can a 4M40 turbo work on a 4D56??

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
droppa

can a 4M40 turbo work on a 4D56??

Postby droppa » July 28th, 2011, 11:14 am

any PJ or L2 owners here ever had turbo probs?

what turbo did u guys replace with?

havin some boost issues with a recently bought local used PJ....no power at all...going to install a boost gauge this weekend and test the pressure levels...

what is the stock boost pressure for the 4D56?

CD4Accord

Re: can a 4M40 turbo work on a 4D56??

Postby CD4Accord » July 28th, 2011, 1:10 pm

stock boost is usually around 10psi on these engines.. It will vary a bit from about 8-10 or even 11 sometimes..
I think 14 is the maximum with the internal wastegate..

I am not sure if the turbos are the same on the two engines, but they should be very similar

droppa

Postby droppa » July 28th, 2011, 2:37 pm

maybe a plate will have to be made for adapting....

ltech

Postby ltech » July 28th, 2011, 2:57 pm

Did you Check the ERG valve????.........

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » July 29th, 2011, 7:08 pm

ERG or EGR?

As far as I know its EGR.. Exhaust Gas Recirculation...

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 29th, 2011, 11:41 pm

EGR ^^

ryanm

Postby ryanm » July 31st, 2011, 10:42 am

not sure. i have a 4d56 turbo assembly from my engine. you can use it to compare the two. Mine works perfectly, its the engine that had timin belt issues and broke the rocker shafts.

ltech

Postby ltech » July 31st, 2011, 11:58 pm

Srry, a typo, but u kno wat i mean.... excuse a newbee

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » August 1st, 2011, 12:31 am

Noob question...can I put a wrx td04 on my BT-50? The seals are starting to leak oil and im seeing a reduction in power...

otherwise what are my options turbo wise and price range??

ltech

Postby ltech » August 1st, 2011, 1:29 am

droppa wrote:any PJ or L2 owners here ever had turbo probs?

havin some boost issues with a recently bought local used PJ....no power at all..

I had an l200 (4d56) similar prob.... no power
Service the EGR valve.......got back power

DrunkenMaster16 wrote:Noob question...can I put a wrx td04 on my BT-50? The seals are starting to leak oil and im seeing a reduction in power...

otherwise what are my options turbo wise and price range??

Srry can't help you there "DrunkenMaster16"...... jus tried to offer a solution to "droppa" original problem....... other than changing the entire turbo,

but say what, If you want to try the slowberu turbo go right ahead......jus post ur pics... lol...

droppa

Postby droppa » August 8th, 2011, 10:49 am

ok service the EGR, getting some more power now, changed oil and filters, but black smoke like crazy, once u hit the floor its a cloud...........

im seeing that the turbo actuator rod is interfered with (welded) cud this mean they raised the boost and she is dumping too much fuel now????

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 8th, 2011, 11:07 am

might need some more air to get into that engine.... snorkel perhaps??

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » August 8th, 2011, 11:52 am

or less fuel perhaps? Adjust the fuel pressure on the pump... Lower it a bit until it leans out and stops smoking so much (under the assumption that air filter, intercooler etc in good order)

droppa

Postby droppa » August 8th, 2011, 1:45 pm

yeah new air filter, was actually thinkin or adjusting the pump, poor fools probably "open it up" to "get it to pull"....

CD4 know where i can get pwr mirrors for both v44 and v76

ltech

Postby ltech » August 8th, 2011, 7:15 pm

Glad to see you getting through droppa...... I also had a prob wit heavy smokin and used this info that a 2ner posted, and it worked....... no smoke when driving normal and a slight amt of smoke can be see on hard acceleration..... I jus did the opposite.... he increased his, I decreased mine......

I had also used a max 44 diesel treatment, twice as recomended by my mechanic an a power increase was felt thereafter.....If I remember thats a 'cyclo' brand (not too sure), but it is abt $45-$55, this also reduced some of the smoke.........

l200 wrote:Take a look>>>>>

As for adjusting the fuel pump, follow these instructions......

Please note I am a no way a mechanic an tried this out on my van by following the instruction given on a Pajero forum......

The pump....

1. first remove the cap that cover the adjusting screw, which is located jus beneath the return line on the pump.....

then slacken the locknut and turn the screw in abt a 1/4 turn, ( this was the amt specified by the web site i got my info from).......

When completed start ur engine, an allow to run for a while, then slowly rev the engine up an hold the rev for a couple of seconds, then slowly release.... repeat two or three times.

after give a quick rev an release.....this is to reset the governor spring in the pump....(so said the web site)

take the van for a spin, checking for smoke comming from ur tail pipe.... on slow take off there should be very little to non, on very hard acceleration there should be somke..... that gradually disappears between the 3rd an 4th gears..

i personally don't like to see smoke coming from my van so i governed mines back to no smoke on normal take off and very little on hard acceleration.

But in my case my pump was in great need of adjustment. I took a complete turn before my van began to black smoke,

.... but make sure not to open too much fuel as too much fuel will increase your carbon build up in ur engine,an you will see it in you pocket, if you kno what i mean..$$$$$.

and if you are already smoking heavy, you might need to govern down the pump......

this was the site...http://4x4pajero.spaces.live.com/?_c11_ ... c=BlogPart

Hope the link works!!!

Postby streetbeastINC. » August 11th, 2011, 9:40 am

yuh sellin the 4m40 tbo unit? i got a 4m40...if its in good condition ah wah it.

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » August 15th, 2011, 12:55 am

k74 turbo is a direct bolt up on the pajero turbo engine jus incase u need to know. same 4d56
a padna had to swap cos of worn fins. jus that u have to run a water line to it as its water cooled as well. so i was told

call 7435168.. ask for the tall lingay man lol...

drunk24-7

Postby drunk24-7 » September 9th, 2011, 10:48 pm

Instead of buy a different turbo, how about rebuilding the turbo that came of the van? I had a K74 unit rebuilt locally and installed on my van, and 30000 MILES later its still going strong. My engine gets abused on a daily basis, doing about 8000 MILES a month at least. Some days i don't switch of until about 14 hours later and i change my oil every 3 weeks. IMO, you're better of rebuilding the unit that's on the engine. If you're just damn curious, I'll recommend the 4M40 upgrade.

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » September 9th, 2011, 11:04 pm

Rebuilding is a very attractive option if it is done right..
Question is, what did it cost to rebuild your turbo in trinidad?

drunk24-7

Postby drunk24-7 » September 10th, 2011, 12:17 am

the rebuild cost close to $1900TT. Guys who did my rebuild were recommended by someone from the mitsu forums, I dropped the unit about 2230 one evening and it was ready about 0900 the next day. The guy even helped us remove the turbo from the manifold as well as scrap the unit on a van tray at that hour, using street lights and a half powered mag light. And to top it of, I'm using NP mineral oil, which as we all know is famous for sludge under high heat and load applications. I'm able to get tires on 3rd gear, and my van has an appreciable amount of power... cutthroat as a witness.

My engine is available for comment if you wanna see how we installed the the additional lines and removed the entire intercooler and manifold setup. My guess is that we're here for the learning experience.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”