how insurance claims works

screwbash

how insurance claims works

Postby screwbash » July 8th, 2013, 7:54 pm

Want some advice. Had a lil accident today. a woman driving a taxi driving on the shoulder cut in front of me and hit me. She insured with GTM. The police say to go by her insurance and make a claim in the morning. I want to know what i have to walk with and If i have to go to my insurance. Both parties is third party. would i have to pay any excess or would GTM have to sort out everything?

Re: how insurance claims works

Postby pioneer » July 8th, 2013, 8:06 pm

shoulda run she off de road and finish de job

dotish shoulder drivers

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » July 8th, 2013, 8:09 pm

aim for driver side door next time

if you miss, try again

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » July 8th, 2013, 8:12 pm

their insurance suppose to cover, you will need:

Completed Claim Form

Drivers Permit of Owner and Driver of Vehicle if different

Estimate of Repairs Parts and Labour must be included

Certified Copy of Ownership

Certificate of Insurance

Referral Letter

Vat Letter of owner/owners of vehicle.

receipt of police report
Last edited by mamoo_pagal on July 8th, 2013, 8:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby nervewrecker » July 8th, 2013, 8:15 pm

screwbash wrote:Want some advice. Had a lil accident today. a woman driving a taxi driving on the shoulder cut in front of me and hit me. She insured with GTM. The police say to go by her insurance and make a claim in the morning. I want to know what i have to walk with and If i have to go to my insurance. Both parties is third party. would i have to pay any excess or would GTM have to sort out everything?

Walk with copy of your statement from the police station, take down officer name who handle the scene, the woman info if you collected it, your info and pics of the accident if you have.

You don't have to pay an excess AFAIK if she wrong. But wait till you get the go ahead to fix ie get estimate and wait for adjuster to come and you know how much you getting. Fix and wait for cheque

TheOne

Postby TheOne » July 8th, 2013, 8:16 pm

You have to get a letter from your insurance, then go to Board of Inland Revenue office(I think) and get another letter from them stating that your not VAT registered. Take these two items to GTM and fill out their claim form.

I believe the Excess is to be paid by the other party involved.

I think that is all you need but I stand to be correted

screwbash

Postby screwbash » July 9th, 2013, 5:43 am

thanks for the info. Anyone have experience with GTM? they give any trouble to pay?

Addicted

Postby Addicted » July 9th, 2013, 9:07 am

Go to your insurance full out a claim form, you will get a letter from your insurance to carry to their insurance, Full out a claim form at GTM, submit copies of certify copy, drivers license, police report, original estimate from your straightner. Only POS or San fernando branch take pictures or view your car (I drop of my claim in Chaguanas and had to go San fernando for them to take out the picture). Not sure of the Vat certificate cause they have not asked me for it as yet. After 7 weeks i still waiting on my money from GTM (Nagieco).

Postby nervewrecker » July 9th, 2013, 3:54 pm

screwbash wrote:thanks for the info. Anyone have experience with GTM? they give any trouble to pay?

You hadda keep calling and nagging / reminding them about your claim.

Make sure and know the next party reg plate because thats what they ask for everytime you call.

They pay, just try and speed up the estimate and getting the adjuster to come see your vehicle so you can go ahead and fix. Might be a good idea to liaise with someone in there to find out how much you getting so you can budget your repair costs accordingly.

Postby 8695 » July 9th, 2013, 4:25 pm

What would you be if you were attached to another object by an inclined plane, wrapped helically around an axis?

Hint: You are 'this' once you have to go through insurance

Postby ismithx » July 9th, 2013, 4:47 pm

^^ he means ur screwed

Ayanz

Postby Ayanz » July 12th, 2013, 2:36 pm

pioneer wrote:shoulda run she off de road and finish de job

dotish shoulder drivers

lol not nice

eitech

Postby eitech » November 13th, 2013, 4:17 pm

Anyone with experience with gulf insurance?

Postby joker » November 13th, 2013, 4:49 pm

Op ...who accepted liability?

eitech

Postby eitech » January 11th, 2014, 8:00 am

My experience with gulf was not bad at all. No hassle. Got my cheque in a month. Got 85% of what i claimed for.

eitech

Postby eitech » January 11th, 2014, 8:02 am

I was told that not all insurance companies provide cover notes. Any reason for this and who does and doesn't?

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » January 11th, 2014, 11:12 am

screwbash wrote:I would like some advice please. I had a non fatal vehicular accident today, a woman taxi driver, driving on the shoulder pulled in front of me and hit me. She is insured with GTM. The police said to go by her insurance and make a claim in the morning, so I would like to know what do I have to walk with and if I would have to go to my insurance company at all. Both myself and the other driver are insured under the 3rd party policy. Would I have to pay any excess or would GTM cover everything?

fixed* for the people who cant understand tata language