Greyfriars Church of Scotland on Frederick Street

Cid

Greyfriars Church of Scotland on Frederick Street

Postby Cid » December 1st, 2014, 11:09 am

Didnt see anything on the forums about this yet....
whoever it is real wicked to do this

Re: Greyfriars Church of Scotland on Frederick Street

Postby j.o.e » December 1st, 2014, 11:11 am

Wicked why? It's their property to do what they please. If it was worth saving the Gov't should have bought it......most of the Magnificent 7 is languishing in disrepair anyway so who is Gov't trying to fool?

Postby SR » December 1st, 2014, 11:14 am

Exactly

Cid

Postby Cid » December 1st, 2014, 11:22 am

why is it about the government??, they were in negotiations to stop it yea but organizations as well as citizens were there on site to try to preserve this piece of the country's history..

Postby K74T » December 1st, 2014, 11:22 am

j.o.e wrote:Wicked why? It's their property to do what they please. If it was worth saving the Gov't should have bought it......most of the Magnificent 7 is languishing in disrepair anyway so who is Gov't trying to fool?

This...

All the people who crying down about the demolition, why didn't they all pitch in financially to "save" the building?

Postby MG Man » December 1st, 2014, 11:26 am

Cid wrote:why is it about the government??, they were in negotiations to stop it yea but organizations as well as citizens were there on site to try to preserve this piece of the country's history..

this building has been there for years...where were the concerned citizens all this time? Why was nobody talking to the owner all these years?
Now that the man has an opportunity to make some profit, suddenly he's the bad one for not 'waiting while negotiations are going on'?
bollocks

tizik 2nr

Postby tizik 2nr » December 1st, 2014, 11:37 am

this building has been there for years...where were the concerned citizens all this time? Why was nobody talking to the owner all these years?
Now that the man has an opportunity to make some profit, suddenly he's the bad one for not 'waiting while negotiations are going on'?
bollocks

Exactly!

Trinis love to be self righteous in retrospect....

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » December 1st, 2014, 11:43 am

from seeing on d tv news that 1\2 d roof done break up & a big chunk of wall too , will d new owner [d govt if they buy it due to public pressure] have to foot d bill to build back all that & refurb d whole thing too ?

sounds like a heap of unnecessary $ to spend ..... :|

Cid

Postby Cid » December 1st, 2014, 11:46 am

gyad, everybody so uptight and on the side of the noble businessman , ....i guess sometimes u dont miss something unless you about to loose it . I not taking sides, i just saying that he should have at least waited till negotiations over, it was wicked of him to do it sunday night ,its a piece of T&T's history after all .....to late tho , nothing can come of this ...

Postby eliteauto » December 1st, 2014, 11:48 am

Cid tell me more about this history, very interested to know more about the building

Postby MG Man » December 1st, 2014, 11:50 am

and so...
dumbass.jpg
dumbass.jpg (36.24 KiB) Viewed 4549 times

Postby j.o.e » December 1st, 2014, 11:54 am

Cid wrote:gyad, everybody so uptight and on the side of the noble businessman , ....i guess sometimes u dont miss something unless you about to loose it . I not taking sides, i just saying that he should have at least waited till negotiations over, it was wicked of him to do it sunday night ,its a piece of T&T's history after all .....to late tho , nothing can come of this ...

No brah....you called the man wicked. At that point you took sides

Backstory from August

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/I-f ... 70961.html

Port of Spain businessman/Natrust Ltd chief executive officer (CEO) Alfred Galy said a team comprising an architect and an engineer will advise him on the future of Greyfriars Church of Scotland, on Frederick Street, Port of Spain, by mid-September. He also said the National Trust should prioritise which buildings it intended to save since it was virtually impossible to save all the dilapidated historical edifices.

Galy also said he felt compelled to purchase Greyfriars Church since he is a patron of the arts, appreciates fine architecture and aesthetics.

Greyfriars shot into the spotlight after the Presbyterian community, historians and conservationists feared the edifice would be destroyed. The Trust issued a statement indicating the building will be listed ‘afforded protected status’. But the process is tedious and requires surveys, valuations and planning.

Interviewed at his Frederick Street office yesterday, Galy, 84, said: “I have an architect and an engineer looking at it. They will get back to me by mid-September. They will advise us on the way forward. I can’t disclose their names right now. In due course, everything will come out.”

Galy developed a passion for the church. He said: “I used to pass there as a boy on my way to St Mary’s College. I used to hear a lot of singing and music. The hall would be decked out at Christmas time.”

But he noticed a falling away at Greyfriars. Galy said: “About 10 years ago, not an ants.”

Asked if he had ever worshipped there or attended an event, Galy said: “No. I am a Roman Catholic. The site is strategic. It is more than 120 years old.”

Turning his attention to the National Trust, Galy said: “Not all buildings are good for restoration. The Trust has to understand they cannot save everything. Some of the buildings artists have to draw drawings, put the dates and say these buildings were once part of our landscape.”

Galy added: “Queens’ Royal College (QRC) is a beautifully restored building. I know the Anglican Church (Rev Claude Berkley) is struggling with Hayes Court. Restoration is expensive. Stollmeyer’s Castle is there about 35 to 40 years and they are not fixing it. Mille Fleurs is in need of work.”

He said the Port of Spain hospital’s architecture should be salvaged.

“Gut the inside of the building, fix it but keep it. It is a beautiful building,” said Galy.

When contacted yesterday, Dr Rodger Samuel, Minister of National Diversity and Social Integration, said: “I met with the Trust and the Ministry and the National Trust will be looking into the matter.”

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » December 1st, 2014, 12:03 pm

the owner in an interview a few weeks ago said he bought for business and if the govt wants the property then make him an offer.

Postby RBphoto » December 1st, 2014, 12:34 pm

ANnnnddd... the R.C. church are not a bunch of A-holes for selling the monument to a businessman to demolish because.... God? Why is nobody asking for answers from the R.C. Church?

Postby Rainman » December 1st, 2014, 12:50 pm

RBphoto wrote:? Why is nobody asking for answers from the R.C. Church?

we answer to no one #luminadee

Postby eliteauto » December 1st, 2014, 12:54 pm

but the church was Presbyterian so what the Catholics have to do with its sale?

*holds up Roc Nation triangle*

Postby Dizzy28 » December 1st, 2014, 12:55 pm

RBphoto wrote:ANnnnddd... the R.C. church are not a bunch of A-holes for selling the monument to a businessman to demolish because.... God? Why is nobody asking for answers from the R.C. Church?

This!!! Why would any businessman buy something just to preserve it unless that was his intention to start with.

So if one day someone decide to say my old thatch roof ajoupa is a historical treasure I can't break it down and build a bungalow?

dassyboy

Postby dassyboy » December 1st, 2014, 1:02 pm

Cid wrote:Didnt see anything on the forums about this yet....

bet if pnm was in power they would have saved it

Postby j.o.e » December 1st, 2014, 1:11 pm

RBphoto wrote:ANnnnddd... the R.C. church are not a bunch of A-holes for selling the monument to a businessman to demolish because.... God? Why is nobody asking for answers from the R.C. Church?

uhhhhh wtf Roman Catholics have to do with this tho? :roll:
Last edited by j.o.e on December 1st, 2014, 2:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.

dassyboy

Postby dassyboy » December 1st, 2014, 1:21 pm

but dont worry mr ramdeen you have god to answer to bet if it was a temple you would have never do that

DTAC

Postby DTAC » December 1st, 2014, 1:22 pm

It was torn down because Wayne Kublalsingh didn't hunger strike to save it.

Postby ruffneck_12 » December 1st, 2014, 1:23 pm

PNM again nah

Postby j.o.e » December 1st, 2014, 1:25 pm

dassyboy wrote:but dont worry mr ramdeen you have god to answer to bet if it was a temple you would have never do that

Is it that you know Mr Ramdeen's religion...or are temple jumbies worse? :shocked!:

nismoid

Postby nismoid » December 1st, 2014, 1:36 pm

dassyboy wrote:

but dont worry mr ramdeen you have god to answer to bet if it was a temple you would have never do that

Do you know this Mr. Ramdeen well enough to make that statement? or are you just assuming because of his name?

Postby Dizzy28 » December 1st, 2014, 1:40 pm

dassyboy wrote:

Because he is an Indian you assume he is Hindu??
What a broadbrush you paint with!!

Computerman

Postby Computerman » December 1st, 2014, 3:51 pm

Published: Tuesday, November 18, 2014
Demolition permit sought for Greyfriars

Postby zoom rader » December 1st, 2014, 4:21 pm

In the UK you are not allowed to distroy any old churches . So investors buy them up and convert them into offices, pubs and night clubs. There is one in Abderdeen call the Soul Bar which is a banging bar.

https://www.facebook.com/SoulAberdeen?sk=wall

Postby K74T » December 1st, 2014, 4:23 pm

That's great, this ain't the UK though.

Postby zoom rader » December 1st, 2014, 4:36 pm

K74T wrote:That's great, this ain't the UK though.

Yeah kinda sad Trini is primative and does not care about its pass.
There are no laws for this so the bussines man has his rights to do what ever he wants with it.

Postby 1UZFE » December 1st, 2014, 5:02 pm

dassyboy wrote:

bet if pnm was in power they would have saved it

Bet if my dieck was in yuh battam u wuda like it. :smile: