What would u say if i said...rx7 beating a gtr

Postby Razkal » June 2nd, 2005, 12:36 pm

i think an RX7 Bathurst Spirit-R Type-A could and will cut a Skyline GT-R VspecII arse on a circuit track :?:
this is a serious thought eh...not a topic to start bashin, is to start a healthy discusion and probably raise points i may have overlooked n stuff in making this statement.
if ur not familiar with the specs of the Spirit-R Type-A i posted them a good while back...or u can google for 'craig's rotary page' and that site has the best review of the car i've seen so far.

Dragzter, Maelstrom, Demented lemme hear allyuh...
Last edited by Razkal on June 2nd, 2005, 1:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Razkal » June 2nd, 2005, 1:07 pm

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... highlight=
link for some info on the Spirit-R Type-A...has links there to get the skidpad and 0-60 and 1/4mile test info n stuff...

i cant believe 18 views and noone has anything to say :| ...i guess y'all just accept it then :wink:

horsepwrjunki

Postby horsepwrjunki » June 2nd, 2005, 1:20 pm

.. dood this is trini.. i have vids of a gtr r33 getin walked all oover by a escort mexico.. :lol: :lol:

Postby Razkal » June 2nd, 2005, 1:32 pm

nah i jus wha know what men think about this prospect nah..i race between an rx7 and gtr....i mean the rx7 has 50/50 weight distribution, 'neutral handling', a respectable 0-60 time and skidpad result...and its done all without traction control or electronic torque distribution or any other electronic gagetry on which the skyline relies heavily on to corner and maintain balance n traction n stuff...

Postby Monk BANzai » June 2nd, 2005, 2:58 pm

umm RAZKAL>.that doods hand in yuh avatar must be gehhin tired by now dont ya tink?

horsepwrjunki

Postby horsepwrjunki » June 2nd, 2005, 3:06 pm

u fergot the actual weight diffrence between the two cars.... and the tourque curve an throttle respone of both vehicles..

Postby wagon r » June 2nd, 2005, 3:21 pm

i have ah vid of two ae86s spankin ah gtr in ah 3 lap race.

dipz

Postby dipz » June 2nd, 2005, 3:48 pm

would like to see a battle like that but i did see a BM vid with a 3rd gen coming first against a '33, '34, evo 5, some other cars. i not sure if i mixing up a couple of vids into one :oops: but i sure ppl know what i talking about

Bezman

Postby Bezman » June 2nd, 2005, 4:12 pm

yawn, been done by Best Motoring Hot Version, the GTR spanked the FD badly

demented

Postby demented » June 2nd, 2005, 4:52 pm

The "MIGHTY ROTARY" can definitely outperform the RB26DETT once the right tuning and handling is achieved. the Rotary has an overall lighter weight than the RB, and as Razkal said it can perform without traction control or electronic torque distribution or any other electronic gadgetry. The RX 7 is easier to control and maneuvers corners better than the Skyline (Which is as heavy as....I don't know what!).

THEREFORE : "POWER TO THE ROTARY!!!"
:wink: :lol:

dragzster

Postby dragzster » June 2nd, 2005, 4:55 pm

Now fellas.......I don't know about dem modified cars but I can tell you one thing, a stock RX-7 Spirit R Type A most likely will squash a Skyline (R34) GT-R on a track....Laguna Seca is a good place to start. Now both cars terribly fast but the RX-7 has a slightly faster pulloff (0-60 in 4.5s) and can reach speeds over 170MPH and the Skyline posts similar numbers. Ofcourse the R34 is 4WD and the RX-7 is RWD but the handling characteristics of the 3rd gen (especially those last versions) are unmatched leaving some American/European Car journalists to say its probably one of the best sports cars they ever drove without the exotic price tag. So we talking minutes and seconds and the difference would definitly be a couple seconds for sure. The RX-7 280HP is probably equivalent to 330HP in another heavier twin turbo V6 powered sports car. So respect for both parties.....I am biased for the 7 not for its worth and what it can do but rather for its rotary and for the styling. :mrgreen: Razkal.....I so vex I can't import one myself :evil:

Color Monitor

Postby Color Monitor » June 2nd, 2005, 7:01 pm

WE HAVE SEEN

SUPERMAN WET PRESLEY mercilessly

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » June 2nd, 2005, 7:05 pm

^ :lol: :lol: :lol:
That's an unfair battle! :lol: :lol: :lol:

I pretty much agree with junki and demented - the added weight alone is enough to give the rx the win.
Plus, the power of a rotary is undeniable - let's try an enduro though! :mrgreen:

Tsuchiya

Postby Tsuchiya » June 2nd, 2005, 8:43 pm

i have ah vid of two ae86s spankin ah gtr in ah 3 lap race.

*SPEECH*SPEECH*SPEECH* :P :lol: :lol: :mrgreen:

Postby Razkal » June 3rd, 2005, 4:45 pm

worksux101 wrote:^ :lol: :lol: :lol:
That's an unfair battle! :lol: :lol: :lol:

I pretty much agree with junki and demented - the added weight alone is enough to give the rx the win.
Plus, the power of a rotary is undeniable - let's try an enduro though! :mrgreen:

umm..we did...remember Le Mans 1990/1991 cant remember which year... :lol: which Jap manufacturer (and the only jap manufacturer to ever do so) won the 24hours? :lol:

nah kidding i know is the 3rd gen we referring to...

i specifically reffered to the last two top trim production models of both cars because that wud probably be each respective car's pinnacle of performance.

whad about said 3rd gen model v.s. an NSX-R now i know the honda wud probably come out on top but that wud be a great race dont u think?...if i'm not mistaken the NSX lacks traction control features and torque distribution too...n its 50/50 weight distribution or close to it...almost same power figures for both cars

dragzster

Postby dragzster » June 3rd, 2005, 7:00 pm

^^NSX and Supra I believe has a slightly higher top speed than the RX-7 and Skyline. All 4 are similar no doubt but that 0-60 time still goes to the RX-7. Quarter mile and track handling would be competitive between NSX, RX-7 and Supra too. I want all 4 of em :mrgreen: Imagine what the next Supra, Skyline and RX-7 would be like :shock: :twisted: Italy, here we come

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » June 3rd, 2005, 8:21 pm

Pretty true, but Honda=N/A :wink: :lol:
Anyway seriosuly, that's very true though and it would really be great to see those cars go full out. I do believe Honda and Mazda have it on the circuit, and Toyota and Nissan can take the 1/4 mile times once tuned properly etc.
In the end they're all great cars and want all like dragzster said! :lol: :mrgreen:

One thing though - Raz i remember a few months aback you were telling me about an RX7 that had toppa toppa reliability...can't remember exactly what kind though, and was kinda in exams so didn't get to research much. Can you re-enlighten me :?:

Postby Razkal » June 4th, 2005, 12:15 pm

^well not an RX7 really..the redesigned engines...the Spirit-R engines are a bit different than the older 1993-1995 and 1995-1997 3rd gen engines....intake/exhaust ports are bigger, repositioning of intercooler more to the front and newer apex seals and fuel map made the engine a bit more boost friendly (cause that was raised ,the boost that is, to help with the power increase) and slightly more 'detonation tolerable'
the renesis engines are much more reliable than the older rotaries tho...the whole build is different...ports are placed differently so the intake/exhaust cycles dont overlap as closely...icant find a cross section of both engines to show u but if i do i'll link u 8)

there is a process that is done that realigns the entire lattice work of the metal that makes up the rotor housing, rotors, apex seals, and seal springs that makes the engine alot stronger in terms of tolerance to high boost levels and detonation n stuff called cryo treatment sum to do wid liquid nitrogen n sheit...not sure how its done but i works :idea: expensive like hell as u wud imagine but really great in the long run if u intend to push ur car really hard often (regular racing n stuff)

I do believe Honda and Mazda have it on the circuit

damn straight! 8) hope i helped a bit man...dragzter knows about the renesis build up more than me i'm sure so maybe he can explain why its better and more reliable

dragzster

Postby dragzster » June 5th, 2005, 5:22 pm

^^^see the links I posted in the Technical Forum.

dipz

Postby dipz » June 6th, 2005, 1:36 pm

dragzster wrote:. Now both cars terribly fast but the RX-7 has a slightly faster pulloff (0-60 in 4.5s)

you sure about that?. i not sure myself, i just asking but i thought the fastest 0-60 of any stock rx-7 was above 5 sec or 5 secs for the best?