Halfbreed07 wrote:why?
you belong to a gang orr
wagonrunner wrote:the gangs congregating by doubles vendors will be immune, but if yuh went for a fig-punch, bleak is the outcome.
nismoid wrote:obviously the police (and anybody else) would know the difference between people hanging out in front of a place like "earth and other establishments" and gang members congregating somewhere.
It is also obvious that the people who like to dress a certain way and act a certain way (be it whatever race they are) would also know where not to "hang out"
The "good" police officers would use this to help curb the gang related crimes. But in Trinidad theres always an exception to the rule, My view is, If you want to dress a certain way, and act a certain way and "lime" with certain people then take whatever you get. If you want to place yourself in the line of the stereotypical people that the law is looking at well then take what you get.
Rallyfignis wrote:I think we need to do like Grenada - if you pants hanging off yuh a$$ wit all yuh ole drawers showing, is instant arrest
foss wrote:Rallyfignis wrote:I think we need to do like Grenada - if you pants hanging off yuh a$$ wit all yuh ole drawers showing, is instant arrest
then 98% of the male nagger population would have been arrested.
RASC wrote:This law is obscene. Imagine this scenerio:
Police1: " Eh you see that Youth man there, I don't like him, he always up under my daughter and now I hearing talk of they going out/dating"
Police2: "Who yuh mean the Indian one over there? Liming with his boy? They look like school chirren"
Police1: "Me eh care, looking like straight gang related activities to me...wha you say? Two or more right?
...and the rest is history. It have racist police out there. Classist police out there. Police that "don't like the look" of certain ppl. How on earth is this system going to be placed under a checking and balancing system. In the States if Police roll up on your house WITHOUT a warrant, you can refuse to be searched, until a court ordered warrant is issued. You telling me Police can then roll up on that youth's parents house, ransack it, all for the sake of intimidation? Without ZERO chance of the "suspect" having a form to defend themselves?
Does anyone have a PDF form of the bill? I can't believe this micky mouse thing is even being discussed. It's as if these politicians live in their own bubble. As if every law enforcement officer out there is pure/sane/unbiased. They're human too-flaws and all.
nismoid wrote:obviously the police (and anybody else) would know the difference between people hanging out in front of a place like "earth and other establishments" and gang members congregating somewhere.
It is also obvious that the people who like to dress a certain way and act a certain way (be it whatever race they are) would also know where not to "hang out"
The "good" police officers would use this to help curb the gang related crimes. But in Trinidad theres always an exception to the rule, My view is, If you want to dress a certain way, and act a certain way and "lime" with certain people then take whatever you get. If you want to place yourself in the line of the stereotypical people that the law is looking at well then take what you get.
RASC wrote:This law is obscene. Imagine this scenerio:
Police1: " Eh you see that Youth man there, I don't like him, he always up under my daughter and now I hearing talk of they going out/dating"
Police2: "Who yuh mean the Indian one over there? Liming with his boy? They look like school chirren"
Police1: "Me eh care, looking like straight gang related activities to me...wha you say? Two or more right?
Strauss wrote:RASC wrote:This law is obscene. Imagine this scenerio:
You SURE you living in Trinidad? This what happens now.
RASC wrote:rainman wrote: When Giuliani took up office as mayor he used extreme measures, he was criticized for it, but then crime in New York dropped considerably. WHERE IS OUR CRIME PLAN??????
THANK YOU!
We need extreme measures Gibb's and we need them now. Gunta's laughing at you right now. They have NO RESPECT for the law.
teems1 wrote:this is a quote from a few days ago made by RASC
http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=344490RASC wrote:rainman wrote: When Giuliani took up office as mayor he used extreme measures, he was criticized for it, but then crime in New York dropped considerably. WHERE IS OUR CRIME PLAN??????
THANK YOU!
We need extreme measures Gibb's and we need them now. Gunta's laughing at you right now. They have NO RESPECT for the law.
Now I'm confused.
You want extreme measures or not?
Cjruckus wrote:nismoid wrote:obviously the police (and anybody else) would know the difference between people hanging out in front of a place like "earth and other establishments" and gang members congregating somewhere.
so you feel its only black people getting arrested?
They commin for Danraj when hes on the flatbed down in carenage.
Gang Activity dawg.
A Gang member is not defined in the bill.
nismoid wrote:Cjruckus wrote:nismoid wrote:obviously the police (and anybody else) would know the difference between people hanging out in front of a place like "earth and other establishments" and gang members congregating somewhere.
so you feel its only black people getting arrested?
They commin for Danraj when hes on the flatbed down in carenage.
Gang Activity dawg.
A Gang member is not defined in the bill.
re-read and re-read again, and in case you missed it, I said "be it whatever race they are"
teems1 wrote:this is a quote from a few days ago made by RASC
http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=344490RASC wrote:rainman wrote: When Giuliani took up office as mayor he used extreme measures, he was criticized for it, but then crime in New York dropped considerably. WHERE IS OUR CRIME PLAN??????
THANK YOU!
Now I'm confused.
You want extreme measures or not?
(1) A police officer may arrest without warrant a
person whom he has reasonable cause to believe to be a
gang member or whom he has reasonable cause to
believe has committed an offence under this Act.
(2) A police officer may, with a warrant issued by a
Magistrate so enabling him to do, with proper
assistance, enter any dwelling house, by force and
breaking doors if necessary, and search the same if he
has reasonable cause to believe that a gang member
may be found in that dwelling house.
(3) A police officer may enter and search any place
or premises not used as a dwelling house without a
warrant if he has reasonable cause to believe that a
gang member may be found in such place or premises.
Preamble:
“gang member” means a person who belongs to a
gang, or a person who knowingly acts in the
capacity of an agent for or an accessory to, or
is legally accountable for, or voluntarily
associates himself with any gang-related
activity, whether in a preparatory, executory
or cover-up phase of any such activity, or a
person who knowingly performs, aids, or
abets any such activity
“gang-related activity” means any criminal
activity, enterprise, pursuit or undertaking
acquiesced in, or consented or agreed to, or
directed, ordered, authorised, requested or
ratified by any gang member including a
gang leader, officer, or governing or
policy-making person or authority, or by
any agent, representative or deputy of any
such officer, person, or authority of the
gang, whether with or without the intent to:
(a) increase the gang’s size, membership,
prestige, dominance or control in any
geographical area;
(b) provide the gang with any advantage
in, or any control or dominance over
any criminal offence;
(c) exact revenge or retribution for the
gang or any gang member;
(d) obstruct justice, or intimidate or
eliminate any witness against the
gang or any gang member; or
(e) otherwise directly or indirectly
cause any benefit, aggrandisement,
gain, profit or other advantage
whatsoever to or for the gang, its
reputation, influence, or membership;
(2) For the purpose of this Act, it shall not be
necessary to show that a particular gang possesses,
acknowledges or is known by any common name,
insignia, flag, means of recognition, secret signal or
code, creed, belief, structure, leadership or command
structure, method of operation, criminal enterprise,
concentration or speciality, membership, age or other
qualification, initiation, rites, geographical or territorial
situs, boundary or location, or other unifying mark,
manner, protocol or method of expressing or indicating
its membership when the gang’s existence can be
demonstrated by a preponderance of other admissible
evidence, but any evidence reasonably tending to show
or demonstrate the existence of or membership in a
gang shall be admissible in any action or proceedings
brought under this Act.
(2) Where the person convicted under subsection (1)
is a gang leader, he is liable to imprisonment for the
remaining years of his natural life.
(3) Where the person convicted under subsection (1)
is a police officer, prison officer, a member of the
Defence Force, a constable appointed under the
Supplemental Police Act or the Special Reserve Police
Act, a member of a protective service agency or a person
involved in law enforcement he is liable to imprisonment
for twenty-five years
7. A person who has in his possession or under his care
or control a bullet-proof vest, firearm or ammunition,
whether lawfully obtained or not, which he intends or
ought to know will be used for the benefit of or at the
direction of a gang, or any gang member, commits an
offence and is liable on conviction on indictment to a fine