

nebody dig up with the copper chassis clarion and used the fiber optic output?

Postby SR » September 1st, 2005, 8:23 am

alpine's copper chassis unit from about 8 years ago was da bomb with optical out

~snYper~

Postby ~snYper~ » September 1st, 2005, 8:28 am

I knew a guy who had one... Steven from 'Rhino Sounds'. He used the Digital Out with the Processor.

I wasn't too impressed with its performance, but thaas prolly becuz of his 'tuning capability' (as if he had any) :roll:

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » September 1st, 2005, 8:39 am

SR wrote:alpine's copper chassis unit from about 8 years ago was da bomb with optical out

i know a guy who gpts 2 of em :roll: :roll: :roll:

TK!

Postby TK! » September 1st, 2005, 11:54 am

a certain store had one of those.. do they still have it?

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » September 1st, 2005, 12:06 pm

nope. i checked.

Postby SR » September 1st, 2005, 12:47 pm

i know where it is now together with a certain time alignment unit as well

~snYper~

Postby ~snYper~ » September 1st, 2005, 1:03 pm

all ah dis undercover talk bizness eh man.......shims

*looks for a code book*

deciphering the word "certain store"

hmmm interesting..........

http://www.google.tt/search?hs=dQC&hl=en&client=firefox-a&rls=org.mozilla%3Aen-US%3Aofficial_s&q=car+audio+code+breaker&btnG=Search

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » September 1st, 2005, 1:21 pm

SR wrote:i know where it is now together with a certain time alignment unit as well

thats a big 10-4. i located those units.
they are locked down.
the transportation unit is out of compliance at the moment however.

*waiting for snyper to catch on*

Postby SR » September 1st, 2005, 1:32 pm

probably needs to compete or actually show up at a show to understand the code

fuzz_174

Postby fuzz_174 » September 1st, 2005, 2:49 pm

i own a premier P8 headunit and i am impressed with it so far..no complaints.. :mrgreen:

~snYper~

Postby ~snYper~ » September 1st, 2005, 3:48 pm

roger that nigel1977

I am receiving your signal loud and clear....

SR wrote:probably needs to compete or actually show up at a show to understand the code

we will rendezvous at the next location @ 1200 hours...

over and out

*pull out ballers*

lets rumble
8)