Digicel Mulls Banning VOIP in Jamaica (Coming soon to T&T?)

2WNBoost

Digicel Mulls Banning VOIP in Jamaica (Coming soon to T&T?)

Postby 2WNBoost » June 29th, 2014, 1:47 pm

Already implemented in Hati

It just seems like a money grab, the customer is already paying for a block of data.
The customer should be able to use that data for whatever internet service they choose.
If this is allowed to stand the providers will keep trying to squeeze more money out of everyone.
Left unchecked they will be asking for a cut of all transactions done via their network.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/20140629/business/business2.html
Digicel Mulls Banning Viber, Other 'Unlicensed' VoIP Services In Jamaica

Published: Sunday | June 29, 2014

Jamaican users of free voice over Internet protocol (VoIP) services such as Viber may soon be denied access via the Digicel network if recent developments in Haiti are anything to go by.

As of June 17, Digicel Haiti, the largest telecommunications company in the French-speaking country, has taken a hard stand against "unlicensed" but popular VoIP applications by blocking them.

Digicel wants the app service providers to enter into formal business arrangements, in order to traffic their services through its network.

Apart from Viber, the banned applications in Haiti also include Tango, and Nimbuzz. The services allow customers to make free calls or send free text messages to other customers on those services.

VoIP services are "very popular" both in Jamaica and around the world, Dean Smith, president of the Jamaica Computer Society, told Sunday Business.

WhatsApp is the most popular, but Viber is growing in popularity, especially in non-traditional countries, Smith said.

"Unlicensed VoIP operators like Viber and Nimbuzz use telecoms networks to deliver their services, but they do not pay any money for the privilege," Antonia Graham, head of communications for the Digicel Group told Sunday Business.

The unauthorised activity "puts enormous pressures on bandwidth - which means customers' data usage experience is negatively impacted as a result", she said.

"As such, Digicel has been forced to take firm action to prevent this parasitic activity," she said.

Digicel has not ruled out blocking such VoIP services in Jamaica.

"This is currently the case only for Haiti but we are actively considering our options in other countries," Graham said.

"It's important to point out that VoIP services by their nature are network intensive and given priority in terms of delivery across the network - which in turn means that other customers' browsing will be impacted," she said.

Digicel uses a separate network for voice so that quality on its 4G network is not impacted by its own voice service, Graham said.

"Put plainly, we invest millions in our network and our business, and the VoIP providers use and benefit from that with no investment of their own," Graham said.

"The situation is untenable on a medium to long term basis and so we are taking a stand."

It is possible that the restrictions will be lifted, if the services agree to pay up - which would mean no more free calling or texting on those services.

Discussions with the VoIP providers are ongoing and "Digicel is hopeful that these measures will only be temporary and that a commercial relationship can be agreed with them on an individual basis," Graham said.

LIME is also known to be concerned about the effect of VoIP on its network, but did not respond to requests for comment.
Last edited by 2WNBoost on June 29th, 2014, 2:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

sonygoup

Re: Digicel Mulls Banning VOIP in Jamaica (Coming soon to T&

Postby sonygoup » June 29th, 2014, 1:51 pm

Interesting

Postby pioneer » June 29th, 2014, 2:56 pm

Not surprised, that's how digicel/flow/tv6 operates.

Postby ismithx » June 29th, 2014, 3:02 pm

what retarded sheit is that logic, the consumer of the data paying, what else these greedy companies want?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 29th, 2014, 3:03 pm

the TATT could ensure that this does not happen, however Digicel, or any provider or that matter, can block whatever wish on their data plan. Bmobile could continue to allow it to be competitive and then there is always wifi.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 29th, 2014, 5:05 pm

Seems LIME is in on it too! Customers claim LIME just sent this text to customers in Jamaica

"LIME is restricting all services that use IP Interconnect for unauthorised access to our networks. This includes Viber and Tango."

Postby S_2NR » June 29th, 2014, 7:51 pm

Well its really simple. Everyone should cut their data. When they start to see losses in mass, they will backpedal so fast it won't be funny

Postby desifemlove » June 29th, 2014, 9:14 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:the TATT could ensure that this does not happen, however Digicel, or any provider or that matter, can block whatever wish on their data plan. Bmobile could continue to allow it to be competitive and then there is always wifi.

That's true. but not every has public wifi....downtown POS, Trincity/Gulf City/West mall/middle of Arima, middle of Chaguanas does have, but then if yuh travelling in a maxi or car you need a 4G plan.

Anyhow, dis ting screwed up cos Digical making money on their 4G network.

Postby desifemlove » June 29th, 2014, 9:17 pm

ismithx wrote:what retarded sheit is that logic, the consumer of the data paying, what else these greedy companies want?

Cos it greed as you saying...More Viber means less top-up revenue...

Postby tr1ad » June 29th, 2014, 9:59 pm

S_2NR wrote:Well its really simple. Everyone should cut their data. When they start to see losses in mass, they will backpedal so fast it won't be funny

You really feel in this country that would happen?
Hell when bread or chicken go up no one boycotts, what ever happen to the movietowne boycott

Daran

Postby Daran » June 29th, 2014, 11:31 pm

I see nothing wrong with this, Yes it's data but the bulk of their income in based on voice services.

Boycott them on this then the company's collapse and file bankruptcy, then you have no one to but your lil 4G from.

Postby Trini Hookah » June 29th, 2014, 11:35 pm

tr1ad wrote:
S_2NR wrote:Well its really simple. Everyone should cut their data. When they start to see losses in mass, they will backpedal so fast it won't be funny

You really feel in this country that would happen?
Hell when bread or chicken go up no one boycotts, what ever happen to the movietowne boycott

Headlights on tomorrow oar king?

Postby tr1ad » June 30th, 2014, 12:28 am

Wear green to protest

Postby S_2NR » June 30th, 2014, 2:29 am

Daran wrote:I see nothing wrong with this, Yes it's data but the bulk of their income in based on voice services.

Boycott them on this then the company's collapse and file bankruptcy, then you have no one to but your lil 4G from.

Bankruptcy?
What stupidness I reading here.
You really feel a company will go bankrupt before changing their policies to please their customers.

@ tr1ad . was referring to Jamaicans not here. They would actually put up a fight.

jusme

Postby jusme » June 30th, 2014, 4:28 am

Viber? Lolz #unaffected

whiteknight1431

Postby whiteknight1431 » June 30th, 2014, 5:40 am

Guys it's already here. We have be restricted by these telecommunications companies once you use one of their ridiculous " 4G social plans." Also these companies bmobile/ digicel are false advertising with their so called 4G speed. #JustSaying

Postby Rainman » June 30th, 2014, 6:52 am

Social plan? What sorcery is this?

Daran

Postby Daran » June 30th, 2014, 7:00 am

S_2NR wrote:
Daran wrote:I see nothing wrong with this, Yes it's data but the bulk of their income in based on voice services.

Bankruptcy?
What stupidness I reading here.
You really feel a company will go bankrupt before changing their policies to please their customers.

@ tr1ad . was referring to Jamaicans not here. They would actually put up a fight.

Lol are you an idiot?

You think pleasing a minority of customers is worth potentially destroying your main revenue stream.

Data accounts for 10% of their revenue, why allow free voip services to cut that 90% revenue.

Right now, both bmobile and digicel are investing so much in data capacity to give their customers better service and they won't be recouping these costs for some time.

#begrateful

Postby teems1 » June 30th, 2014, 10:11 am

dafuq, a packet of data is a packet of data... who cares what it encapsulates...

Not sure how corporations get away with this sheit in the Caribbean, it's not like the US where they have lobbyists to pay off politicians..

Postby S_2NR » June 30th, 2014, 10:17 am

yes, i will forever be grateful for bmobile's substandard "4g" service that im paying for. :roll:
you definitely work for tstt. only an employee of theirs would talk this level of sheit.
i had bmobile so called 4g for a month before cutting it clean off. couldnt justify paying $200 for crap.
if this happens here, just as duane said one company would block it and one wont and everybody affected will switch.

Postby pete » June 30th, 2014, 10:35 am

I think I remember reading in the terms of service for internet that it's not supposed to be used for voice transmissions here.

Postby AllTrac » June 30th, 2014, 11:25 am

how does this affect my pending phone loan?

Computerman

Postby Computerman » June 30th, 2014, 11:45 am

pete wrote:I think I remember reading in the terms of service for internet that it's not supposed to be used for voice transmissions here.
teems1 wrote:dafuq, a packet of data is a packet of data... who cares what it encapsulates.....

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » June 30th, 2014, 12:10 pm

TSTT smiles ... rapage is imminent

Postby desifemlove » June 30th, 2014, 2:05 pm

And? Digi has shitty service compared to Bmobile in all areas...

And so what? just use public wifi to make voip calls....or incentive for somebody to come and install a viable public VoIP.....it's the plan to get rid of POTS, make it happen sooner than later.

Postby Bizzare » June 30th, 2014, 2:59 pm

*Purchase a couple servers to act as proxy/intermediary servers.

*Create a hacked client for each of those apps that would usually transmit data through VoIP ("banned apps"). The hacked app would send the data with altered header information (to bypass ban) to the proxy servers.

*The proxy server is connected to the web via another internet service that allows VoIP. It would translate the data and send it, now with the correct headers, to the respective servers. (Tango, Whatsapp, etc). It would then alter the header of the response from those servers and send it back to the hacked client which would then translate that data.

*Distribute hacked apps and charge monthly subscription fee to the proxy server.

*PROFIT!!

pseudorandom

Postby pseudorandom » July 1st, 2014, 2:51 am

Don't know specifically about Trinidad law, but my understanding of legal issues involving VoIP in general for many countries is that the telecommunications laws regulate operators who provide voice service. Now a voice service is just that, providing voice service no matter what the underlying technology is behind it, whether POTS, GSM or data (VoIP). A company like Viber providing a voice service within the country, is not regulated by the telecommunications laws of the country, and therefore becomes an illegal unlicensed operator. What makes it worse, is that the unlicensed operator piggybacks for free off the networks that the licensed operators spent billions of dollars in investment. The licensed operators have right to take notice and protect their investment, and the telecommunications laws support it.

Just looking at the other point of view.

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » July 1st, 2014, 9:04 pm

pseudorandom wrote:Don't know specifically about Trinidad law, but my understanding of legal issues involving VoIP in general for many countries is that the telecommunications laws regulate operators who provide voice service. Now a voice service is just that, providing voice service no matter what the underlying technology is behind it, whether POTS, GSM or data (VoIP). A company like Viber providing a voice service within the country, is not regulated by the telecommunications laws of the country, and therefore becomes an illegal unlicensed operator. What makes it worse, is that the unlicensed operator piggybacks for free off the networks that the licensed operators spent billions of dollars in investment. The licensed operators have right to take notice and protect their investment, and the telecommunications laws support it.

Just looking at the other point of view.

Can't the same argument be made for any streaming media service being an unlicensed broadcaster?
Should these services be blocked also?
Maybe they should block Youtube to start with, considering the amount of bandwidth the service gobbles up.

Enjoy your 1990's internet along with your Sega Genesis.

TRDGUY

Postby TRDGUY » July 1st, 2014, 9:27 pm

Na I on Lime all now and was using viber in Jamaica last week and in Barbados today . Something in the making perhaps. However that's total dew dew

Postby nervewrecker » July 1st, 2014, 9:54 pm

Gosh, no more facebook