SHAMLA'S TRIUMPH
By DARCEL CHOY Friday, October 29 2010
A GIRL born with Cerebral Palsy overcame her disability, went through the school system and yesterday graduated at the University of the West Indies (UWI) with a Bachelors of Science in Agri Business and Management.
Speaking after the graduation ceremony at the university’s Sports and Physical Education Centre (SPEC), Shamla Maharaj, 24, said she felt good about her achievements and looked forward to completing her Masters, studies for which she has already commenced.
Asked what she wanted to do after achieving her Masters degree, Shamla who was surrounded by close friends excitedly said: “I want to definitely work and after, I get job experience. Then I want to do my PhD hopefully, but (this) depends on how hard the Masters is.”
Her proud mother Chandra Maharaj expressed her excitement and delight at her daughter’s achievement.
She said it was not difficult for her daughter to function at the university as she (Chandra) lived with her at the St Augustine campus, at Milner Hall. “I stayed on campus with her for the three years she did her degree because there are things she could not do for herself,” Maharaj said.
Maharaj said she was thankful to the university as they understood her daughter’s needs.
“We got full support from the university, they helped us out anyway they could and we are so thankful to them,” Maharaj said.
Shamla said the rest of her family are very supportive and happy with her achievements. “My dad and two younger brothers are very happy for me and they just want me to be successful,” she said.
The young student who is from Barrackpore attended the Princess Elizabeth Special School before moving on to Barrackpore Secondary Comprehensive School from 2000-2007, where she excelled in several subjects before going on to do her A’ levels.
Shamla said after “A” Levels, she wanted to attend a college to study marketing but applied to UWI because all her friends were doing the same. “My friends were applying but I did not expect to get through. I was surprised when I found out I was in the first batch of students that got through,” Shamla said.
She noted it was never her intention to study Agri Business and Management, but those were subjects given to her as she applied late. Shamla said she never knew what Agri Business had to offer but as the classes went on, she started to enjoy it.
“The components that came with the course was what I enjoyed the most including Economics, Mathematics, Marketing and Management,” she said. Shamla said during her three years at university, her family covered the cost for the first two years while a scholarship she received from the Ministry of Public Administration paid for the final year of study and also got her a motorised wheelchair to make it easier for her to get around.
She said her lecturers were very understanding of her disability as they made certain accommodations for her. “Sometimes during class, the lecturer when going through slides would keep it longer on the screen for me to be able to write everything as I would have written slower than the other students,” Shamla said.
Shamla said she does not live on campus anymore and has moved back home, she is now dropped off to school by her mother which she said gets tiring at times. “It is a long journey but the good thing is classes are in the evening but I do hope to get another scholarship so I could move back on campus,” she said.
She said after completing her studies she hopes to work in an agri business firm. She shared advice to those who may have a disability like her and want to pursue their own dreams. “Don’t consider yourself different, you are just like anyone else, just keep focussed on what you want and don’t keep back yourself in any way,” she said.
AllTrac wrote:well done, she looking good to.
AllTrac wrote:she is ah Maharaj to.
wagonrunner wrote:AllTrac wrote:well done, she looking good to.
yuh dun know.
phototakouter and editor need to be shot with sheit for taking, and allowing this pic.
.ROZAC:.. wrote:
AllTrac wrote:she is ah Maharaj to.
Thats the biggest disability she had to overcome.