Yeast make evolutionary leap to multicellularity in the lab!

Jonathan

Yeast make evolutionary leap to multicellularity in the lab!

Postby Jonathan » June 23rd, 2011, 4:03 pm

Where is your god now? :lol: I keed, I keed!!

IN JUST a few weeks single-celled yeast have evolved into a multicellular organism, complete with division of labour between cells. This suggests that the evolutionary leap to multicellularity may be a surprisingly small hurdle.

Multicellularity has evolved at least 20 times since life began, but the last time was about 200 million years ago, leaving few clues to the precise sequence of events. To understand the process better, William Ratcliff and colleagues at the University of Minnesota in St Paul set out to evolve multicellularity in a common unicellular lab organism, brewer's yeast.

Their approach was simple: they grew the yeast in a liquid and once each day gently centrifuged each culture, inoculating the next batch with the yeast that settled out on the bottom of each tube. Just as large sand particles settle faster than tiny silt, groups of cells settle faster than single ones, so the team effectively selected for yeast that clumped together.

Sure enough, within 60 days - about 350 generations - every one of their 10 culture lines had evolved a clumped, "snowflake" form. Crucially, the snowflakes formed not from unrelated cells banding together but from cells that remained connected to one another after division, so that all the cells in a snowflake were genetically identical relatives. This relatedness provides the conditions necessary for individual cells to cooperate for the good of the whole snowflake.

"The key step in the evolution of multicellularity is a shift in the level of selection from unicells to groups. Once that occurs, you can consider the clumps to be primitive multicellular organisms," says Ratcliff.

In some ways, the snowflakes do behave as if they are multicellular. They grow bigger by cell division and when the snowflakes reach a certain size a portion breaks off to form a daughter cell. This "life cycle" is much like the juvenile and adult stages of many multicellular organisms.

After a few hundred further generations of selection, the snowflakes also began to show a rudimentary division of labour. As the snowflakes reach their "adult" size, some cells undergo programmed cell death, providing weak points where daughters can break off. This lets the snowflakes make more offspring while leaving the parent large enough to sink quickly to the base of the tube, ensuring its survival. Snowflake lineages exposed to different evolutionary pressures evolved different levels of cell death. Since it is rarely to the advantage of an individual cell to die, this is a clear case of cooperation for the good of the larger organism. This is a key sign that the snowflakes are evolving as a unit, Ratcliff reported last week at a meeting of the Society for the Study of Evolution in Norman, Oklahoma.

Other researchers familiar with the work were generally enthusiastic. "It really seemed to me to have the elements of the unfolding in real time of a major transition," says Ben Kerr, an evolutionary biologist at the University of Washington in Seattle. "The fact that it happened so quickly was really exciting."

Sceptics, however, point out that many yeast strains naturally form colonies, and that their ancestors were multicellular tens or hundreds of millions of years ago. As a result, they may have retained some evolved mechanisms for cell adhesion and programmed cell death, effectively stacking the deck in favour of Ratcliff's experiment.

"I bet that yeast, having once been multicellular, never lost it completely," says Neil Blackstone, an evolutionary biologist at Northern Illinois University in DeKalb. "I don't think if you took something that had never been multicellular you would get it so quickly."

Even so, much of evolution proceeds by co-opting existing traits for new uses - and that's exactly what Ratcliff's yeast do. "I wouldn't expect these things to all pop up de novo, but for the cell to have many of the elements already present for other reasons," says Kerr.

Ratcliff and his colleagues are planning to address that objection head-on, by doing similar experiments with Chlamydomonas, a single-celled alga that has no multicellular ancestors. They are also continuing their yeast experiments to see whether further division of labour will evolve within the snowflakes. Both approaches offer an unprecedented opportunity to bring experimental rigour to the study of one of the most important leaps in our distant evolutionary past.

link
http://www.newscientist.com/article/mg21028184.300-lab-yeast-make-evolutionary-leap-to-multicellularity.html

Re: Yeast make evolutionary leap to multicellularity in the

Postby bluefete » June 23rd, 2011, 10:05 pm

Jonathan wrote:Where is your god now? :lol: I keed, I keed!!

IN JUST a few weeks single-celled yeast have evolved into a multicellular organism, complete with division of labour between cells. This suggests that the evolutionary leap to multicellularity may be a surprisingly small hurdle.

Multicellularity has evolved at least 20 times since life began, but the last time was about 200 million years ago, leaving few clues to the precise sequence of events. To understand the process better, William Ratcliff and colleagues at the University of Minnesota in St Paul set out to evolve multicellularity in a common unicellular lab organism, brewer's yeast.

http://www.newscientist.com/article/mg21028184.300-lab-yeast-make-evolutionary-leap-to-multicellularity.html

Jonathan, Jonathan: All the scientists are doing is proving God and the Bible right.

Genesis 1 (King James Version)

11And God said, Let the earth bring forth grass, the herb yielding seed, and the fruit tree yielding fruit after his kind, whose seed is in itself, upon the earth: and it was so.

12And the earth brought forth grass, and herb yielding seed after his kind, and the tree yielding fruit, whose seed was in itself, after his kind: and God saw that it was good.

13And the evening and the morning were the third day.

This basically means that you are dealing with a unicellular organism with the capacity to become multicellular.

So God is still alive and well and He Loves you very much. Notwithstanding your mockery of Him.

You did not come into existence by yourself and before you exit this world, you will find out that God truly does exist.

Postby ismithx » June 24th, 2011, 10:05 am

^^^ yep!

RMSTTL

Postby RMSTTL » June 24th, 2011, 8:20 pm

He is Creator, all else is creation. Accept it and believe it for it will never change.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » June 24th, 2011, 8:41 pm

oh dear I will never look at bread the same way again!!!!!

Postby ronsin1 » June 25th, 2011, 7:07 am

tfm34 wrote:He is Creator, all else is creation. Accept it and believe it for it will never change.

Who Created the Creator

Postby bluefete » June 25th, 2011, 7:12 am

The Creator always was. He had to be, to be the Creator.

Postby ronsin1 » June 25th, 2011, 7:17 am

in order for the creator to create he/she needs to be created so something/someone created the creator and so-forth

Postby kurpal_v2 » June 25th, 2011, 7:20 am

RMSTTL

Postby RMSTTL » June 25th, 2011, 7:34 am

one cannot apply man's logic (that of a creation) to the Creator. you either know or you dont know obviously many still dont know

Postby kurpal_v2 » June 25th, 2011, 7:37 am

tfm34 wrote:one cannot apply man's logic (that of a creation) to the Creator. you either know or you dont know obviously many still dont know

I have a question, what happened to people like who deformed/ deaf etc etc

The creator was lazy that day? Poor quality control?

FullStop

Postby FullStop » June 25th, 2011, 7:43 am

ronsin1 wrote:in order for the creator to create he/she needs to be created so something/someone created the creator and so-forth

stop trying to sound intelligent, you clearly are not...

flvrufdwk

Postby flvrufdwk » June 25th, 2011, 7:46 am

The creator is the ALPHA and OMEGA.

Postby ronsin1 » June 25th, 2011, 9:13 am

ghostbusters wrote:
ronsin1 wrote:in order for the creator to create he/she needs to be created so something/someone created the creator and so-forth

wow did I step on your toe I simply stated my point of view, anyway let me go back into my hole and doh study to argue religion with the more informed persons on this board

bonzo.specb

Postby bonzo.specb » June 25th, 2011, 9:28 am

ronsin1 wrote:
ghostbusters wrote:

wow did I step on your toe I simply stated my point of view, anyway let me go back into my hole and doh study to argue religion with the more informed persons on this board

Clearly "The Creator" is not pleased with your shenanigans :arrow: :|

Postby ronsin1 » June 25th, 2011, 9:38 am

^^^ not necessarily eh, probably ghostbusters inhaled so much of that ectoplasmic junk while trying to capture ghosts that he now has infinite knowledge about the universe

Postby goalpost » June 25th, 2011, 9:42 am

ghostbusters wrote:

The man did ask a legit question.

Postby goalpost » June 25th, 2011, 9:45 am

tfm34 wrote:one cannot apply man's logic (that of a creation) to the Creator. you either know or you dont know obviously many still dont know

So why can't man's logic be applied? And how do you know that man's logic cannot be applied?

hoverauto

Postby hoverauto » June 25th, 2011, 11:52 am

The other day God spoke to me, he said: 'Im not real'

hoverauto

Postby hoverauto » June 25th, 2011, 11:54 am

bluefete wrote:The Creator always was. He had to be, to be the Creator.

The world would be a better place without idiots like you, and your stupid religion.

Jonathan

Postby Jonathan » June 25th, 2011, 3:40 pm

Come better dan that nah...

Postby ronsin1 » June 25th, 2011, 6:23 pm

hoverauto wrote:

The world would be a better place without idiots like you, and your stupid religion.

You really should not say religion stupid it the people that do not take the time to understand religion that are the ones to blame.

People one learn what they want and portray that as their gospel

RMSTTL

Postby RMSTTL » June 25th, 2011, 7:37 pm

the ignorant or rather uninformed are the ones that dont take the time to get to know the Creator but then the wheat and the tears must grow together only to be separated at the end.
i choose to believe you choose not too, who is right?? time will tell. but in the mean time dont allow my choosen opinion to vex you. surley u have more important things to do than seek God???

Postby 3stagevtec » June 25th, 2011, 8:12 pm

bluefete wrote:Jonathan, Jonathan: All the scientists are doing is proving God and the Bible right.

11And God said, Let the earth bring forth grass, the herb yielding seed, and the fruit tree yielding fruit after his kind, whose seed is in itself, upon the earth: and it was so.

12And the earth brought forth grass, and herb yielding seed after his kind, and the tree yielding fruit, whose seed was in itself, after his kind: and God saw that it was good.

This basically means that you are dealing with a unicellular organism with the capacity to become multicellular.

So God is still alive and well and He Loves you very much. Notwithstanding your mockery of Him.

You did not come into existence by yourself and before you exit this world, you will find out that God truly does exist.

Where exactly in that Genesis 1 (King James Version) passage does it mention about single cell organisms becoming multicellular?? I'n really not seeing how you came to that conclusion..

Postby ismithx » June 25th, 2011, 8:19 pm

3stagevtec wrote:
bluefete wrote:Jonathan, Jonathan: All the scientists are doing is proving God and the Bible right.

Where exactly in that Genesis 1 (King James Version) passage does it mention about single cell organisms becoming multicellular?? I'n really not seeing how you came to that conclusion..

orly? as the man said.... yuh dealing with something that has the capability to become multicellular. it didn't evolve, it always had the capability...

clear now????

Postby bluefete » June 25th, 2011, 8:35 pm

Jonathan wrote:

So you 'just exist". Like the universe. There is no purpose to your existence. Like your appendix. If you believe the doctors. Do you know what happens to you if your appendix which "just exists" and serves no purpose, ruptures?

Carry on then.

Postby Razkal » June 25th, 2011, 9:17 pm

bluefete wrote:
Jonathan wrote:

So you 'just exist". Like the universe. There is no purpose to your existence. Like your appendix. If you believe the doctors. Do you know what happens to you if your appendix which "just exists" and serves no purpose, ruptures?

Carry on then.

so all doctors are liars, concerning the necessity of the appendix for individual survival?

..the same doctors are liars when they treat your kid for dengue fever?
..save your grandmother from her severe stroke?
...what about save you from bleeding to death after some imps broadside yuh after sunday service?

why don't these retarded bible thumpers have some sense of consistency??

i mean, if doctors on shite and your 'book' knows better....then why use the facility?

wait, lemme help yuh, "god helps those who helps themselves" ent? :lol:

Postby bluefete » June 25th, 2011, 9:27 pm

Razkal wrote:
bluefete wrote:
Jonathan wrote:

Carry on then.

so all doctors are liars, concerning the necessity of the appendix for individual survival?

..the same doctors are liars when they treat your kid for dengue fever?
..save your grandmother from her severe stroke?
...what about save you from bleeding to death after some imps broadside yuh after sunday service?

why don't these retarded bible thumpers have some sense of consistency??

i mean, if doctors on shite and your 'book' knows better....then why use the facility?

wait, lemme help yuh, "god helps those who helps themselves" ent? :lol:

Listen here Doctor:

Psalm 139:14

14 I will praise thee; for I am fearfully and wonderfully made: marvellous are thy works; and that my soul knoweth right well.

Jeremiah 1:5

5 Before I formed thee in the belly I knew thee; and before thou camest forth out of the womb I sanctified thee, and I ordained thee a prophet unto the nations.

Doctors are only now beginning to get the slightest understanding of the workings of the human body. Those who say the appendix has no purpose have no clue about what they are saying. Every piece of the human body derves a purpose ordained by God. If a doctor does not know, s/he should say so!!

(Some) Doctors are really on shrite. Maybe you know some of them... Being a doctor and all... 8-)

Postby shogun » June 26th, 2011, 2:01 pm

Found this also...not exactly related, but in the same vein.
hope the OP doesn't mind.

Single-cell organisms have been known to live deep in the earth, more than 9,000 feet below the surface.

But until now, it was thought that the temperature, energy, oxygen and space constraints of the subsurface biosphere were too extreme for multicellular organisms.

Now, Tullis Onstott, a geoscientist at Princeton University, and colleagues from Belgium, South Africa and the Netherlands report their discovery of a small multicellular worm that dwells at these depths.

The worm, known as Halicephalobus mephisto, is tiny — two hundredths of an inch at the longest — and belongs to the vast and diverse phylum of nematodes. Its discovery, in a shaft of the Beatrix gold mine in South Africa, is reported in the journal Nature.

The worm appears to tolerate temperatures exceeding 100 degrees Fahrenheit and feeds on subsurface bacteria.

The researchers studied soil and water samples from the mines to determine that the newly identified nematodes are uniquely subsurface organisms. The samples indicated that while the nematodes live in the deep fracture water of the mines, they do not inhabit the surface-level mining water.

The researchers say their findings should be considered as scientists search for life in other extreme conditions — like those on Mars and other planets in the solar system.

http://www.nytimes.com/2011/06/07/scien ... .html?_r=1

the devil worm oui!

Postby 3stagevtec » June 26th, 2011, 2:51 pm

ismithx wrote:
3stagevtec wrote:

orly? as the man said.... yuh dealing with something that has the capability to become multicellular. it didn't evolve, it always had the capability...

clear now????

those seem to be your own words and not those taken from the quoted passage.. i am not seeing any text in the passage mentioning the step from single cell to multicellular.

all living entities mentioned in the passage are multicellular organisms.

still not clear.