Mechanical and Engineering people!!

Postby dougla_boy » September 10th, 2012, 11:00 am

so i have a small project i trying to work on right now.

its basically and ice cream pail, that normally uses a handle, but i wanna throw up a motor on it. had a guy throw up a motor for me but i am not sure he knows what he is doing tho.

this is basically what he did. but it wasnt that good because after a few uses the motor burnt out and the belt used to smell as if it was burning when you put it on.

basically i looking for a motor that could work. the work load should be about 45 mins or so. followed by a rest of an hour or 2.

or i dont mind hearing any ideas with regards to the set up of the pail and motor.

Re: Mechanical and Engineering people!!

Postby pioneer » September 10th, 2012, 11:02 am

No wonder our roads and bridges collapse so often

Postby dougla_boy » September 10th, 2012, 11:09 am

pioneer wrote:No wonder our roads and bridges collapse so often

go in dis ched, added pics just for u dan........ :|

Postby nervewrecker » September 10th, 2012, 11:10 am

why you eh just go buy a piece with a motor and done?

Postby nervewrecker » September 10th, 2012, 11:11 am

just for the heck of it, specs of the motor used? :mrgreen:

Postby dougla_boy » September 10th, 2012, 11:19 am

nervewrecker wrote:why you eh just go buy a piece with a motor and done?

u mean buy a pail with a motor right?

this is an old machine i am using, but its in good condition and also is very large compared to what they sell out there. i need a large on to make big batches. this will not be the only machine i will be using, i have others, but when its time for orders and making large batches, i would need a large one like this.

Postby dougla_boy » September 10th, 2012, 11:20 am

nervewrecker wrote:just for the heck of it, specs of the motor used? :mrgreen:

dunno here dis n***a get dat motor from nah. now he trying to tell me he go hook up a motor from a threadmill. :? :? :| :|

Postby kurpal_v2 » September 10th, 2012, 11:23 am

If I help you out, you gonna hook me up with free ice cream?

TRDGUY

Postby TRDGUY » September 10th, 2012, 11:29 am

specs on motor? , if you could state perhaps density of mixture for eg choosing a suitable motor will be easier , people pay for this type of advice eh

Postby nervewrecker » September 10th, 2012, 11:32 am

How much hp the current motor is? RPM?

Diameter of pail, height of liquid in it, diameter of gear wheel on top of pail, diameter of shaft and gear wheel at the end of it....also, viscosity of ice cream. :lol:

Postby Hook » September 10th, 2012, 11:34 am

rig pail up to spin bike and make ice cream while u exercise...just doh sweat in meh soursop

Postby dougla_boy » September 10th, 2012, 11:34 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:If I help you out, you gonna hook me up with free ice cream?

cud link yuh wit a sample. if yuh being serious eh. :wink:

Postby dougla_boy » September 10th, 2012, 11:38 am

nervewrecker wrote:How much hp the current motor is? RPM?

Diameter of pail, height of liquid in it, diameter of gear wheel on top of pail, diameter of shaft and gear wheel at the end of it....also, viscosity of ice cream. :lol:

cud organize the following

1. Diameter of pail
2. Height of liquid in it
3. not sure bout dis tho, will get a pic.
4. the gear wheel currently is small, around 5-6 inches. shaft would have to measure. LOL..
5. cant remember how to calculate that, will see what i can do.

but i being real serious tho eh fellas.

@TRD, forget that motor. would actually prefer to pelt it and get a better motor if possible.

Postby dougla_boy » September 10th, 2012, 11:41 am

Hook wrote:rig pail up to spin bike and make ice cream while u exercise...just doh sweat in meh soursop

would not mind if this was an option in case i want exercise and want to make ice cream. LOLOL......

but this would have to be like an accessory thing, where i can detach the motor piece and use the bike hook up to it tho......

no sweat in soursop and/or barbadine.

Postby sliderz1 » September 10th, 2012, 11:42 am

Glenford funding this project awah? :lol: :lol:

neat stuff, just have a horizontal belt drive system instead with the driver/driven shafts in vertical orientation.

Postby nervewrecker » September 10th, 2012, 11:45 am

I have a spread sheet with sizing pullies, think i scored it from engineering toolbox, you want it?

searchingone

Postby searchingone » September 10th, 2012, 11:51 am

dougla_boy wrote:

this is an old machine i am using, but its in good condition and also is very large compared to what they sell out there. i need a large on to make big batches. this will not be the only machine i will be using, i have others, but when its time for orders and making large batches, i would need a large one like this.

eh, by chance you is a ice cream man in Arima who does be turning the pail on the spot?

Postby dougla_boy » September 10th, 2012, 12:10 pm

searchingone wrote:
dougla_boy wrote:

eh, by chance you is a ice cream man in Arima who does be turning the pail on the spot?

nope. :wink:

Postby Stephon. » September 10th, 2012, 12:15 pm

Omg is this one of these ice cream makers that make a lot of noise and you need party ice to help make it?

I remember we had one of these a long time ago and every weekend my mom would make ice cream for my cuz and I.

I dunno what became of that ice cream maker tho.

Sorry I have no advice to offer by the way, just wanted to share a cool nostalgia.

searchingone

Postby searchingone » September 10th, 2012, 12:17 pm

ok :(

ah had from him once, about 5 years ago....never had it again cuz i dunno how to find the place (was taken there)....one of the best homemade coconut ice cream i ever had...

:(

Postby nervewrecker » September 10th, 2012, 12:23 pm

Stephon. wrote:Omg is this one of these ice cream makers that make a lot of noise and you need party ice to help make it?

I remember we had one of these a long time ago and every weekend my mom would make ice cream for my cuz and I.

Sorry I have no advice to offer by the way, just wanted to share a cool nostalgia.

it still dey, yuh mudda jus geh lazy. Dem pails like pioneer clockface deck, after world war III only those and cockroaches will remain.

btw, ah could geh some bah-bah-deen ice cream oh wah?

Postby Sky » September 10th, 2012, 12:28 pm

dougla_boy wrote:soursop and/or barbadine.

My saliva glands start up dey yes. And I already had lunch!!!!!

Postby dougla_boy » September 10th, 2012, 12:43 pm

sky, check yuh pm for directions, since u would pass there on ur way from work

Postby dougla_boy » September 10th, 2012, 1:03 pm

searchingone wrote:ok :(

ah had from him once, about 5 years ago....never had it again cuz i dunno how to find the place (was taken there)....one of the best homemade coconut ice cream i ever had...

:(

u know where the Arima Old Road is? drive down there from Arouca side....if u reach Arima West, u reach to far.......just ask anyone there for the man, he dont open on a Monday tho.

Postby Stephon. » September 10th, 2012, 1:12 pm

Stephon. wrote:Omg is this one of these ice cream makers that make a lot of noise and you need party ice to help make it?

it still dey, yuh mudda jus geh lazy. Dem pails like pioneer clockface deck, after world war III only those and cockroaches will remain.

btw, ah could geh some bah-bah-deen ice cream oh wah?

Lmao what is bah bah deen ice cream?

Whatever it is once I have I go give you, done know that what is mine is yours :oops:

Postby black start » September 10th, 2012, 1:14 pm

dougla boy, your autocad/solidworks skills not so hot nuh. Take out some actual pics of the set up so we can analyse properly.

in addition, I expect to see some of this in the near future :|

Postby dougla_boy » September 10th, 2012, 1:19 pm

lost soul wrote:dougla boy, your autocad/solidworks skills not so hot nuh. Take out some actual pics of the set up so we can analyse properly.

in addition, I expect to see some of this in the near future :|

well i see that often, just i dont share such pics...... :wink: :wink:

will get pics....

Postby Trini Hookah » September 10th, 2012, 1:32 pm

Wuh ACAD...I seeing MS Paint :|

olewhip

Postby olewhip » September 10th, 2012, 1:36 pm

i am guessing you will need a low speed high torque motor with an electronic controller, which can adjust torque at start up and running speeds plus provide protection to the motor.
or you can look for a low speed motor and experiment with different size pulleys.
or a high speed motor with a reducing gear box that wil prevent direct overload to the motor from stress or jams comming from the pail, (gear ratios and amount of gears will be important)

honestly a threadmill motor dosent sound so bad as it can provide you with a precise speed and torque. other than that a washing machine motor with pulleys and or gears.

good luck and hope you figure it out soon.

Postby black start » September 10th, 2012, 1:36 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:Wuh ACAD...I seeing MS Paint :|

yew, don't I know yews from somewhere :?: