What are the specs of code readers do I need to buy?

Nighttroll

What are the specs of code readers do I need to buy?

Postby Nighttroll » March 3rd, 2011, 9:56 am

I bought a code reader actron 9125 while in the USA an it only functions in 2009 corollas.
How do I know which code reader will work on the vehicles in Trinidad?

belalegosi

Re: What are the specs of code readers do I need to buy?

Postby belalegosi » March 8th, 2011, 8:24 pm

you need to know if your vehicle have obdii. If it does the next step is to find a scanner that supports your vehicle protocol (J1850 PWM, J1850 VPW, ISO9141-2, ISO14230-4, ISO15765-4/SAE J2480)

Postby wagonrunner » March 8th, 2011, 9:44 pm

had posted a link a while ago, with which vehicles used what protocols.
not seeing on the forum or google

Postby wagonrunner » March 8th, 2011, 9:54 pm

xtech

Postby xtech » March 9th, 2011, 7:02 am

Nighttroll wrote:I bought a code reader actron 9125 while in the USA an it only functions in 2009 corollas.
How do I know which code reader will work on the vehicles in Trinidad?

First Time Diagnostic Tool Buyers will find PocketScan Code Reader is the Right-Sized Tool, at the Right Price $85USD

PocketScan Code Reader CP9125 is an easy-to-use tool for novice and light-to-moderate DIY customers. It enables the user to read diagnostic trouble codes (DTCs) from the on-board computers of 1996 and newer OBD II compliant vehicles. This gives the user the ability to quickly determine the cause of the "Check Engine" light coming on. Once repairs are made, the PocketScan allows the user to clear the trouble codes and turn off the light. All Actron code readers and scan tools are CAN compliant.

Features
Reads and erases Diagnostic Trouble Codes (DTCs) and turns off check engine light

Displays MIL (Malfunction Indicator Lamp) status

Displays supported emissions readiness monitor status (I/M Monitors)

Bilingual Manual of DTCs and Definitions (English and Spanish)

Enables user to quickly and easily link to their vehicle

Compact tool, fits in your palm

Includes CD software that contains 3,000+ Diagnostic Trouble Codes (DTCs) and their descriptions

Attached OBD II 16-pin connector cable provides both data and power connections

Seems like you not using it properly.......... :?
You could also by a Openport 2 cable an use you laptop as a alternative.

Nighttroll

Postby Nighttroll » March 9th, 2011, 8:12 am

I'm sure i'm using it correctly because I did get it to work on two corollas.
I need it to work on 2003 frontier and a 2004 wingroad.

xtech

Postby xtech » March 9th, 2011, 8:21 am

older JOBD might not read well an new Corollas might be using CAN-Bus.

Nighttroll

Postby Nighttroll » March 9th, 2011, 8:26 am

xtech wrote:older JOBD might not read well an new Corollas might be using CAN-Bus.

I was thinking the same thing.

Postby wagonrunner » March 9th, 2011, 9:49 am

Nighttroll wrote:
xtech wrote:older JOBD might not read well an new Corollas might be using CAN-Bus.

I was thinking the same thing.

what yuh mean might?
it's there in the link.

wagonrunner wrote:heres an old copy.
OBDII protocols by manufacturer

OldSkoolRule

Postby OldSkoolRule » April 1st, 2011, 3:44 am

good stuff here

living louder

Postby living louder » April 1st, 2011, 6:42 am

good stuff indeed...but what about the innova readers? how good are they?

OldSkoolRule

Postby OldSkoolRule » April 1st, 2011, 10:29 am

living louder wrote:good stuff indeed...but what about the innova readers? how good are they?

I have an Innova Scan-tool....not impressive :? :roll:

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 2nd, 2011, 3:21 am

what about this ? Equus Innova Diagnostic Scan Tool for OBD2 Vehicles

or this one

Equus Innova Diagnostic Code Scanner Kit

Is it worth buying for private use?

thegtiman

Postby thegtiman » April 2nd, 2011, 6:53 pm

Guys,
"OBD2" is legislation for US emissions monitoring. All vehicles sold in that market would have std PIDs to work with any generic OBD2 tool over a K line.
JDM vehicles may send PIDs via CAN in a similar fashion to EOBD vehicles. In such a case those Actron tools will not work as the 16 pin J1962 connector would have pins for CAN-H and CAN-L active and not compatible this tools that reads over the K line.

static

Postby static » July 26th, 2011, 12:40 pm

so does anybody have an inexpensive scan tool that works with D22 frontier or other Japanese vehicles?

Auto Boss and Launch are really not within my budget for a home use device.

Postby wagonrunner » July 26th, 2011, 1:07 pm

aye man static.

haven't found one for the frontier. but there two cables which work for the other nissans.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » July 26th, 2011, 1:31 pm

What will you recommend for japan origin mazda 323?