Gas leak off Point Galeota

Postby K74T » September 12th, 2011, 12:16 am

Story Created: Sep 11, 2011 at 9:46 PM ECT

Story Updated: Sep 11, 2011 at 9:46 PM ECT

An NGC gas leak has been detected off Point Galeota in Trinidad.

According to public relations officer for the Trinidad and Tobago Coast Guard, Lieutenant Kirk Jean-Baptiste, the Coast Guard unit at Point Galeota received a call about the gas leak around 6.30 a.m. yesterday.

He said officers from the Coast Guard unit in Staubles Bay immediately contacted the National Gas Company.

Minister of Energy and Energy Affairs Kevin Ramnarine told TV6 he was contacted by the company's president, Andrew McIntosh, who said the company was dealing with the problem.

Meanwhile, the following release came from the NGC yesterday evening:

"About midday today Sunday, 11th September, NGC's Control Room was alerted by the T&T Coast Guard of a water spout present just off Galeota Point in the vicinity of several natural gas and oil pipelines.

"At this point, we are unable to confirm the cause or source of the water disturbance.

"NGC has been liaising with energy operators in the area—BGTT, bpTT, Repsol and Petrotrin to determine whether the sea spout is associated with any of the pipelines in the area.

"In addition, NGC has initiated actions on site and in its Control Rooms to monitor gas flow in the NGC pipeline in the area.

"We are also making arrangements to conduct a physical inspection of our gas pipeline within 24 hours.

"However, we are ensuring that the community, in particular fishermen, are made aware and advised to keep away from the area.

"As soon as further information is available, we will issue an update," the release ended.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Gas_leak_off_Point_Galeota-129628538.html

Re: Gas leak off Point Galeota

Postby streetbeastINC. » September 12th, 2011, 12:39 am

(godzilla)

Postby sMASH » September 12th, 2011, 9:00 am

lolz, just remember, we heard it here first, folks.

Postby MG Man » September 12th, 2011, 9:20 am

i hope they don't do like my neighbour who used a match to find a gas leak in his lpg line

Postby bushwakka » September 12th, 2011, 11:33 am

orr.....worse yet, they try to smell it, detect no smell an say well it cya be gas then.....minus mercaptan

Postby toyolink » September 12th, 2011, 1:45 pm

Really hope this is not as serious as it looks.The ramifications could be quite significant if a main transmission line needs to be throttled back for repair purposes.
Infor. from tuners in the sector would be quite helpful.

Postby RBphoto » September 12th, 2011, 5:12 pm

Not a big deal. They have all kinda clamp to rectify that. Two- three days and all should be normel.

Postby gastly369 » September 12th, 2011, 7:57 pm

headin to wok and saw it clearly from de sea wall where does sell food

reallll gushing out oui

Postby K74T » September 14th, 2011, 5:47 am

Work begins today on offshore gas leak

The National Gas Company (NGC) was working last night to avert a disruption in the domestic gas supply caused by a rupture of a 24-inch pipeline in waters off Galeota Point, Guayaguayare.

The natural gas leak was found on Sunday by Coast Guard officers 1.2 kilometres offshore, in shallow water near several oil and gas production platforms.

The NGC said a dive team mobilised to inspect the leak confirmed that the gas was coming from its 24-inch pipeline. Repair work was expected to start today.

Company heath and safety officials spent yesterday walking the village, assuring residents that they were in no immediately danger, but warning fishermen away from the eruption of gas, that could be seen from shore.

The NGC said pressure was being maintained in the pipeline to prevent seawater from entering.

The NGC stated yesterday: "We are presently seeking quotes from two experienced marine contractors to undertake a more extensive, detailed inspection to determine exactly the location and extent of the leak following which a comprehensive repair plan would be derived and implemented after internal review and approval.

The NGC stated that a repair crew would be working round the clock for the pipeline to be re-commissioned in the shortest possible timeframe.

NGC advised that buoys will be installed around the area and have asked that fishermen stay at least 500 metres away.

Meanwhile president of the South East Fishing Association, Fenton Straker, has expressed concern over the gas leak which, he said, is affecting both residents and fishermen in the area. He wants the damage repaired as soon as possible.

Straker said, "They (the residents) are smelling the gas in the area which is affecting them and some of them complaining about it, and as a matter of fact they are coming to me about it. The fishermen have their boats going in an out and my concern, as the president of the South Eastern Fishing Association, is that if the weather is bad, it could prevent you from coming in or going out."

He said fishermen stayed away from the area on Monday.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Work_begins_today_on_offshore_gas_leak-129777008.html

Postby Sky » September 14th, 2011, 7:01 am

Been leaking since Monday morning.

bugsy rabbit

Postby bugsy rabbit » September 14th, 2011, 8:14 am

put a cap on that soon or beetham residents goin and get a barge and start to full up 20lb tanks

Postby toyolink » September 14th, 2011, 11:51 am

I wonder if this is the older 24" leg of the transmission net-work which had a relationship with 'CASSIA',if so repair works may not be that simple.
More than likely disruptions in consistency of supplies requiring plants to throttle back may be taking place.Unusual flaring on the Ponit Lisas estate is a sure tell tale sign.
What I am sure about is T&TEC who according to public records,are not best paying customer would get priority.
Any time you hear problems with 24" transmission line is time to be a bit concerned.

Postby MG Man » September 14th, 2011, 12:36 pm

does this mean when I put fish in the pot they gonna explode?

Postby TRAE » September 14th, 2011, 12:42 pm

well that sux... how are they gonna approach this

yuh know trinis go be normel normel

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » September 14th, 2011, 12:45 pm

MG Man wrote:does this mean when I put fish in the pot they gonna explode?

dont know bout that but they may all look like puffer fish just now!

GoS

Postby GoS » September 14th, 2011, 7:39 pm

m4 down because ah this, this last months here we having some shutdowns like that,bgtt onshore nd off shore,alng,m4,pcs,my work just got harder for me

Postby sMASH » September 14th, 2011, 9:23 pm

m1 not m4

mg, u ok. just don't expose to naked flames.

Postby pete » September 14th, 2011, 9:53 pm

Wait nah.. it's STILL leaking?

Postby sMASH » September 15th, 2011, 7:21 am

probably contract out the wuk to wasa.

Postby tr1ad » September 15th, 2011, 7:53 am

GoS wrote:m4 down because ah this, this last months here we having some shutdowns like that,bgtt onshore nd off shore,alng,m4,pcs,my work just got harder for me

those shutdowns not related to this leak

Postby Rainman » September 15th, 2011, 7:58 am

tr1ad wrote:
GoS wrote:m4 down because ah this, this last months here we having some shutdowns like that,bgtt onshore nd off shore,alng,m4,pcs,my work just got harder for me

This!

Postby tr1ad » September 15th, 2011, 7:59 am

Rainman wrote:
tr1ad wrote:

This!

That?

GoS

Postby GoS » September 15th, 2011, 8:10 am

yes it is we done get the call here already

Postby Rainman » September 15th, 2011, 8:10 am

tr1ad wrote:
Rainman wrote:
tr1ad wrote:

This!

That?

A little bit of this, a little bit of that.

Postby tr1ad » September 15th, 2011, 8:16 am

GoS wrote:yes it is we done get the call here already

GoS

those shutdowns were planned since second quarter of '11
the gas facilities are upgrading / expanding

Postby Sky » September 15th, 2011, 8:56 am

GoS = Rustabout who dunno the scene.

GoS

Postby GoS » September 15th, 2011, 9:10 am

tr1ad that what i have been told in this office ,yes i know the people here mad

Postby Sky » September 15th, 2011, 9:11 am

Rustabout does go in the office too?

Postby pete » September 15th, 2011, 9:29 am

So, they shut in the line yet or is it still venting gas?

Postby sMASH » September 15th, 2011, 11:36 am

m1 was because of the gas. they decided to fix a lot of stuff in the mean time. m4 carded for end of october/early november. if another has to go down this would be put down earlier.

two tings with that leak. that is real gas wasting, and natural gas is a significantly more effective green house gas than the carbon oxides.