New Tarouba Motor Sports Complex

rallyman

New Tarouba Motor Sports Complex

Postby rallyman » September 27th, 2012, 7:44 pm

Why doesn't Government allow Autosport (or some other entity) to turn Tarouba Stadium into a modern Motorsports Complex. It is ideal for the following reasons:
1. It is close to the highway and noise would not be a problem.
2. There is plenty of land nearby to create a really interesting undulating track that could attract foreign competitors and off season testing.
3. It would be a manageable to develop a drag strip, saloon car and single seater racing circuits, rally-cross circuit, skid pan and a go-kart track all at the same facility.
4. The basic infrastructure of covered spectator seating and the like is already in place.
5. The complex is near San Fernando - the engineering and automotive industry spin off from a good circuit would help re-generate business in South Trinidad.
6. This eyesore could be turned into a useful facility that could generate income and provide a much needed automotive complex and that could reduce the incidence of racing on the road.
7. All that is needed is Government to lease the facility for a reasonable period of at least 20 years - the necessary funding can be arranged without need for any additional Government funds.

Lets be creative and develop a Motor Sport facility in Trinidad of which we could be proud - its embarrassing to know the racing facility in Trinidad & Tobago is currently a car park at Arima.

Surely someone can help us bring something like this to fruition.
If you can assist, please do what you can.

Re: New Tarouba Motor Sports Complex

Postby Aaron 2NR » September 27th, 2012, 8:33 pm

i spoke to anil about the idea already.....information was passed on to exec members of TTASA since they are the "official" motorsport body...but heard nothing out of it

Twin Isle Cars n' Parts

Postby Twin Isle Cars n' Parts » September 27th, 2012, 9:42 pm

I agree totally with yr suggestion Bro...
We need to do s'thing to promote the various type of Motor Sports
in T & T...like 4 example, make use of literal EYE-SORES like those you mentioned...

I thing bout that so-called Stadium though...s'one who worked on it advised not
even to go t a buss-fete in there...The type of steel and quantity used in those
posts you see erected from the H/Way, is WAY lower than the requirements.....!!!!

DriveLine retailers

Postby DriveLine retailers » September 28th, 2012, 8:59 am

agree fully to this idea......

Postby cinco » September 28th, 2012, 9:26 am

tarouba stadium will make an awweeeesssommmeeee
monster truck arena!

rallyman

Postby rallyman » September 28th, 2012, 9:38 am

Have we no vision - rather that having a useless unused stadium that is just deteriorating at huge expense to tax payers, lets push to turn it into a really exciting motorsport complex at NO COST TO GOVERNMENT.

Can we not envision something like this of which T&T could be really proud ?

croppedimage470320-Buddh-International-Circuit-Aerial-View-e1321897060166.jpg
croppedimage470320-Buddh-International-Circuit-Aerial-View-e1321897060166.jpg (23.09 KiB) Viewed 3767 times

Peter.

moti

Postby moti » September 28th, 2012, 10:22 am

that stadium will make an awesome drift arena

Postby MG Man » September 28th, 2012, 10:26 am

Trinbisu!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » September 28th, 2012, 10:29 am

boiling back down to ttasa

Postby nervewrecker » September 28th, 2012, 10:59 am

I like this idea.

Postby teems1 » September 28th, 2012, 11:24 am

rallyman wrote:Have we no vision - rather that having a useless unused stadium that is just deteriorating at huge expense to tax payers, lets push to turn it into a really exciting motorsport complex at NO COST TO GOVERNMENT.

Can we not envision something like this of which T&T could be really proud ?

croppedimage470320-Buddh-International-Circuit-Aerial-View-e1321897060166.jpg

Peter.

That's a track built to modern standards for the F1 Indian Grand Prix... You have any idea how huge an undertaking is to get that done.

Trinis need to crawl before they could walk. A simple drag strip is the first step.

rallyman

Postby rallyman » September 28th, 2012, 11:36 am

Of course it needs to be developed over time, but right now Tarouba is just a drain on taxpayer resources and a very visible eyesore.

With a 20 year renewable lease the necessary funds could be procured to develop something like this over the next 10 to 15 years. We have the expertise and the interest to do this - all we need is Government to take the bold step of allowing it to proceed.

A relatively rich country like Trinidad deserves something like this - we have scores of athletic stadiums but not a single motorsport facility. In a country with so much interest in cars this is absurd.

What's to lose - Government can either find the funds itself to try and fix the facility as another cricket stadium or they can lease it to us and let us handle all the issues. I know what I would do in such a situation and which option would get the facility into use in the shortest possible time.

xtech

Postby xtech » September 28th, 2012, 11:42 am

we cant even pave roads properly yet.........

rallyman

Postby rallyman » September 28th, 2012, 11:49 am

That's not accurate - we can pave roads locally but we have to use a proper specification. Most of the highways are lasting OK - its the local roads which are not properly constructed or which are dug up and not properly repaired by the utility companies that produce most of the potholes and bumps.

In any case, a racing track uses completely different asphalt specifications because it has to be much flatter, with more grip and it must be able to resist the forces of racing tyres without breaking up. The correct specs are available and we could comply with them in Trinidad.

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » September 28th, 2012, 11:59 am

rallyman wrote:Of course it needs to be developed over time, but right now Tarouba is just a drain on taxpayer resources and a very visible eyesore.

With a 20 year renewable lease the necessary funds could be procured to develop something like this over the next 10 to 15 years. We have the expertise and the interest to do this - all we need is Government to take the bold step of allowing it to proceed.

A relatively rich country like Trinidad deserves something like this - we have scores of athletic stadiums but not a single motorsport facility. In a country with so much interest in cars this is absurd.

What's to lose - Government can either find the funds itself to try and fix the facility as another cricket stadium or they can lease it to us and let us handle all the issues. I know what I would do in such a situation and which option would get the facility into use in the shortest possible time.

Trinidad conforms nor resembles any other society in the world.
People will continue buying cars and modifying cars without any form of motorsport complex here.
I do agree that if there were, that car sales would be boosted even more(if that's even possible!)

Postby Rory Phoulorie » September 28th, 2012, 12:49 pm

1) The present and past governments see/saw athletics as having greater social returns than motorsports, and to be honest, in T&T this is true. That is why athletics will always get more support from the government than motorsports.

2) Any government, other than the PNM, will always want to have the Tarouba stadium in an unused dilapidated state so as to serve as a reminder to the general population the massive failure that is known as the PNM party. This is similar to when the PNM came into power after the UNC and how they left the new airport to fall into disrepair.

3) Anil Roberts is a waste of time. He is only full of talk. Probably, if you could show him how Government Ministers can race the Prados, Porsches, and other government owned SUVs on the track with the blue lights flashing and the Ministers intoxicated, then maybe he will give you an audience so that you can present your proposal.

link

Postby link » September 28th, 2012, 1:30 pm

will always want to have the Tarouba stadium in an unused dilapidated state so as to serve as a reminder to the general population the massive failure

BUT D PLACE UNSAFE.......if u want...U go & let ceiling or big iron fall on yr ...apart frm that, T&TEC don't want anybody doin' nuthin' under their wires out in the periphery....
the millions it will cost to fix the sheit, it's better to start afresh with bare land......the same way Wallerfield was destroyed by Ken Julien & rendered unuseable for motor racing.
start with bare land......BETTER STILL........INVEST ALONGSIDE HORIZON MOTORSPORTS with their facility......you guys have a viable option here & u'all still spitting in the wind...
rgds

rallyman

Postby rallyman » September 28th, 2012, 1:41 pm

Who is Horizon Motorsports and what are they doing ?

Postby SR » September 28th, 2012, 1:56 pm

but link the drag track at wallerfield still looks reusable at least from views in the air

i know some trenches were dug across it at some pt in time but it still looks like the cheapest way to get back a drag track.............providing that access to the area is allowable

Postby SR » September 28th, 2012, 1:57 pm

also the area earmarked for the old caroni racing complex..........i know this was discussed in the past cant remember as to why it was not possible

moti

Postby moti » September 28th, 2012, 2:06 pm

why do we even try with the government?

can all the other clubs (except TTASA) come together and do something of their own?

i'm tired of hearing about the government and this and that, they only deal with TTASA and thats who we tired of.

hear nah, we cyah squat?

Postby Dizzy28 » September 28th, 2012, 2:22 pm

SR wrote:but link the drag track at wallerfield still looks reusable at least from views in the air

i know some trenches were dug across it at some pt in time but it still looks like the cheapest way to get back a drag track.............providing that access to the area is allowable

SR wrote:also the area earmarked for the old caroni racing complex..........i know this was discussed in the past cant remember as to why it was not possible

Both of the above mentioned properties are vested with e TecK.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » September 28th, 2012, 5:37 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Both of the above mentioned properties are vested with e TecK.

You had to be working with e TecK to type their name like that, space between the "e" and "T" and all.

SR wrote:but link the drag track at wallerfield still looks reusable at least from views in the air

The southern runway, or what's left of it, needs to be paved. Once it is paved you can get a road 11.3m wide. But you would need to install some New Jersey barriers along the entire length because there are raised sidewalks on either side which would not be safe to hit at high speeds.

The northern runway still has the concrete surface which has deteriorated in some areas. But it is much wider than the southern runway.

link

Postby link » September 28th, 2012, 7:52 pm

google 'Horizon Motorsports' nah......

rallyman

Postby rallyman » September 28th, 2012, 8:04 pm

OK - http://www.horizonmotorsports-tt.com/

But they don't seem to have a racing circuit - they are just using Camden Airfield.
They could be one of the beneficiaries of a really good motorsports complex.

So far as I know there are only three obvious sites with adequate land for a decent motorsports complex that could be made available fairly easily (more than 100 acres are necessary) :

1. Tarouba - lots of infrastructure in place, no track.
2. Wallerfield - only old narrow concrete roads, no infrastructure.
3. Caroni - only gravel tracks, no infrastructure.

Of these options Tarouba has by far the best potential and its currently a money pit for Government.
So far as I know there are no large parcels of suitable land available for commercial development.

link

Postby link » September 28th, 2012, 8:14 pm

http://www.horizonmotorsports-tt.com/?page_id=10
that's some level of research there....rallyman

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » September 28th, 2012, 8:36 pm

1- Someone has Tried that already OP

2- Why they cant give us Land for the Development of A Permanent Racing Facility ? Reasons are there is No unity is because it is alleged the Few groups that Doesn't want to join is scared of the way TTASA Manages things , it is alleged their system is not a Democratic one and many things are kept a Secret , They are not giving their affiliated Groups a Fair chance to hold events hence the other are scared to become one with them , they even fired their own Vice President because it is alleged he wanted to make a change and become President also to do it the proper way.

3- Why Trinidad Has No Facility , This Thread and Video contains many of the strongest points and even Live News Videos from CNC with Motorsport People , its a Few Pages long but very Interesting Reads Probably one of the Biggest on Trinituner viewtopic.php?f=4&t=435746&hilit=ttasa+anil

This one also has valid points viewtopic.php?f=4&t=458948

4- Join this Group and Let your Voice and Concerns be Heard by Others who probably dont use Trinituner ''Trinidad And Tobago Motorsport News'' http://www.facebook.com/groups/172086476261877/

5- Horizon Motorsport: This is a Motorsport Group founded by Inshan Mahaboob, The Founder and Treasurer , As you know Trinidad is in need of a Racing facility and Inshan has already started building his own Facility In Barrackpore area where he lives South Trinidad, Could it be the answer ? The land is already cleared and the Car Park is almost completed, so that means the Drifters , Drag and Winders , Karting , Solodex almost has an Official Place to Race which they can call Home. You can event Support Inshan by Joining the ''The Barrackpore Drag Facility Project by Inshan'' Page , here http://www.facebook.com/groups/197163440333976/ , Horizon Motorsport Page https://www.facebook.com/HorizonMotorsportsTT
262139_10150692106090578_4537209_n.jpg
261994_10150692106455578_3204533_n.jpg
268459_10150692106510578_1600298_n.jpg
262254_10150692106565578_6123632_n.jpg
263944_10150692106630578_6610205_n.jpg
263949_10150692106715578_2288175_n.jpg
269724_10150692107015578_1876626_n.jpg
267609_10150692107095578_7998649_n.jpg
Last edited by FugiTECH on October 1st, 2012, 1:03 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Twin Isle Cars n' Parts

Postby Twin Isle Cars n' Parts » September 28th, 2012, 9:54 pm

Alright...so all-in-all, I believe there are enough Motor Sports enthusiasts & promoters for
the various types of Motor Sports available to us and which we can participate in, in T & T...
So maybe, just maybe...they can pool together their $$$ & ideas and bail us out of our misery,
with $$$ returns to them off-course, after all it'll be an Investment...eliminate TTASA and any Gov't...and lets UNITE AS INDIVIDUALS and lovers of Motor Sports...

link

Postby link » September 28th, 2012, 11:32 pm

Twin Isle Cars n' Parts wrote:Alright...so all-in-all, I believe there are enough Motor Sports enthusiasts & promoters for
the various types of Motor Sports available to us and which we can participate in, in T & T...
So maybe, just maybe...they can pool together their $$$ & ideas and bail us out of our misery,
with $$$ returns to them off-course, after all it'll be an Investment...eliminate TTASA and any Gov't...and lets UNITE AS INDIVIDUALS and lovers of Motor Sports...

Sooo.........you not 'helping' bail too :? :?
my thought was that if ALL motorsport enthusiasts unite to push the Horizon effort along, a faster benefit would be realised.
After all, it's a private facility, no govt (or TTASA) strings attached, work already started, good management plan, public support tremendous, enlightened, educated, sensible businessmen at the helm.
I thought allyuh would be clamouring to be part of the way forward...
:idea: