PNM wants Khan wife to resign

screwbash

Postby screwbash » November 16th, 2013, 6:14 am

While Health Minister Fuad Khan’s wife Carol Bhagan-Khan, may be well qualified for the job of NWRHA director of health, the problem is perception of favouritism, say two experts. Former head of the Public Service Reginald Dumas and Senior Counsel Israel Khan both cited perception as a problem in the situation.

They commented after Bhagan-Khan eventually picked up the post this month after topping applicants for it in April and getting the job. Following certain public criticism at the time, she said she was undecided. But she eventually took it in November after being asked again. Dumas said: “I truly sympathise with her. This is a very difficult issue as she’s between a ‘rock and a hard place’ and perhaps should have erred on the side of caution and refused the job in the interest of transparency.”

“In the interest of transparency, to which this government says it is wedded and given the poor political image it has in that area, it’s better to err on the side of caution and not take the job.

Wah the mudda front is this. When manning put hazel as a frontin minister where was Israel khan mouth? on manning dip stick?
This woman is a qualified professional not a dam dotish idiot that making up words like 'breakfazez" or some crap like dat.
I aint know who as israel khan and dumass dey opinion nah, why the front they didnt give manning they opinion then. Dam PNM supporters.

South Man

Re: PNM wants Khan wife to resign

Postby South Man » November 16th, 2013, 6:25 am

You seem upset.

Khan is that you!?

pjfred

Postby pjfred » November 16th, 2013, 6:29 am

He was serving breakfastsses!!!
This so dumb for someone to say that I had to try to spell it! Lolzzzz!

Postby Team Loco » November 16th, 2013, 6:33 am

There is not merit in this and no reason for her to resign

Postby zoom rader » November 16th, 2013, 6:38 am

Ppl forget that theifing lenny saith wife was on a state board .

Postby hustla_ambition101 » November 16th, 2013, 6:42 am

screwbash wrote:
While Health Minister Fuad Khan’s wife Carol Bhagan-Khan, may be well qualified for the job of NWRHA director of health, the problem is perception of favouritism, say two experts. Former head of the Public Service Reginald Dumas and Senior Counsel Israel Khan both cited perception as a problem in the situation.

They commented after Bhagan-Khan eventually picked up the post this month after topping applicants for it in April and getting the job. Following certain public criticism at the time, she said she was undecided. But she eventually took it in November after being asked again. Dumas said: “I truly sympathise with her. This is a very difficult issue as she’s between a ‘rock and a hard place’ and perhaps should have erred on the side of caution and refused the job in the interest of transparency.”

“In the interest of transparency, to which this government says it is wedded and given the poor political image it has in that area, it’s better to err on the side of caution and not take the job.

Wah the mudda front is this. When manning put hazel as a frontin minister where was Israel khan mouth? on manning dip stick?
This woman is a qualified professional not a dam dotish idiot that making up words like 'breakfazez" or some crap like dat.
I aint know who as israel khan and dumass dey opinion nah, why the front they didnt give manning they opinion then. Dam PNM supporters.

I real sorry for the people who does have to encounter illiterates like you on a daily basis yes

Postby r3iXmann » November 16th, 2013, 7:21 am

Team Loco wrote:There is not merit in this and no reason for her to resign

Yup. Because in this Banana Republic backwater, we have no concept of 'conflict of interest' and morality etc.

And because "them" do it, "we" could do it too.

That is why this place will never change 8-)

Postby Team Loco » November 16th, 2013, 7:40 am

Well where do we draw the lines of employment based on qualifications and knowing the person? Look at fuad and amery browne. Fuad has unofficially asked amery to fill the position based on his obvious qualificqtions and past history in that position. Thing is I agree some people use the relation in the job to entertain greed and special favours. But are we saying if I am a minister in government and my wife is very educated, does it mean my wife can no longer apply for a job in any government controlled biz? It should not be so

Postby eliteauto » November 16th, 2013, 8:28 am

illiteracy is a hell of a thing

Postby Redman » November 16th, 2013, 10:07 am

Team Loco wrote:Well where do we draw the lines of employment based on qualifications and knowing the person? Look at fuad and amery browne. Fuad has unofficially asked amery to fill the position based on his obvious qualificqtions and past history in that position. Thing is I agree some people use the relation in the job to entertain greed and special favours. But are we saying if I am a minister in government and my wife is very educated, does it mean my wife can no longer apply for a job in any government controlled biz? It should not be so

I think if some one is that educated they should know that they should stay away from the ministry that falls under their spouse's direct control.

Pretty basic imho

Postby SR » November 16th, 2013, 10:09 am

zoom rader wrote:Ppl forget that theifing lenny saith wife was on a state board .
they also forget she was held for shoplifting in florida as well

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » November 16th, 2013, 10:36 am

Loco I get what you're saying but unfortunately it's a necessary evil.
Conflict of Interest is a very vague but messy issue, and so his wife should've declined so that HE wouldn't have ended up in the hot seat!

Its a side effect of having such a high post in Government!!

screwbash

Postby screwbash » November 16th, 2013, 10:54 am

Redman wrote:
Team Loco wrote:Well where do we draw the lines of employment based on qualifications and knowing the person? Look at fuad and amery browne. Fuad has unofficially asked amery to fill the position based on his obvious qualificqtions and past history in that position. Thing is I agree some people use the relation in the job to entertain greed and special favours. But are we saying if I am a minister in government and my wife is very educated, does it mean my wife can no longer apply for a job in any government controlled biz? It should not be so

I think if some one is that educated they should know that they should stay away from the ministry that falls under their spouse's direct control.

Pretty basic imho

from what you are saying hazel was just as dotish as we all know she is

screwbash

Postby screwbash » November 16th, 2013, 10:57 am

~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:Loco I get what you're saying but unfortunately it's a necessary evil.
Conflict of Interest is a very vague but messy issue, and so his wife should've declined so that HE wouldn't have ended up in the hot seat!

How come patrick didnt end up in a hot seat??? where was all this ethics at that time ? where was 'all ah allyuh' mouth at that time? on patrick dipstick too? how come nuttin was said about our then education minister

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » November 16th, 2013, 11:04 am

This is the last time I'm going to post in this thread because I realise the ignorance level I'm dealing with here.

But as R3ixmann said.. Not because they did it, we could do it too.

That kind of mentality and thinking is very backward and counter-productive to progress at large!!

Unless you are personally related to the Khan's or something, I see no reason for all of your beat up!!

Postby Team Loco » November 16th, 2013, 11:21 am

I dont think we beating up. It has opened an interesting discussion and so far its been mature responses. I still say if she is qualified for the job then let her have it. But she must accept she must be under tight scrutiny. Also the remuneration package must be thorougly discussed

Postby pete » November 16th, 2013, 8:11 pm

screwbash wrote:
~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:Loco I get what you're saying but unfortunately it's a necessary evil.

How come patrick didnt end up in a hot seat??? where was all this ethics at that time ? where was 'all ah allyuh' mouth at that time? on patrick dipstick too? how come nuttin was said about our then education minister

Apparently you are new to trinituner. This was a problem for many people and was one of the things that cost manning the post of prime minister.

Postby pete » November 16th, 2013, 8:11 pm

screwbash wrote:

Apparently you are new to trinituner. This was a problem for many people and was one of the things that cost manning the post of prime minister.

Postby maj. tom » November 16th, 2013, 8:13 pm

Postby pioneer » November 16th, 2013, 8:37 pm

but who was hazel manning

Postby desifemlove » November 16th, 2013, 9:15 pm

Seems UNC does like "two wrongs make a right" philosophy :lol:

Postby desifemlove » November 16th, 2013, 9:18 pm

maj. tom wrote:Image

Picard and Sisko were better.. :P

Postby sMASH » November 16th, 2013, 9:26 pm

Conflict of interest.

Postby Morpheus » November 16th, 2013, 10:26 pm

Team Loco wrote:I dont think we beating up. It has opened an interesting discussion and so far its been mature responses. I still say if she is qualified for the job then let her have it. But she must accept she must be under tight scrutiny. Also the remuneration package must be thorougly discussed

I stopped at "mature responses"......:|

:mrgreen:

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » November 16th, 2013, 10:59 pm

~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:This is the last time I'm going to post in this thread because I realise the ignorance level I'm dealing with here.

But as R3ixmann said.. Not because they did it, we could do it too.

That kind of mentality and thinking is very backward and counter-productive to progress at large!!

Unless you are personally related to the Khan's or something, I see no reason for all of your beat up!!

thread should end right here actually.

Postby Habit7 » November 16th, 2013, 11:23 pm

screwbash wrote:

OP where in that article anybody from PNM demand anything?
And you seemed not to have read the rest of the article:
“In instances like this, to be absolutely above board, it may be best not to take the job so it’ s a case of damned if you do and damned if you don’t.” Dumas said the NWRHA board is chosen by Cabinet of which the Minister of Health is a member. “So it’s awkward, and it may seem unfair, but you have to consider the ‘optics’ of the situation—how it looks—so I’d think it’s better to err on the side of caution especially given the poor reputation government has on transparency.

Also as they move closer to general polls, you have to be particularly careful as a government from a political point of view.” Dumas said Khan was among those who protested when former prime minister Patrick Manning appointed his wife as a Cabinet minister. Senior Counsel Israel Khan said there was no conflict of interest in Bhagan-Khan’s situation where her husband’s status was concerned.

Khan (SC) said, “I don’t see it as conflict of interest in that she has the constitutional right to own property and that means if a job is given to her that is above board,— she has applied and followed all procedures- she can consider it.” “It’s unlike the position of Mrs Manning, a non-elected member being appointed to Cabinet and the Education Ministry where the husband appointed the wife,” he said .
http://guardian.co.tt/news/2013-11-16/e ... efused-job

Let her take the job, she is qualified. We are sliding down the slippery slope of lack of morality in governance anyway, every gov't doing it.

Postby Sky » November 16th, 2013, 11:32 pm

sMASH wrote:Conflict of interest.

Yup.
Sorry for her though.

link

Postby link » November 16th, 2013, 11:33 pm

screwbash wrote:
Redman wrote:

Pretty basic imho

from what you are saying hazel was just as dotish as we all know she is

& to top it off...hearing patos want hazel to run for sfdo seat (probs because she cud a better hop-an'-drop now :lol:

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » November 17th, 2013, 10:31 am

desifemlove wrote:
maj. tom wrote:Image

Picard and Sisko were better.. :P

Janeway?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » November 17th, 2013, 12:20 pm