17" wheels

BaDDiS B13 SE R

17" wheels

Postby BaDDiS B13 SE R » February 25th, 2005, 11:10 pm

i planing on getting 17's and am curious bout tires...

wut avg prices of 205/40/17 tires...i dont care bout brand just as long as they new tires, how much they run per tire?

partsmaster

Postby partsmaster » February 26th, 2005, 12:24 am

i am about to do the same but the best price i found on these tires are $600 so far

BaDDiS B13 SE R

Postby BaDDiS B13 SE R » February 26th, 2005, 1:53 am

600 for one???

partsmaster

Postby partsmaster » February 26th, 2005, 8:49 am

yup, them thing aint cheap nah

plex

Postby plex » February 26th, 2005, 9:30 am

roughly 600 for one, i saw mileage mack have toyo for around 800 for one..
low profile tires are not cheap...
i find running 40 series u have to very carefull with potholes..especially if it is a 205/40/17..

Terran

Postby Terran » February 26th, 2005, 1:30 pm

VISA and NANKANG tyres come in around $600 - $650. Eagle F1s are around $900.

partsmaster

Postby partsmaster » February 26th, 2005, 2:40 pm

i find running 40 series u have to very carefull with potholes..especially if it is a 205/40/17..

why is that?

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » February 26th, 2005, 3:18 pm

Terran wrote:VISA and NANKANG tyres come in around $600 - $650. Eagle F1s are around $900.

nankang are good tyres?
anyone can vouch for them?

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » February 26th, 2005, 3:19 pm

partsmaster wrote:

why is that?

in short: barely any rubber to protect the rims.

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » February 26th, 2005, 6:10 pm

jus bought some nexen 205-40-17's brand new
$600 for one but ot the entire set for$2300 in cova close to d police station
ballhead jus off d couva flypver have 215-40-17's NANKANG for $600 no 205's though

adri 2nr

Postby adri 2nr » February 26th, 2005, 8:26 pm

running 205/40/17 dunlop ...cost around $800 i think for one tyre

partsmaster

Postby partsmaster » February 26th, 2005, 9:49 pm

what about some 205/50/17 (will those be too high and touch?)

dragzster

Postby dragzster » February 26th, 2005, 11:10 pm

:shock: alluh mad or wha. A man runnin 17 inchers on a mazda 323f, a vehicle designed for 14-15" rms? Baddis, worse yet, your car (the B13) you wanna put 17's on that? your car designed for 13-14" rims. I hope alluh did some modifications to your suspensions and brakes because you just altered your driving dynamics and your speedo is more wrong than b4. 40 series tyres are not for our roads at all. It is so poor that it may damage your tyres. I only use low profile when at the track but not for a daily basis as they are more expensive to replace. Plus your ride quality is real bad now. I see more negatives than pluses for tyres like these unless ofcourse your car was initially designed to take it like a Opel Omega, Mazda 6, Subaru Legacy and the rest of the German crowd.

partsmaster

Postby partsmaster » February 26th, 2005, 11:20 pm

205/50/17 are these better and will they touch on a P11?

dragzster

Postby dragzster » February 26th, 2005, 11:34 pm

personally 50 series tyres with 17" rims looks kinda weird for a car. I never actually viewed one on the P11 but I wouldn't be surprised if it touches. In terms of looks, the 40 series looks nicer (for show) rather than 50s. You got to ask yourself, how are you gonna use your tyres? If you always have ppl in your car and stuff in your trunk and you do a lot of mainroad, backroad and highway running, is it really essential to put such rims and tyres on your vehicle. The P11 (JDM) and local could handle 14 and 15's easy with manufacturer's specifications so if you want the best of all worlds including the exterior looks, I say 205 (at least) 55-60R15's if you still desire that "low profile look".

partsmaster

Postby partsmaster » February 26th, 2005, 11:47 pm

40 or 50 series 17s won't last as long as 15s with the same runnings and say you change tires every 8-9 months with 15s at present?

dragzster

Postby dragzster » February 26th, 2005, 11:53 pm

40 or 50 series 17s won't last as long as 15s with the same runnings and say you change tires every 8-9 months with 15s at present?

well if you change tyres every 8-9 mths then I wouldn't expect 15's to simply increase that figure to pose much significance on your spending however, install the 50 series and put weight in the vehicle and visually inspect if there is a possibility for the tyres to touch. If you find the gap is too low, seeing that the car has to give way for bouncing then opt for the 40's

plex

Postby plex » February 27th, 2005, 1:12 am

have to agree , low profile tires do not last , especially if you lots of runs...

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » February 27th, 2005, 5:02 am

partsmaster wrote:205/50/17 are these better and will they touch on a P11?

no they wont touch.
the p11 is the primera right?
i saw that same series tyres on a teacher primera and he makes a gasparillo to uwi run every week day plus he keep lab equipment in his trunk and he's one heck of a hard driver :shock:
bout 3 months now he have this series and so far so good he told me he dont get touchin or anything wat so ever

partsmaster

Postby partsmaster » February 27th, 2005, 8:39 pm

i passed in the mall and i saw a B14, a B11 and a 323F had 215/45/17, i taught that would have been too wide and would touch when turning corners! could someone verify this? and if anyone used it on a P11.

"Baddis B13 sorry for cramping your post"

Rx

Postby Rx » February 27th, 2005, 10:11 pm

wanna try 205 50 16 :?:

I'm using these right now............... no probs !!!!

partsmaster

Postby partsmaster » February 27th, 2005, 10:22 pm

nah i want the nice big look of 17s

dragzster

Postby dragzster » February 27th, 2005, 11:08 pm

nah i want the nice big look of 17s

the 50 series on the 17"s is better. Get them over the 40 series for your P11.

partsmaster

Postby partsmaster » February 27th, 2005, 11:21 pm

but will 215/17's touch around corners?

dragzster

Postby dragzster » February 28th, 2005, 1:55 am

i know someone with 215s in a B14 and it doesn't touch so I am guessing that yours would not touch either.

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 4th, 2005, 2:41 pm

not tooo sure if dey wud..mih friend runnin 225/16" on his accord an it doesnt touch...

dragzster

Postby dragzster » March 4th, 2005, 3:42 pm

then again some ppl may have spacers!

adri 2nr

Postby adri 2nr » March 4th, 2005, 5:13 pm

believe it or not when i had 15's i used to touch and with 17's it doesn't even with weight in the back

NickJr.
Location: The Finish Line. So Elusive For Something That Never Moves

Postby NickJr. » March 4th, 2005, 9:59 pm

^^ It all has to do with the offset of the rims. The best way to check the possible size rims and tyre sizes are to use the Tyre calculator, it should still be a sticky here in the tech forum. Most cars can handle 17's with 205/215 45/50 series tyres. Just make sure that your overall diameter of your new rim and tyre package doesn't exceed that of your old set. Though... some cars may have come with 13's or 14's and special models would of had an uprated rim size of 15's or 16's respectively. So do your research, because in cases such as what I just pointed out, the accuracy of your speedo will not be harshly affected.

plex

Postby plex » March 4th, 2005, 11:42 pm

thats true pay attention to the offset.. i tried to get 205/45/17 for mine car and was unable to get that tire size.. so i humble myself with the 205/40/17..