Today Feb 11 2014 is The Day We Fight Back

Postby S_2NR » February 11th, 2014, 9:04 pm

TODAY, FEBRUARY 11TH, 2014 IS
THE DAY WE FIGHT BACK
AGAINST MASS SURVEILLANCE

THE FACTS
The NSA "has secretly broken into the main communications links that connect Yahoo and Google data centers around the world."
— THE NEW YORK TIMES
The NSA "is harvesting hundreds of millions of contact lists from personal e-mail and instant messaging accounts around the world."
— WASHINGTON POST

The NSA "is gathering nearly 5 billion records a day on the whereabouts of cellphones around the world."
— WASHINGTON POST
The NSA collects the content and metadata of emails, web activity, chats, social networks, and everything else from fiber-optic cables "that carry much of the world's Internet and phone data."
— WASHINGTON POST

NSA "officers on several occasions have channeled their agency's enormous eavesdropping power to spy on love interests."
— THE NEW YORK TIMES
NSA "is secretly piggybacking” on Internet advertisers' "cookies" and location data “to pinpoint targets for government hacking and to bolster surveillance."
— WASHINGTON POST

WHAT WE CAN DO
Governments worldwide need to know that mass surveillance, like that conducted by the NSA, is always a violation of our inalienable human rights.

Over the past year, more than 360 organizations in over 70 countries have come together to support the International Principles on the Application of Human Rights to Communications Surveillance.

These thirteen Principles establish the human rights obligations of any government conducting surveillance. They are the core of an international movement to compel all states to stop the mass spying of the innocent. The Principles are already being used in national campaigns and international pressure to reign in spies including the NSA.

TAKE PART
By signing the Principles, you will show that you're part of a movement that knows mass surveillance is a violation of international human rights law.

We'll use your signature, with thousands of others, to pressure governments and international institutions to forbid mass surveillance anywhere in the world.

https://thedaywefightback.org/international/

fouljuice

Re: Today Feb 11 2014 is The Day We Fight Back

Postby fouljuice » February 11th, 2014, 9:10 pm

Meem ha nuttn to hide

sonygoup

Postby sonygoup » February 11th, 2014, 9:11 pm

Interesting but we could never stop em even if we try

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 11th, 2014, 9:11 pm

suppose this is an NSA reverse troll to get your data?

Postby kurpal_v2 » February 11th, 2014, 9:24 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:suppose this is an NSA reverse troll to get your data?

So simple.

Postby meccalli » February 11th, 2014, 9:31 pm

Love how people doubted that this would ever happen 2 years ago. Anti gun laws, the works, nothing
's gonna stop em. Technology is already heading to thought control and mind analysis to 'supposedly* prevent terror attacks etc.

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » February 11th, 2014, 9:34 pm

Dey tap en to 3ne2nr too?

Postby Trini Hookah » February 11th, 2014, 9:34 pm

Interesting.

Posted via Typewriter

DTAC

Postby DTAC » February 11th, 2014, 10:09 pm

Big data, (not to mention the NSA's mega data) is so mind blowingly big now that an individual's information is lost in an ocean of information. you are probably as likely to win the lotto now than have an actual pair or human eyes actually see any of your personal data.

Postby shogun » February 11th, 2014, 10:18 pm

What i find especially funny, is that everyone orn facebook, twitter, instagram and every other social site.... posting every detail about their mundane lives and their location 24/hrs a day... then turning around and protesting being surveilled.

Postby A172 » February 11th, 2014, 10:21 pm

how u notice their lives mundane and where they are 24hrs a day?

Postby shogun » February 11th, 2014, 10:25 pm

Because i can read?

Postby A172 » February 11th, 2014, 10:29 pm

no doubt

Postby Trini Hookah » February 11th, 2014, 10:50 pm

Adobe wrote:Because i can read?

watch out, we got a reader in here

saxman642

Postby saxman642 » February 11th, 2014, 11:07 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:

Postby shogun » February 11th, 2014, 11:08 pm

Steups. Arses! :lol:

Postby shogun » February 11th, 2014, 11:19 pm

I don’t think you can turn in any direction these days without crossing the path of some news about the NSA and their total; and apparently unrestricted, surveillance of the world. Everyone seems to have something to say about the revelations that Glenn Greenwald has been doling out from the Edward Snowden information cache.

NSA mouthpieces say that Snowden should be hung. The New York Times editorial board pointlessly say he should be getting a pardon. Bloggers around the blogosphere chime in with cries about how our privacy is being invaded. Everyone is pointing fingers and I don’t know whether to laugh or just shake my head in disgust of the hypocrisy flowing everywhere.

The NSA
Look, let’s get something straight. The NSA, also known as the National Signals Agency, has one job, and only one job; which is to gather all the information they can by whatever means they can, on anyone that they feel like.

To think that given our incredible technological advances that a spy agency like the NSA wouldn’t use, and create, modern tools to make their job easier is an idiot. Of course they are and given the mindset following 9/11; and the overall governmental attitude from both Congress and the White House of do whatever it takes to get the job done, means it is a whole new ballgame.

The point can be made that they have greatly overstepped their bounds with their indiscriminate collection of data on both American citizens and foreign countries, and while I may agree with that point of view that isn’t the point of discussion here.

What is the point is the ridiculousness of people, and companies – especially tech companies – getting all up in arms about the NSA’s actions when what these companies do every day is exactly the same thing.

Social Media
As an overarching entity social media has been built around the very same idea as what the NSA is being condemned for. The constant collection of user information for use by companies and advertisers.

There are those out there that will immediately jump all over statements like that proclaiming that social media is all about the people and making new connections and friendships. In answer to that I can only say that anyone who spews that line is being totally disingenuous.

Social media has, and will always be about marketing, and as any marketer will tell you successful marketing requires as much information about a person; or groups of people, as possible. Prior to social media this meant things like focus groups, mass mail surveys, and seemingly innocuous things like loyalty cards.

With social media though marketing companies have a real time firehose of consumer information that doesn’t cost them anything near what pre-social media methods did. Plus people are falling all over themselves to give away this “personal” information. From services like Foursquare to Twitter, pinterest to Instagram, and tumblr to Facebook the flow of free consumer information to marketers continues unabated.

Of course some will point out that much of the information that the NSA is collecting is perceived as private information, like the meta information about phone calls or your use of the Internet. Well if you think that marketers and companies haven’t had access to that kind of information for years you are living in a dream world.

How many times have you signed up for some service to only find yourself suddenly getting all kinds of junk mail; or how about all that information you have handed over every time you use some air miles card. This doesn’t even take into account things like those telemarketers, who somehow start calling you on your unlisted phone number.

Now in the age of social media however, we seem to fall all over ourselves to give away just about everything we are doing in our lives. We give away what we are doing, where we are, what we are thinking, and most importantly what we are buying.

For marketers this is the veritable motherlode and they suck it up like a Dyson vacuum cleaner on overdrive. Our every move is watched, collected, and analysed for no other reason, or so we think, than to sell us stuff, or it is by companies who exist to be nothing more than funnels for marketers.

Facebook
Chief among them is Facebook, and really if we are being honest with ourselves Facebook is nothing more than a public sector NSA. Both of them indiscriminately collect information about us and both of them lock it away in vaults that they do everything they can to keep away from us. In the case of the NSA they share that information with government agencies whereas Facebook shares it with companies and marketers, for a price.

Everything that Facebook does is about getting us to knowingly, or unknowingly, share everything with, or perhaps through them. The company spends millions of finding more, and easier, ways to get you to divulge everything you are doing and thinking with your friends. Of course this sharing goes through them which means everything can be collected, stored, and analysed – just like the NSA.

Sure we might beyotch and moan about Facebook and its practices, but that hasn’t changed the way we use the service one iota. Facebook is still the largest social media network in the world with over 1.19 billion monthly users (as of September 30, 2013) and everyone one of those users is sharing something of value to both Facebook and marketers.

Our Privacy Hypocrisy
So here we are in 2014, the NSA is our favorite whipping boy and Facebook is still our favorite sharing ground, with the exception of when it makes a quickly corrected error. In both cases we have totally unrestricted data collection with absolutely no oversight. One is supposedly being done to protect us and the other is done to make money off of us.

It also doesn’t hurt that Facebook has accomplices, perhaps unwittingly, who champion this new world of openness. People like Robert Scoble or Leo Laporte talk at length about living in the open where everything they do is public. Of course we have people who deride openness champions like Robert or Leo but the fact is we are sharing more.

Sometimes our sharing becomes memes we laugh at, sometimes our sharing costs us jobs; but that doesn’t change the fact that the very thing we are lambasting the government and the NSA for we are doing willing every minute of the day, every day of the week, on sites like Facebook, Twitter, ad nauseum.

The fact is you can’t have both. You can’t do what you do everyday on sites like those and still rant and rave about the NSA invading your privacy. When it comes down to it the NSA could monitor every single social media outlet there is and be able to gather probably as much data, or maybe even more in some case, about us as they do currently; and they wouldn’t be breaching your privacy.

If you want to condemn the government and the NSA (and agencies like them around the world) then you have to do the same to Facebook, Twitter, Foursquare, and any other social media service you use. They all do the same thing – they collect your information and then resell it to the highest bidder.

In the case of the NSA it is the government and law enforcement. In the case of Facebook it is businesses and marketers.

If you believe there is any difference between the two then you are living in a dream world. Maybe one brought to you by Facebook and the companies buying your information.

http://www.winextra.com/tech/the-nsa-fa ... hypocrisy/

Postby maj. tom » February 12th, 2014, 12:55 am

NSA right now

Postby sharkman121 » February 12th, 2014, 4:14 am

Trini Hookah wrote:

wagonon20's

Postby wagonon20's » February 12th, 2014, 9:00 am

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1392210044.452155.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1392210044.452155.jpg (22.61 KiB) Viewed 4689 times

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 12th, 2014, 2:06 pm

damn, missed the memo

Postby X2 » February 13th, 2014, 10:11 am

all your post belong to us...

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » February 13th, 2014, 10:18 am

so...fight done?

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » February 13th, 2014, 10:28 am

already!?!?! I wanted to jook somebody in dey eye...

Postby Rainman » February 13th, 2014, 11:51 am

Soundwave wrote:already!?!?! I wanted to jook somebody in dey eye...

I miss the days when you spoke to me sexily while donning your best mosquito net.

Postby S_2NR » February 13th, 2014, 11:57 am

shogun wrote:What i find especially funny, is that everyone orn facebook, twitter, instagram and every other social site.... posting every detail about their mundane lives and their location 24/hrs a day... then turning around and protesting being surveilled.

people put their best food forward on facebook trying to make their lives seem better than it really is ....so if your friends look mundane well you know what that says about you..

kjaglal76

Postby kjaglal76 » February 13th, 2014, 11:58 am

Trini Hookah wrote:

bahahahhahahahhahahahaha

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » February 13th, 2014, 12:09 pm

S_2NR wrote:
shogun wrote:What i find especially funny, is that everyone orn facebook, twitter, instagram and every other social site.... posting every detail about their mundane lives and their location 24/hrs a day... then turning around and protesting being surveilled.

people put their best food forward on facebook trying to make their lives seem better than it really is ....so if your friends look mundane well you know what that says about you..

7 course meal to the world...

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » February 13th, 2014, 12:12 pm

Rainman wrote:
Soundwave wrote:already!?!?! I wanted to jook somebody in dey eye...

I miss the days when you spoke to me sexily while donning your best mosquito net.

Like sands through the hourglass... so are the Days of Our Lives...

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 13th, 2014, 3:14 pm

old vid, but look something for who like to put they whole life on FB