Reputable Project Managers?

AbstractPoetic

Reputable Project Managers?

Postby AbstractPoetic » November 22nd, 2011, 12:29 pm

Can anyone kindly recommend project managers in the area with experience in residential construction? I have an upcoming project and need someone who can manage my affairs while I am abroad. I refuse to deal with contractors directly, many of whom have proven to be a complete waste of my time and money.

While I prefer a project manager who is on the East/West corridor (near project site), I am open to dealing with those from Central and South, so long as they appreciate and understand the meaning of excellent customer service.

Thanks in advance for your recommendations.

Re: Reputable Project Managers?

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » November 22nd, 2011, 12:36 pm

Postby Rory Phoulorie » November 22nd, 2011, 12:45 pm

The Project Manager is only as good as the Contract Documents that he has to work with. If the Drawings, Specifications and Conditions of Contract are not properly defined, I don't care how many PMP letters you have behind your name, a Contractor will do what he wants and make you pay extra to get what you actually want.

I hope your Architect, Engineers and Quantity Surveyor did a thorough job in designing your Project and preparing the construction documents.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » November 22nd, 2011, 12:47 pm

Well said rory..
However, very few people understand this from all angles .

Kongorealm

Postby Kongorealm » November 22nd, 2011, 12:53 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:The Project Manager is only as good as the Contract Documents that he has to work with. If the Drawings, Specifications and Conditions of Contract are not properly defined, I don't care how many PMP letters you have behind your name, a Contractor will do what he wants and make you pay extra to get what you actually want.

I hope your Architect, Engineers and Quantity Surveyor did a thorough job in designing your Project and preparing the construction documents.

ditto

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 22nd, 2011, 1:03 pm

I'm certain Rahtid can help you with this.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » November 22nd, 2011, 1:20 pm

Thanks guys.

@Rory, I understand where you're coming from, but was under the impression a project manager would save me both time and money with searching for and overseeing the work of the contractors. Also, I'm not looking to negotiate prices. I want one figure upfront and that's that. If you need to quote me extra to accommodate for material/labor increases, then do so. I have no intentions of paying extra funds during/after completion of a project.

@Vexx Dogg, I thought Rahtid was a contractor and not a project manager?

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » November 22nd, 2011, 1:34 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:@Vexx Dogg, I thought Rahtid was a contractor and not a project manager?

Rahtid is a contractor but can manage a project and will be one of the better ones to get your job done.. ie mason fails to show for work rahtid will get someone else that same day and fire the original mason. :wink: (good links and has experience)

Postby Team Loco » November 22nd, 2011, 1:39 pm

anybody try de PM (Patrick Manning)?

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » November 22nd, 2011, 1:50 pm

^ I did.. His secretary said he only manages church projects :?

Postby rfari » November 22nd, 2011, 1:54 pm

for a residential project a PM would be overkill. what you need is someone that is versed in the industry and can act on your behalf while you're not available. rahtid is the man you looking for.

@Rory Phoulorie, do people use full blown specs (div 00 to div 17) and fidic when constructing a home these days?

sizzla89

Postby sizzla89 » November 22nd, 2011, 2:20 pm

Fidic for home construction is a bit of overkill in my Opinion, a lucrative contract can be established for such instances.

What needs to be established, scrutinised, and properly managed is the Scope of Work, Bills of Quantities, Work Schedule. Once the contractor does not comply penalties would be taken against the contractor. These stipulations can be documented in the lucrative contract.

COST, SCOPE, TIME = QUALITY

sizzla89

Postby sizzla89 » November 22nd, 2011, 2:25 pm

BTW - My Justification for using FIDIC for home construction is based on the types of contracts FIDIC has...The Short form would be the most applicable. Depends on the clients aspirations tho...To save time you can do a Design & Build or even the Design/Build. Once the client and contract accepts and agrees to the design and price it "should not under normal circumstances" have a variation.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » November 22nd, 2011, 2:34 pm

sizzla89 wrote:BOnce the client and contract accepts and agrees to the design and price it "should not under normal circumstances" have a variation.

Sorry there pal but as experience has shown, even the simplest or smallest of projects can have variations.
From what i have learned, the Project managers job to LIMIT these variances as much as possible by way of proper scheduling,planning, etc.,and more importantly getting the client/contractor to understand the issues, have solutions to the issues and overcome those challenges with as little hindrance to the projects' completion while maintaining peace of mind for the client first and foremost and in an ideal world, contractor(s)/ suppliers.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » November 22nd, 2011, 2:44 pm

Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:
sizzla89 wrote:BOnce the client and contract accepts and agrees to the design and price it "should not under normal circumstances" have a variation.

Sorry there pal but as experience has shown, even the simplest or smallest of projects can have variations.
From what i have learned, the Project managers job to LIMIT these variances as much as possible by way of proper scheduling,planning, etc.,and more importantly getting the client/contractor to understand the issues, have solutions to the issues and overcome those challenges with as little hindrance to the projects' completion while maintaining peace of mind for the client first and foremost and in an ideal world, contractor(s)/ suppliers.

THIS! Thanks Daren! You've summed up exactly what I can only dream of having. Contractors hear a Yankee voice and immediately think I have "BOBOL" marked on my forehead. It has been a painful process trying to work with companies directly, many of whom want to take advantage of my hard-earned dollars. Just because I am a female living foreign does not mean I am stupid when it comes to this business :roll: .

sizzla89

Postby sizzla89 » November 22nd, 2011, 2:59 pm

Agreed!

Maybe i didnt word my statements properly...Depending on the procurement system the client/Project Manager takes we can hold the contractor to the given price he/she would of signed to from the inception of the Project.

Variation must be justified. (economic factors can come into play such as variations in the price of material on the market)

Your point is noted tho.

Abstract Poetic with respect to having an accent and locals thinking your a push over...I am quite aware of what your referring too. I myself am originally from England and have seen contractors put my father though thereapy when he was building his house.

Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:

Postby rfari » November 22nd, 2011, 2:59 pm

with a proper design, a good contractor and ur independent expert working on ur behalf, it will leave less room for variations. IMO don't place full responsibility of the job on the contractor.
edit: OP is it safe to assume that you have done a geo-tech report and received approvals from t&c and regional government bodies?

Postby rfari » November 22nd, 2011, 3:08 pm

sizzla89 wrote:Agreed!

Maybe i didnt word my statements properly...Depending on the procurement system the client/Project Manager takes we can hold the contractor to the given price he/she would of signed to from the inception of the Project.

Variation must be justified. (economic factors can come into play such as variations in the price of material on the market)

Your point is noted tho.

Abstract Poetic with respect to having an accent and locals thinking your a push over...I am quite aware of what your referring too. I myself am originally from England and have seen contractors put my father though thereapy when he was building his house.

most contractors will tell you that this is where the money is made. i would recommend getting ur independent person to acquire the building materials.

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » November 22nd, 2011, 3:10 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:Thanks guys.

@Rory, I understand where you're coming from, but was under the impression a project manager would save me both time and money with searching for and overseeing the work of the contractors. Also, I'm not looking to negotiate prices. I want one figure upfront and that's that. If you need to quote me extra to accommodate for material/labor increases, then do so. I have no intentions of paying extra funds during/after completion of a project.

@Vexx Dogg, I thought Rahtid was a contractor and not a project manager?
DrunkenMaster16 wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:@Vexx Dogg, I thought Rahtid was a contractor and not a project manager?

Rahtid is a contractor but can manage a project and will be one of the better ones to get your job done.. ie mason fails to show for work rahtid will get someone else that same day and fire the original mason. :wink: (good links and has experience)

Thanks guys, I am a contractor amongst many things, but I do work in a Project Management/Consultancy/Engineering firm. I dont think you may need a 'HIGH AND MIGHTY' PM for your project, AP, seeing as its a residential building, but I dont know the size/cost/design etc so I cant say for sure.

If you want, you can pm your email contact and I can forward you a Profile, and if you ok with it, then we can discuss further.
Do you proper contract documentation/drawings/registered contractor etc?
You gonna spend lots on QS,Engineers,Architect,PM on a residential (again I dont know the size so forgive me) building. I understand that you wont be here a lot, so you want to go that route, but make sure and have everything done that you want while you are here, like proper documentation of all works etc.

Somehow, one figure upfront never works, there will be additional costs somewhere during the works.

Good luck!

Postby pugboy » November 22nd, 2011, 3:17 pm

there are some architects who will double as project managers too
they are the worst kind to deal with though, very picky

Postby rfari » November 22nd, 2011, 3:22 pm

IMO architects are fairies.

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » November 22nd, 2011, 3:23 pm

Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:

Well said, but I have yet to see a project reach completion without variations. There must be some, because sometimes,I said sometimes, the architect or the pm is so lazy, they rather go ahead with the variations than to go to the site, look at it, work out a solution. Remember, the contractor might be properly educated, but the workers (masons, carpenters,plumbers,electricians,fabricators) may not be so educated and WILL make mistakes cuz the contractor wont always be there to check EVERY SINGLE MEASUREMENT!

You have to get pro-active people, not just those who sit in an office and imagine whats going on onsite and mostly, they have THEORY knowledge, maybe 3% practical.

QS now, its mostly cut and paste with them, you think when they put 3% wastage that is practical? What about mortar after the plumber/electrician is done? They butcher the walls, instead of cutting it, then the mason has to fill it, using MORE mortar than necessary to render his wall.

A lot of people in the industry use the shortcuts, this has to stop. I thoroughly work out my BoQs for the client's gain.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » November 22nd, 2011, 3:24 pm

Rahtid wrote:Somehow, one figure upfront never works, there will be additional costs somewhere during the works.

Thanks Rahtid, but why won't agreeing to a flat fee upfront work? My figure incorporates these "additional costs" as part of the flat fee, which is several times over what I think the project will cost me. I will PM you.

ETA: My issue has been with the inability of others to justify the cost, especially when it comes to material. At one point, material even went missing and guess who had to incur the fees? It's complete nonsense. Best I hire some Mexicans from the USA and send them to Trinidad to get the job done. They will complete it in a month, arrive on time and cost less. Steups.

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » November 22nd, 2011, 3:50 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:
Rahtid wrote:Somehow, one figure upfront never works, there will be additional costs somewhere during the works.

Thanks Rahtid, but why won't agreeing to a flat fee upfront work? My figure incorporates these "additional costs" as part of the flat fee, which is several times over what I think the project will cost me. I will PM you.

ETA: My issue has been with the inability of others to justify the cost, especially when it comes to material. At one point, material even went missing and guess who had to incur the fees? It's complete nonsense. Best I hire some Mexicans from the USA and send them to Trinidad to get the job done. They will complete it in a month, arrive on time and cost less. Steups.

Fee being the PM's fee?

I was saying that the price (material/labour) would not be the same as the agreed price on teh contract.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » November 22nd, 2011, 4:13 pm

Rahtid wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:

Fee being the PM's fee?

I was saying that the price (material/labour) would not be the same as the agreed price on teh contract.

No, fees associated with the construction.

Why won't the material/labour price be the same as the agreed price?

Before anyone starts working on my project ALL estimated figures will be discussed in full, with in-person visit to the site and details on where material and labor will come from.

I want my PM to discuss and negotiate prices directly with the contractor(s) and in the event of a contractor not doing his job, get someone else. I don't have time for BS. As for the PM fees, that's between him/her and I, excluding any bonuses I wish to pay depending on how pleased I am with the job.

sizzla89

Postby sizzla89 » November 22nd, 2011, 4:19 pm

Just quoting you guys here,

But with respect to fees of material not remaining the same from what was signed on the contract i will say yes and no.

The rational behind this is that once the Scope of work, Bill of quantities are signed to with respect to material, labour this is final. There should not be any variations unless the quantities were underestimated or items of work were ommitted in error etc.

Other than that materials that are signed for shall not attract a variation.

The form of conract will preide over such matters however.

There are stipulations that will be outlined for such occurences.

AbstractPoetic wrote:
Rahtid wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:

Fee being the PM's fee?

Before anyone starts working on my project ALL estimated figures will be discussed in full, with in-person visit to the site and details on where material and labor will come from.

I want my PM to discuss and negotiate prices directly with the contractor(s) and in the event of a contractor not doing his job, get someone else. I don't have time for BS. As for the PM fees, that's between him/her and I, excluding any bonuses I wish to pay depending on how pleased I am with the job.

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » November 22nd, 2011, 4:22 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:
Rahtid wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:

Fee being the PM's fee?

OMG! :shock:

I shall discuss this later about 8pm, I am off to a seminar on Bentonite Piling by MR JEAN BAPTISTE-RIVIERE, PROJECT MANAGER - VINCI CONSTRUCTION @ Uwi,,,any one else here going?

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » November 22nd, 2011, 4:39 pm

sizzla89 wrote:Just quoting you guys here,

But with respect to fees of material not remaining the same from what was signed on the contract i will say yes and no.

The rational behind this is that once the Scope of work, Bill of quantities are signed to with respect to material, labour this is final. There should not be any variations unless the quantities were underestimated or items of work were ommitted in error etc.

Other than that materials that are signed for shall not attract a variation.

The form of conract will preide over such matters however.

There are stipulations that will be outlined for such occurences.

Honestly, even if there existed variations, I am willing to pay them, however, these variation fees will be made part of the final discussed fee, no questions asked. My PM or someone I can trust will be able to access a separate account solely reserved for such variations. I just don't have to time to worry about these things nor do I feel I should have to as a client. Just get me the final quote, explain the expenses and I'll sign the checks/provide the cash.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » November 22nd, 2011, 4:41 pm

Rahtid wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:
Rahtid wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:

Fee being the PM's fee?

OMG! :shock:

In no way should I be bound to one contractor, especially if that contractor is not getting the job done the way we discussed.

Postby rfari » November 22nd, 2011, 4:49 pm

OP, you contradicting yourself unno. variation 'fees' part of final discussed fee?????? wha??? you talking about a provisional sum or contingency? what really going on???