Kickpanel midranges, a thing of the past?

silent_riot

Kickpanel midranges, a thing of the past?

Postby silent_riot » February 6th, 2012, 3:09 pm

So... I'm browsing over on Diyma, and noticed that the majority of Sound Q competitors are opting for Dash mounted midranges for this season.

Am I imagining things, or is this really the new trend of Sound Quality installs?
Is it that dash mounted midranges are now being installed with good enough path lengths to forego kickpanel mounted midranges?

roger

Re: Kickpanel midranges, a thing of the past?

Postby roger » February 6th, 2012, 4:08 pm

well Jon, if its new is new probably to the west. dash mounts have been the norm in european competition for a while now.

I think the introduction of highly sofisticated dsp's have allowed for this trend to develop a bit more on the us scene. i am a fan of high mounted mids with its inherent challenges but....i think its the powerfull dsp's that may be the leading cause for this emerging trend.

Postby kurpal_v2 » February 6th, 2012, 4:38 pm

roger wrote:well Jon, if its new is new probably to the west. dash mounts have been the norm in european competition for a while now.

I think the introduction of highly sofisticated dsp's have allowed for this trend to develop a bit more on the us scene. i am a fan of high mounted mids with its inherent challenges but....i think its the powerfull dsp's that may be the leading cause for this emerging trend.

indeed, a Singaporean competitor said to me once that the general belief is that the sound should come from in front you and not from below you why I asked why no kicks.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » February 6th, 2012, 5:39 pm

A point to consider as well is that, iirc, EMMA competitions do not offer two seat judging. Hence, they can opt to process rather than physically time align.

I find it interesting that 2 seat competitors in the US are following this system design.
But I believe you are right wrt processing, center channels with stereo dash mounted midranges are becoming quite popular.

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » February 6th, 2012, 6:09 pm

roger wrote:I think its the powerfull dsp's that may be the leading cause for this emerging trend.

Yep. A dash-mounted mid setup would probably sound like a$$ without suitable DSP.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » February 7th, 2012, 7:56 am

So how many local guys gonna try it this season? :D

roger

Postby roger » February 7th, 2012, 8:28 am

i also think that along with dsp's, the small format widebanders also make it more possible to have a dash mount setup without it being obstructive and noticeable from mars...the small drivers that have a frequency range of several octaves are the go now...as you can have possible down to 100hz on your dash.

well i dont exactly have dash mounted, but i have had an a pillar install for at least the last six years...so i'm planning on running that in comps this year.

i think i saw a bmw that Dinelle did that is dash mounted, dont know if it will be in comps or not though.

if i can get my hands on a set of L3SE or Audible Physics 3" or the Scandanavia 3" i will definitely consider doing a dash build.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » February 7th, 2012, 8:55 am

I have some small Scans at home to play with too. But will wait till after SBN.

Postby SR » February 7th, 2012, 9:31 am

eh heh

lol gonna put u in the sun to see how hard fuzz really works compared to the sq judges

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » February 7th, 2012, 10:54 am

Why in heavens name are they putting the SQ in the sun, I'll never know.

BOOOOO

Postby SR » February 7th, 2012, 10:55 am

never said sq was in the sun

read post again

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » February 7th, 2012, 11:02 am

roger wrote:i also think that along with dsp's, the small format widebanders also make it more possible to have a dash mount setup without it being obstructive and noticeable from mars...the small drivers that have a frequency range of several octaves are the go now...as you can have possible down to 100hz on your dash.

well i dont exactly have dash mounted, but i have had an a pillar install for at least the last six years...so i'm planning on running that in comps this year.

i think i saw a bmw that Dinelle did that is dash mounted, dont know if it will be in comps or not though.

if i can get my hands on a set of L3SE or Audible Physics 3" or the Scandanavia 3" i will definitely consider doing a dash build.

If he decides to compete, it will be in single seat.

Dash midranges with less than perfect PLD's = single seat. PERIOD.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » February 7th, 2012, 11:03 am

SR wrote:never said sq was in the sun

read post again

U bettr find out man. IDBL is inside. The joke's on you and sully. Fuzz gets the AC.

SQ guys get to roast in the parking lot.

Postby SR » February 7th, 2012, 11:26 am

nope thats not practical

roger

Postby roger » February 7th, 2012, 1:49 pm

[quote="nigel1977

Dash midranges with less than perfect PLD's = single seat. PERIOD.[/quote]

Agreed.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » February 7th, 2012, 3:16 pm

I disagree. There are builds with dolby decoded sound with dash everything in 2 seat competition.

roger

Postby roger » February 7th, 2012, 4:12 pm

fuh reel....i dont know what to say now :)

i know my a pillar setup sound like arse from the passenger side :D

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » February 7th, 2012, 5:43 pm

roger, time to cut the firewall!

But I think you've covered everything on why it has become so feasible - today's processing power, with new speaker technology make dash installs work. The interesting point now is the colouration processing has on the sound, but I guess they can make up for that everywhere else in the scoresheet.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » February 7th, 2012, 5:55 pm

SR wrote:nope thats not practical

What's practicality got to do with revenue?

Make the call. Find out.

I would like to be wrong, because I really wouldnt mind the AC but so does DB Drag.

Postby SR » February 7th, 2012, 8:08 pm

db drag could go where bass boxing was held like last year sq was on the eastern hall

Postby Gladiator » February 7th, 2012, 10:08 pm

silent_riot wrote:So... I'm browsing over on Diyma, and noticed that the majority of Sound Q competitors are opting for Dash mounted midranges for this season.

Am I imagining things, or is this really the new trend of Sound Quality installs?
Is it that dash mounted midranges are now being installed with good enough path lengths to forego kickpanel mounted midranges?

I noticed the same thing, decided to do a similar install myself. Needed a good processor to tune though... The results are pretty good by my ear, I would like to get some experts to critique though (waiting on IASCA organize their pen drive)...

Team2lo2flo

Postby Team2lo2flo » February 8th, 2012, 12:15 am

nigel1977 wrote:
SR wrote:never said sq was in the sun

read post again

U bettr find out man. IDBL is inside. The joke's on you and sully. Fuzz gets the AC.

SQ guys get to roast in the parking lot.

hmmmmm

Postby BrotherHood » February 8th, 2012, 11:15 am

Gladiator wrote:
silent_riot wrote:So... I'm browsing over on Diyma, and noticed that the majority of Sound Q competitors are opting for Dash mounted midranges for this season.

I noticed the same thing, decided to do a similar install myself. Needed a good processor to tune though... The results are pretty good by my ear, I would like to get some experts to critique though (waiting on IASCA organize their pen drive)...

Sweet build.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » February 8th, 2012, 1:13 pm

There's the van from Canada which has a setup like that with the highest score in sound at SBN. I am hoping to get a listen to it to see how good it is.

Postby SR » February 8th, 2012, 1:44 pm

iasca sq test disc will be available on usb for the next sq competition for anyone interested

Postby Gladiator » February 8th, 2012, 6:49 pm

SR wrote:iasca sq test disc will be available on usb for the next sq competition for anyone interested

Can you tell me what will be the charge to use the media? Also what format will the audio files be in.

Postby SR » February 8th, 2012, 7:43 pm

mp3 and will be available for for judges to use on competing systems that do not allow cd

Postby Gladiator » February 8th, 2012, 8:28 pm

SR wrote:mp3 and will be available for for judges to use on competing systems that do not allow cd

is there any chance that an uncompressed or lossless format can be used (speaking for SQ BTW)

Sully

Postby Sully » February 9th, 2012, 6:54 am

http://www.springbreaknationals.com/

According to that, one can assume that everything will be held inside. It will be difficult for the idbl people inside because they won't be able to have their cars running except for driving to the competition lanes.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » February 9th, 2012, 7:21 am

I created a separate thread : viewtopic.php?f=27&t=421341

Everyone can discuss your SBN issues there, instead of cluttering up my thread. Okay? Good!