ORION anyone

Postby SR » November 8th, 2004, 11:11 am

Anyone who knows me long enuff will know i am an old fan of Orion products and no ah not sellin meh DEQ
what are your views on Orion products...the new models not the old lines

quality??
performance??
costs??

~snYper~

Postby ~snYper~ » November 8th, 2004, 11:14 am

Nice looks, good price, but I find the quality not too "SQ friendly"

Postby SR » November 8th, 2004, 11:32 am

when u say good price how good is the price presently and it terms of sound q incompariosn to what........
as opposed to good sound for the price?

roger

Postby roger » November 8th, 2004, 12:04 pm

i have heard only the new coaxes and comps a friend imported, the P.6 i think?

anyways i thought that it sounded a bit "tinny" and "scratchy". it did not sound as musical and natural as the older stuff namely nt's or other stuff like diamonds. i am not fond of the tweeter which i think is harsh on both the comp and coax. good build quality though!

although the above cud be due to eq issues...i did not really fancy it in the end

~snYper~

Postby ~snYper~ » November 8th, 2004, 12:27 pm

when u say good price how good is the price presently

Well I bought a 4 Channel (60x4) amplifier a lil while ago....paid something like $1600 for it (can't remember the model number of it offhand)

I also used the Cobalt CS200.4 (another 50x4) 4 amplifier....paid like $1400 for it. That sounded a lil bit better than the above-mentioned amplifier.

it terms of sound q incompariosn to what........

I compared it to the level of soundQ with the older model 4 Channel (25w x 4...the HCCA425) amplifier. My 'experiment' was performed with all audio equipment units except the amplifier constant.

as opposed to good sound for the price?

Exactly my point. You get what you pay for! To me the newer model amplifiers do not impress me that much. There seems to be more emphasis on looks and marketing strategies, rather than quality of component and design. They do not peak my interest as compared to the older model/s of equipment. At least that is just mine (and a couple other audio enthuiasts) opinion.
Last edited by ~snYper~ on November 8th, 2004, 12:36 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby SR » November 8th, 2004, 12:31 pm

dont compare the hcca line of amps to the new line
the xtr line of amps are a btter comparison
we all know the hcca was one of the best

the comaoprison you are making here is between the new orion 4004
60 x 4 at 4 ohm
against the cobalt 200.4
50 x 4 at 4 ohm
which amp had more power and was the comparison with the same install same head unit and speakers?

roger

Postby roger » November 8th, 2004, 12:33 pm

are we talkin about amps only ?

Postby SR » November 8th, 2004, 12:35 pm

nah looking for reviews on the entire product line and in compariosn to other poriduct lines and price range

roger

Postby roger » November 8th, 2004, 12:39 pm

ok...can't offer anything on the amps. have not had any comparitive experience with them. used a cobalt 200.4 (old model) once but i did not compare it's performance to anything. very underated and well worth the $$.

~snYper~

Postby ~snYper~ » November 8th, 2004, 12:40 pm

sr wrote:the comaoprison you are making here is between the new orion 4004
60 x 4 at 4 ohm
against the cobalt 200.4
50 x 4 at 4 ohm
which amp had more power and was the comparison with the same install same head unit and speakers?

Hmmm to me it seemed as though the CS200.4 had 'more power'. Strange huh?!
Yes..as I stated above, I did the comparison with the same head unit and speakers.

roger

Postby roger » November 8th, 2004, 12:42 pm

the 200.4 that i used tested at 71w /ch even though it wat rated at 50

Sully

Postby Sully » November 10th, 2004, 10:14 am

Why does it seem that you're thinking about obtaining the dealership for Orion?

Here's my views. I liked the old stuff, but there are other items that are better in comparison to the newer stuff.

~snYper~

Postby ~snYper~ » November 10th, 2004, 10:22 am

Why does it seem that you're thinking about obtaining the dealership for Orion?

either that or partnering with 'someone'? Hmmm the plot thickens

Postby SR » November 10th, 2004, 10:32 am

some how allyuh does be gettin d wrong ideas all d time
see pic coming soon

RaLLiArT

Postby RaLLiArT » November 10th, 2004, 12:57 pm

i have the newer line of orion , no problems thus far , got the power and very fair amt of sq to go wit it.

RaLLiArT

Postby RaLLiArT » November 10th, 2004, 1:05 pm

SR remember this!!!

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » November 10th, 2004, 1:14 pm

^^^ thats realllll swwweeeeeeeeeeeeeeeet
for some reason it reminds me of a dance floor :|

Postby SR » November 10th, 2004, 1:25 pm

yeah 16 alternators below it
ah have d pics of d alternators too ah go organise them maybe tonight or next week

fuzz_174

Postby fuzz_174 » November 10th, 2004, 2:06 pm

lawd :roll:

TK!

Postby TK! » November 18th, 2004, 3:52 pm

well... lol

new hcca subs good, old nt sub were disappointingly shitty
the deq damn good, needed to recap that BUT is a pain in de arse to adjust and esp to adjust on the fly... since is digital.
i have the xtr 6" separates for front stage: good but needs power to perform. not as good as the NT separates.
the cobalt line is actually good value for money and i always liked that cobalt blue. cobalt subs are good.

Postby SR » November 18th, 2004, 3:58 pm

the NT's are excelent subs however people were trying to get the sub to play like an HCCA instaed of a sound q sub which it was

hcca and cobalt line no longer being made
xtr line has been changed over and is not just orion amplifiers one line up
as far as the speakers go the lines have been revamped
to being call the c series ans the p series
and for spl there is the new HCCA sub personally i have found that the older HCCA subs sound much better than the new ones
but the enw ones will take more power and play louder .....although not as low as the old ones

roger

Postby roger » November 18th, 2004, 4:00 pm

props to the nt separates!!! esp the tweeter

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » November 19th, 2004, 11:55 pm

the new p seies line of orion subs are the best value for money and they handle power very well. pple swear my 10 is a 15. its also one of the most durable subs i have used i have it for almost a year now and its getting 600 wrms and the suspension and spiders are still stiff. the subs play kinda high in the recommended encluse but if tuned to about 30 to 35 hertz it reprouduces it really clean. i think this sub has alot of potential but more pple have to try it to see how impressive it really is

the coaxials are pretty impressive too really loud and sharp not bad for the price

fuzz_174

Postby fuzz_174 » November 20th, 2004, 12:23 am

agreed.......the orion Hcca subs plays pretty loud....and low as well.....it can be termed the ultimate SQL sub..... :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Radik

Postby Radik » November 20th, 2004, 1:12 am

Ok guys, plz don't laugh, but what's the NT? a model, a brand, what?

Postby SR » November 20th, 2004, 9:41 am

the NT series we refer too isthe orion 2Ntense line of subs and spearates which was discontinued in 1998/99 from orion this line utilzed designs and technology from ADS line of sound quality speakers

Radik

Postby Radik » November 20th, 2004, 12:49 pm

:roll: :wink:

~snYper~

Postby ~snYper~ » November 20th, 2004, 1:15 pm

the NT series we refer too isthe orion 2Ntense line of subs and spearates which was discontinued in 1998/99 from orion this line utilzed designs and technology from ADS line of sound quality speakers

^^ In other words, it was one of the best SQ lines (or products) ever made by Orion.....